We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Gusto

1 Lakeside Road, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand
+64 3-443 6639
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (31 reviews)
“rosti” (6 reviews)
“blt” (5 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 am - 5:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
European, Cafe, Healthy, New Zealand, Asian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Lakeside Road, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We had the specials: creamy chicken mushroom basil pasta. It was good. Atmosphere was relaxing as well, and they had gluten free options too.

Thank Hui L
Linda F, 总经理 at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your recommendation.That's the best seller pasta,every customer who had it all enjoyed. We will keep this special for a while. Wish you a Merry Xmas. Kind regards. Linda

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped in here because there was a sign out front advertising free wifi and we needed to do a little work online. It turned out to be the perfect place for that. It was very quiet and had a nice relaxed atmosphere with some...More

Thank Rwc142014
Linda F, 总经理 at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your recommend. We would love to be a part of your lovely relex day. See you again. Kind regards.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Flat White not quite strong enough as cups are a little too big. Nice atmosphere here and the friands are always very nice.

Thank Murray B
Linda F, 总经理 at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your recommend Murray. Next time you come ,I will make a stronger coffee for you.😊😊 Kind regards. Linda

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a walk along the lake first thing - but needed a coffee. Right across the road was Cafe Gusto. Very friendly efficient staff. Takeaway coffee and breakfast available. Also lots of seating to have breakfast of lunch there. Newspapers and free Wi-Fi for...More

Thank FfastEddy
Linda F, 总经理 at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your recommend. We are the good spot for the lakeside walk stop. Get your energy petrol (coffee)fill up. 😊😊 See you around.Kind regards. Linda

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great coffee, great location, lovely friendly waitress served us. I see why the locals come here. Hopefully we get to live in this wonderful town one day.

Thank Craig U
Linda F, 总经理 at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Craig.I know you gonna live in this town one day,and not far away. And bring your grandchildren here,find the beautiful stones for your new paper.😊😊😊All the best. Hope can see you soon. Linda

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was so disappointed. The coffee was really good but the food was not up to the usual we had been used to. The English muffin used for the eggs bene was not of a good quality it appeared to be a cheap brand. It was...More

Thank Jayne019
Linda F, 总经理 at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review.Sorry to made you disappoint. But you made me confused too,if you are the loyalty customer before,you should tasted the English Muffin is the same quality and same brand as before.The Rosti is oily,the herb should not powdering,we didn't use the powder,still...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Trying to find a decent coffee and we found it here ! The service was great, I went in again the next day and she remembered my order ! Thanks Gusto, you made our last couple of days great with your lovely coffee as we...More

Thank Helen W
Linda F, 经理 at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thanks for your review Helen. And very happy you had very good experience here. Coffee is our hug in mug. Gusto full of the coffee passion.Hope can see you next time when you come. Kind regards.Linda

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

As we walked up the street reading the reviews about the coffee here, we had such high hopes. This could be it. The first decent latte in all of New Zealand. One reviewer actually stated this was the best coffee in the country!!! We were...More

Thank klodge76
Linda F, Manager at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

First apologized, you had bad experience here. Then I gonna explained to you, we have done nothing wrong, and coffee was not burned. The iced coffee different cafe have different recipe, our recipe is always with ice cream and whipped cream, no doubt, no What...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Good position, fresh home made food. Counter service a little squashed and down market. Polite staff.

Thank Michael H
Linda F, Manager at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thanks for your review.We do all the food onsite,keep all the food fresh. Kind regards. Linda

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed in Wanaka. Our accomodation was a short walking distance to the cafe. Staff were extremely friendly. Had breakfast there every morning & was never disappointed. My favourite was the Eggs Benedict & the French toast. Great coffee. Waitress remembered our order & always...More

Thank Anna D
Linda F, Owner at Cafe Gusto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thanks for your review Anna. Glad you enjoyed the time here,have a good breakfast can make a good day. All the best wishes, hope can see you again. Kind regards.Linda

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Big Fig Wanaka
390 reviews
.17 km away
Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
458 reviews
.21 km away
Kika
227 reviews
.18 km away
Francesca's Kitchen
1,137 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Deep Canyon
195 reviews
.15 km away
Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
186 reviews
.14 km away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
8 reviews
.16 km away
Wildwire Wanaka
179 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cafe Gusto staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 2 - USD 15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Lakeside Road, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 6639
Description
Cafe Gusto situated in the centre of town with a gorgeous view of Lake Wanaka. Come and join us for amazing coffee and good selection of delicious food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing