We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Colliery

Danderhall EH22 1FD, Scotland
+44 131 654 2822
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good21%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“scampi” (10 reviews)
“onion rings” (6 reviews)
“pudding” (11 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 10:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Danderhall EH22 1FD, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Set back just off a main road out of Edinburgh this was a good place to pop into for a quick lunch. Broad menu with main meals being 2 for 1 which brings it into the good value range. If you had to pay full...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank newington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommend The Old Colliery Had an overnight in the car park after eating in the pub - amazing value food,good service and very friendly staff especially Becca Dog friendly The pub is right by SheriffHall park and Ride 20/25 minutes into Edinburgh by bus...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Stay60393142307
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Old Colliery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive feedback and pleased to hear that the food and service were up to our usual standard. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Was there a few weeks ago.was lovely. Went on Saturday ordered 3 rump steak.chips were soggy and cold. Sent them back about 30 seconds later they were put into fryer and brought back. Eventually the lady supervisor personally put fresh chips on and very apologetic....More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Gwen O
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Old Colliery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Disappointed to hear that your chips were soggy and cold. We do try to rectify any mistakes that were made when they are brought to our attention, and our supervisor did the right thing. Hopefully this will not be repeated and has been brought to...More

Reviewed 19 October 2018

Our family have been regular visitors since it opened but last time thought it had gone downhill and seems to have crashed since. It was a last minute decision to get a steak but arrived shortly after 7.00pm. Not too busy and drinks order taken...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank wanderingscot_9
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Old Colliery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Due to menu changes, the specials board is in the process of being updated. Unfortunately we had delivery problems which accounted for the lack of certain products. Your meal issues have been addressed with the kitchen as this is not...More

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Me and my fiance used to come here all the time. We loved it but this time. No. The starter was shared nachos. They didnt put any sour cream on it n brought it out and never told us it had ran out til i...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Catherine H
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Old Colliery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback but disappointed to hear that your visit was not up to our usual standard. Please contact Christian on 01316542822 to discuss. Regards Andrew

Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Went here for a meal on my only day off and was really dissapointed. Me and my partner had been here before and was expecting good service and good food. Neither appeared. Arrived 6.25ish and got our drinks order taken about 5-10 after seated, not...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank andrewpK3267KA
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Old Colliery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Disappointing to learn that your visit was certainly not up to our usual standard. Please give me a ring on 01368860013 to discuss.

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Visited restaurant with my husband for the first time. We were very impressed with the menu and the 2 for 1 offer. I was really in the mood for fish and chips so ordered that. When it came my first impressions were that it looked...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 164yvonneg
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Old Colliery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Disappointed to hear that your fish was not up to our usual standard. Thank you for giving us feedback as we appreciate all comments from our customers and try wherever possible to improve. Regards Andrew

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

We seen a sign just saying 2 for 1 and the road was very busy where we was going for tea so thought we would call in but what it didn’t say on sign on the road was it was a Marston’s pub as I...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank simmy66
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Old Colliery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your very positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with us soon. Regards Andrew

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

My husband & I had unexpected changes to our plans so we were passing here and decided to have our Dinner for the first time. We were shown to a table by a pleasant young lady who took our drinks order and then served by...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Leestyweesty
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Old Colliery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback and happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Andrew

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

If you are in the area this is worth a visit for lunch. Very much a pub menu but good choice of food and very good value with 2 for 1 on all mains all day every day. Friendly service and space for the kids.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank StevenJolly
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Old Colliery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us again soon. Regards Andrew

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Melville Castle Hotel
1,092 reviews
1.42 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
372 reviews
2.08 km away
The County Hotel
146 reviews
2.36 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
677 reviews
3.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sheriffhall Cafe
175 reviews
.49 km away
The Cockatoo
158 reviews
.97 km away
Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery
894 reviews
1.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edinburgh Butterfly & Insect World
394 reviews
1.14 km away
Kings Acre Golf Course
32 reviews
2.85 km away
Newbattle Abbey
22 reviews
3.37 km away
Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing
44 reviews
3.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lisa B
3 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Derry L | Reviewed this property |
No and not really human friendly
1
Vote
lindafP1273PK
5 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Bob K | Reviewed this property |
Very responsible 2 for 1 on the main meal 🥘
1
Vote
HEARTS14
1 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SSVG030905 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Danderhall EH22 1FD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Midlothian  >  Danderhall
  • Phone Number: +44 131 654 2822
  • E-mail
Description
Set within the heart of Midlothian, Old Colliery borders the urban fringes of Edinburgh and offers comforting British fare together with a signature 2for1 and Pizza Menu. Melting flame-grilled steaks and British favourites like Fish and Chips and Chicken Tikka lead the Old Colliery main courses, alongside an extensive children's menu. The family-friendly restaurant also features both indoor and outdoor play areas, and a garden for al fresco dining.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing