We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$22 - AU$29
CUISINES
New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (132)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
53
38
12
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
53
38
12
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones lamb nice setting great menu lake
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 7 August 2023 via mobile

Ate here before it had been good tonite was disappointing ordered the beef short rib was good except it arrived with 1 very baby carrot and a extremely small piece of broccoli with scallop potato kind of expensive at 40 with really no vegetables then...tried dessert it was disgusting a big blog of meringue very little custard and a extreme sweet cookie in bottom of bowl it was so terribly couldn’t eat it very disappointed the waiter was good tho and the cashier we won’t be backMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon Kelly, Owner at Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Hi suecAiken, we appreciate your feedback and apologise for the disappointing experience you had during your recent visit. We're sorry to hear that the portion and presentation of the beef short rib fell short of your expectations. The We Are Kiwi dessert is on the...More

Reviewed 10 January 2023 via mobile

I stopped in here mid-morning while on a solo walk and almost cried with joy - Melbourne Breakfast tea and scones. The scone options are plentiful and I wished I’d arrived a few hours earlier so I could get through all the offerings - both...sweet and savory. Tip: the scones finish at 11am or until sold out - so don’t be late! The view is lovely, over the lake, and the staff were very helpful and welcoming of people dropping in on walks and bike rides.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2022

The staff tried and there were plenty of them, however I'd have to guess they had no training and no experience, and that whoever was there as the manager was equally inexperienced and untrained. The dinner meal service was woeful, almost every step was a...failure from forgetting to deliver the basics - water, side plates, cutlery, salt etc, to warm red wine (she admitted it was stored next to a hot lamp in the cabinet). The $82 shoulder of lamb for two was a small piece of bland braised lamb that would have been a single serve at best, accompanied by a handful of fried potatoe wedges and a side plate with some salad leaves. At $82 it was one of the worst value meals in memory. We arrived with a table not far from us covered in dirty plates and glasses, and 40 minutes later while staff were standing and chatting the table still had dirty plates and glasses - to the delight of a sparrow that was enjoying the leftovers. Hardly a fine dining experience.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tania D, Manager at Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Thank you for your feedback. Please be assured that this is not a usual reflection of the dining experience that our guests receive. Like most of the hospitality industry, staffing resources has been challenging. Many of our staff are new, many of our staff are...More

Reviewed 31 August 2022 via mobile

After visiting the Blue Pools near Makarora, we were thankful that your cafe accommodated 8 of us at 2pm for lunch. We were starving. The hot sandwiches were delicious and the share plate was generous. Thank you for your friendly and relaxed attitude and service....Everything was good including the hot coffees.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2022 via mobile

Really it was a stressful experience. The lamb was served barely warm as a main. Despite the fact we had said we would order the lamb when we booked. Had to be sent back. Big delays unhappiness. One of our party is a chef an...he could not believe it. Food is fairly average. I hope this is not what the new post COVID normal is. Very relaxed and classic dining area. Lovely. Pity about the kitchenMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EdgewaterWanaka, General Manager at Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Dear gemido, I am disappointed to read your feedback and of your experience. It was very unfortunate and not a usual reflection of the dining experience that our guests receive. Our apologies again, and this is not the new norm, Regards Catherine Bone General manager

Reviewed 30 January 2022

Redwoods Cafe Kerikeri - Great food, good value and friendly service. A nice setting being at the end of the plant shop Meals are a good size.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2021 via mobile

Killer scones that we make sure to have every time we’re in Wanaka. They were severely short staffed over Christmas 2021 with a 40-60 minute wait time for coffees/food (which some people were not very nice to the staff about), so we just had a...scone but would love to try the rest of the menu when it’s less busy!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2021

Our recent visit was terrible - we were seated at a table outside where there were still dirty plates, glasses and cups etc from the previous diners, we thought that the staff who were passing by every few minutes would clear them away and hygienically...clean out table due to COVID regulations etc, this did not happen, we had to clear them away ourselves and wipe it ourselves with a serviette!! We should have left at this point!! We only wanted a snack so we ordered the light meal "Calamari" (& scones) when it came it was the person who had the "Calamari" on our table was ill shortly after we left with diarrhoea) - we told staff when paying of our disappointment and he said they would pass our comments onto the kitchen staff - while we were sat at our table we also observed quite a few other diners leaving and their uncleared table being reseated by new diners facing the same problem as we did where the dirty and used plates etc which remained there for a very long time, again with staff passing them empty handed and certainly able to clear etc.... apart from that the views of Wanaka Lake are amazing. One member of staff was friendly but the We would NOT recommend dining here as there are some far better restaurants and cafes in Wanaka with excellent customer service and far better portion sizes than the miserly portion sizes in Edgwaters Wineglass Cafe.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2021

We got the lamb shank to share the food was amazing but the portion was too small for the both of us would be awesome if size was a little bigger. Grandad got pork belly and was awesome too. Great service also! Definitely recommend!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

Wineglass Cafe was the perfect spot to stop for lunch on our bike ride back from Glendhu Bay, a super sunny afternoon so outdoor seating was at a premium, however the wait staff quickly had us seated, husbands choice of confit duck was a hit,...and my potato, celeriac and truffle soup was delicious, excellent service, was perfect for outdoor dining (the inside area lacks ambiance, not particularly inviting) bathrooms were very clean, Wineglass Cafe was a perfect stop for us today!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EdgewaterNZ, Marketing at Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2020

Dear Catherine C, We appreciate you taking the time to drop into Edgewater for lunch on your bike ride. Sounds like a glorious day. Thanks your feedback which is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again on your next riding excursion. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 25 June 2020

6 of us had lunch here yesterday The setting is stunning with views across the lake But the food was only average All 6 of us are locals who have dined here regularly and we did wonder if the chef was getting sorted after Covid...19 We would like an upgrade to all burgers on the Wineglass Cafe menu the coffees were greatMore

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EdgewaterNZ, Marketing at Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2020

Dear Genney, Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased you enjoyed the views. I do apologise for the meals. We have had a few changes as we moved out of lockdown. I thank you for your understanding. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 24 March 2020

we stayed at this lodge and the best part is the cafe and the view that comes with it we also had some of the best coffe we have ever had

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EdgewaterNZ, Marketing at Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2020

Kia ora, Many thanks for your comments and so pleased you enjoyed our great coffee. Kind regards Trish

Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

We ate ate the Wineglass Cafe last evening and had an excellent meal. Both of us prefer a vegetarian fare for the most part so the menu which has mostly meat courses was a challenge at first glance. With the help of very knowledgeable and...attentive wait staff we were able to assemble a very nice multi dish dinner from the appetizer and sides portion of the menu. The food was very well prepared and presented and the staff was most helpful.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EdgewaterNZ, Marketing at Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Kia ora Mindemoya Many thanks for taking the time to write about your meal with us in the Wineglass cafe. I'm pleased we our team assisted you with vegetarian suggestions. Kind regards Trish

Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

We come for lunch and got a table outside looking out on the lake. All meals were excellent and GF was well catered for.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EdgewaterNZ, Marketing at Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you so much Graeme M for taking the time to provide this feedback. Kind regards Trish

Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Our expectations were high at such a beautiful location and somewhat exclusive restaurant and we were told to make a reservation beforehand, which we did. When we arrived there was not a lot of people there, but still we had to wait quite a lot...for the waitresses to see us. First of all, the appetizer came after we had been served our main courses. One side dish was forgotten even though it was ordered. When asked about it, the waitress just acted really confused and did not apologize at all. Secondly, there was a big chicken bone in the Caesar’s salad and when this was pointed out by asking “Excuse me, but is there supposed to be a bone in the salad?”, the waitress actually said “Oh, I’ll check with the chef” as if she was unsure about if a bone in the salad is normal. We also had to ask about salt and pepper three times, while every other table with people had it. Gladly, the Caesar’s salad was complimentary after a but back and forth. All in all, probably a bit of bad luck involved here, but very unprofessional service, very few apologies and a lot of waiting to get the waitresses’ attention. We had to ask about the bill twice, and they cleaned all the other tables while we were waiting for them to see the card we wanted to pay with. They did not like it when we tried to tell them that we had had a bad experience, which we were very reluctant to do. So yeah, unprofessional. However, the burger was fine and the steak was good.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Edgewater
1,418 reviews
.02 km away
Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
586 reviews
.75 km away
Wanaka View Motel
312 reviews
1.65 km away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
267 reviews
1.72 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Big Fig
1,155 reviews
1.77 km away
Tititea Steak House
778 reviews
1.75 km away
Relishes Cafe
1,571 reviews
1.80 km away
Patagonia Chocolates Wanaka
372 reviews
1.64 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lake Wanaka
2,323 reviews
1.48 km away
Rippon Vineyard
400 reviews
1.13 km away
That Wanaka Tree
343 reviews
.59 km away
Isthmus Peak Track
59 reviews
1.54 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jorjean G
20 December 2017|
Answer
Response from MartyT58 | Reviewed this property |
no
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WINEGLASS CAFE AT EDGEWATER, Wanaka - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater

Yes, Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Wineglass Cafe at Edgewater is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4