We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Speights Ale House Wanaka

$$ - $$$, ,
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 5459
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good47%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (45 reviews)
“caesar salad” (10 reviews)
“mash” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Ordered steaks and soup, took 1 hour and when the order came all the steaks were cooked well done. Sent them back to the kitchen and when they came back 30 minutes later one of the 4 steaks we ordered were ok. Wouldn’t recommend. At...More

Thank Gustaf A
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We apologise for your experience. We employed a new chef who boasted impeccable credentials - but when it came to the crunch we found he could not cope. We have now rectified this.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice dinner here. It is a pub environment but very clean. They have both inside or outside seating. The service was great and the food excellent.

Thank Mike_B52033
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had dinner here and I chose the Ribs what a great decision that was YUMMY. The food was great and the Ales just as good

Thank Roman J
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your comments. The ribs are certainly a favourite on our menu and you just cant go wrong with them.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dinner and drinks were great and reasonably priced. Great service and wonderful atmosphere. Good view. Can dine inside or out. Food was well cooked and tasty. Great selection to choose from

Thank Caroline G
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for that fantastic feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at the Wanaka Speight's Ale House and welcome you back anytime.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you’re looking for traditional pub food this is the place to go. We tried the fish & chips but swapped out the normal fries for sweet potato fries. It was delicious. The cider is also very nice!

Thank Jess V
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. The sweet potato fries are a good match for the Blue and Gold ( fish and chips).

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After travelling for a few days, we were tired of cafe style food, indifferent service and no greens. We were looking for a mix a non greasy tasty food that was served quickly and tasted good. There are many wonderful cafes and restaurants in Wanaka...More

Thank SwinnTaylor
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. The Wanaka Speight's Ale House is certainly appreciated by a wide variety of ages from young couples, families to those slightly older. That gives our restaurant a lovely all round feel we reacon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to Speights on the recommendation of our motel management and were not disappointed. This is a convenient spot with handy parking and within walking distance of most things. The food was good with an excellent range of draught beers and ciders. A good...More

Thank Robert C
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. Our beverage range is indeed excellent and we are glad you enjoyed the variety we offer.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, friendly staff & good food. Central location in downtown Wanaka - looking over to Lake. Lots of seating both inside and out. Meals were reasonably priced and quite large. They were also lovely. Great eating place.

Thank Sisterchip
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. Being in a central location provides plenty to watch from our outdoor deck areas.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Meal was good but the service was outstanding, Jasmine made us all feel special so we would come back again just to have her serve us again. Thanks Jasmine.

Thank robcovermarq
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

....I'm a bit confused with your glowing comments but a 1 out of 5 rating?

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Good enough food and service, yet unmemorable and bland, so we chose to avoid Speight's on the rest of our travels. Our drinks had such a clean refreshing taste this encourages us to buy Speight's cider and beer in future. I guess this is the...More

Thank Dojii
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. We do not see that our food is bland - in fact our reviews attest to our food being far from bland. Maybe our food just didn't suit your taste buds.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Big Fig Wanaka
369 reviews
.08 km away
Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
453 reviews
.12 km away
Kika
218 reviews
.11 km away
Francesca's Kitchen
1,130 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Deep Canyon
182 reviews
.09 km away
Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
183 reviews
.06 km away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
8 reviews
.08 km away
Wildwire Wanaka
177 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kates1960
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Cechová M | Reviewed this property |
Dear Kates 1960, Sorry about this, But I was in NZ Speights Ale House with my french husband 1 Month ago and the food was truly delicious. Believe me, that french peoplae do have very hight level about the food. And me, as a... More
0
Votes
milnefamily71
16 December 2016|
Answer
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. No we are not open for Christmas Lunch. There are a definite 2 places open though - Francescas - which is directly behind us. It is an Italian restaurant - you will need to book this though. Edgewater resort... More
0
Votes
poiuyt2
13 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. We do not have roast meals. If you go to our website you can view our menu. Hopefully there is something that would be to your liking.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 23
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 2:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 5459
  • E-mail
Description
The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing