We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

#6 of 14 Bar in Wanaka
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$8 - AU$23
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (326)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
142
91
36
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
142
91
36
14
16
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the slow cooked brisket burger and chips, but the burger was disappointing. Brisket was very tasty, but too small slices in a large bun meant i was eating plain bun half rhe time. Chips were good, reasonably priced, good service and nice location.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024

Dont go for food unless you are 18+ or with an adult, they refused to serve our 16year old daughter and boyfriend out for there first meal together, absolutely ridiculous, guessing there food contains high levels of alcohol. Wouldn't recommend.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby May, Owner at Water Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Hi Darren, unfortunately these are our licence conditions set out by the local council. We are a Bar & Restaurant and are not allowed U18 on the premises without their legal parent or guardian so we have a policy to ID anyone who appears to...More

Reviewed 7 January 2024

There was a big group of us and everyone was impressed by the food and service. Definitely value for money .

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

My Daughter and Son in law visited here today for a nice meal, he got anything but….. had to return 2 x Buttermilk Chicken burgers, glad he noticed before he swallowed that chicken was raw….., sent it back and next one was raw aswell. Very...dangerous Thought a restaurant of this calibre would know how to cook chickenMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby May, Owner at Water Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Hi WilsonFamilyNz, I'm asking if you could please e-mail us at info@waterbarwanaka.co.nz I have asked around all of our staff inclusing our kithcen staff to find out more about this situation so I can deal with it appropriatley but none of them seem to know...More

Reviewed 28 December 2023

Visited on a busy Thurs night. Food was excellent, arrived quickly and well priced. Great atmosphere and attentive staff, particularly Jamie and Rosa, who both served us at different times. Would defo recommend a visit when in town and we will be back..!! Many thank...guys - great work 🙌 🙌More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby May, Owner at Water Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

THank you for the great review! Will also pass on thanks to our superstars Rosa and Jayme!

Reviewed 15 December 2023 via mobile

We came in on a very busy Friday night. Expected a bit of a wait on food and drinks but there were none! Great fast and friendly staff. Went the extra mile to help us with menu options ( husband has food intolerances) The food...was absolutely amazing 10/10 thanks guys.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby May, Owner at Water Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Thank you Jayme G, hopefully see you again soon!

Reviewed 15 December 2023

We had a lovely lunch with friends last weekend, the guys did brisket burgers and they were amazing, and we shared some nibbles. Jalepeno cheese bites a particular highlight!!! Great prices, views, staff and drinks too!

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby May, Owner at Water Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

THank you for the lovely review! :-)

Reviewed 13 December 2023

Great night out with work colleagues, friendly service and equally good food and desserts and cocktails!

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2023

food was not good, and service was very unfriendly!!🤢 wish i could give no stars, because it was so bad. go down the street to kai whaka pai, it’s much better!!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby May, Owner at Water Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Hi Kendrar, I am very disappointed to read this, I would be very grateful if you could E-mail me at info@waterbarwanaka.co.nz and give me information about when you dined with us so I can address this as soon as possible. We get very positive reviews...More

Reviewed 8 December 2023 via mobile

We walked past here on a Thursday night and say that they had 200g sirloin steaks for 25 dollars as a Thursday night deal. We went for this and I have to say that both our steaks were delicious and cooked just how we had...asked. A really good meal and really great value. Staff were great as wellMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023

I've eaten here on a previous trip and it was an enjoyable experience, unfortunately on this occasion I cannot say the same. I ordered a chicken parmigiana and received a very small , overcooked (burnt) piece of chicken with a handful of cold, limp and...greasy chips, the side salad was 99.9% lettuce.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby May, Owner at Water Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Hi Freedom11439533605, I am saddened to hear this and would like to offer you a refund, please E-mail info@waterbarwanaka.co.nz so we can arrange this. Please could you also advise when you dined with us so I can investigate further as to how this happened so...More

Reviewed 1 December 2023

Overpriced,staff lack enthusiasm, and up most of the night sick. Another place who feel they can get away with ripping people off because they’re mostly tourists passing through town. Incredibly disappointingMore

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby May, Owner at Water Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Hi steveb, I am very surprised by the comment about us ripping off tourist as our prices are some of the lowest in town, so I am wondering if you have got the correct venue? For this reason please send me and E-mail and let...More

Reviewed 22 July 2023

Been meaning to write a review for a while about the CLASSIC cheeseburger at waterbar 🍔 I'm literally obsessed with this burger and have not gone a week without getting my fix since it was put on the menu over a year ago. It's always...on point ...I refer to it as a Mc Donald's cheeseburger on steroids.. but made out of fresh ingredients so much much better.I give it 5 stars everytime. And the bar service ain't to shabby either!! 5 stars all round at waterbar !More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2023

Beautiful food, we had dinner one night and liked it so much came back for lunch the next day. Highly recommend a visit

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2023

Did Roy’s peak track in the morning and were excited to get a pub meal. Went to water bar for lunch to get two meals and two cokes. Walked inside and the waitress asked me for my ID, I only had my Australian drivers licence...which she wouldn’t accept as it needed to be a passport. Was told I wasn’t allowed to be on the premises without ID. I am 28 years old and my fiancé who I was there with is 30 years old and we were not buying any alcohol. The place was empty at 1:30pm. Absolutely ridiculous and a great way to lose customers, went to the bar next door.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Aspiring Lodge Motel
267 reviews
.12 km away
Bella Vista Wanaka
430 reviews
.18 km away
Wanaka Hotel
703 reviews
.28 km away
Asure Brookvale Motel
162 reviews
.29 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Big Fig
1,156 reviews
.12 km away
The Spice Room
1,180 reviews
.17 km away
Tititea Steak House
778 reviews
.07 km away
Federal Diner
547 reviews
.18 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wanaka isite Visitor Information Centre
248 reviews
.14 km away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
15 reviews
.12 km away
The Picture Lounge
10 reviews
.08 km away
Realm VR Wanaka
124 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Water Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WATER BAR, Wanaka - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices, & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Water Bar

Water Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4