We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mooring

1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-846-2260
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“doughnuts” (255 reviews)
“seafood” (435 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (3,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Had an excellent lunch in the patio last week, i think they close it for the winter by mid-December. The ousters and all of the apps were very good. The meals were outstanding, but pricey. The scallops and salmon were outstanding.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Brr4346AD
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Staff was GREAT.Drinks were GREAT. Food was EXCEPTIONAL. We went the Friday after Thanksgiving after the Christmas boat lights parade. Great ending to a great night. Shout out to our server and chefs for taking exceptional care dealing with my wife's food allergies creating a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank chinnamann
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Wow! That's a great review. Thank you. We are lad you spent some time with us over the holiday weekend and that you enjoyed the illuminated boat parade too. Newport is a special city and we love being part of it all. Thanks for the...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

We had lunch on a chilly rainy day, and the clam chowder was the perfect choice. Salad was fresh and they even had awesome gluten free rolls for me. Good choice!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lele0820
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you lele0820! There's nothing better than hot chowder on a chilly day in Newport. Glad you enjoyed ours and we are happy you stopped in. Hope we see you again. Gratefully, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 2 days ago

Four guys attending the Newport Tennis Hall of Fame Tournament in August had a hankering for lobster and dockside scenery. On both counts, we were not disappointed. With ample off-street parking and a wide variety of drinks and side orders, we spent two hours in...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JOHN B
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear John, Thank you for joining us on your trip to Newport. We take pride in being a place where you can satisfy that hankering for lobster and dockside scenery, so glad we were able to keep you happy. Tournament time is always a fun...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

We walked to the restaurant from the nearby Marriott (there is a convenient parking lot if you drive). Even on a quiet weekday night in Newport in December it was good that we made reservations. We were seated promptly at a warm quiet table on...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sail2Maine
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you Sail2Maine! We are glad you joined us on your trip to Newport and happy to hear you had a nice, cozy relaxing dinner. We appreciate the recommendations and hope you can join us again if you are ever back in our great city....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided this year to spend our weekend in Newport, RI. So I booked this restaurant for our Thanksgiving Dinner and was not disappointed. We enjoy seafood and found the menu here perfect for our taste buds. The restaurant was busy but then again it...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Bob C
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Bob! So happy to hear you enjoyed your Thanksgiving weekend in Newport and glad The Mooring could be part of your travels. Glad you enjoyed everything too and that John was able to make your experience even better. We appreciate the review and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I went to The Mooring for dinner on 11/24. The dining room and decor is quite nice. Take caution though, because their deck facing the water is heated and in use during the winter. We were seated on the deck and couldn't...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 603home
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear redhook9, Thank you for the review however we wish we had left a better impression on you. We know we are not alone in offering seafood in New England, however for over thirty years we have been dedicated to serving it exceptionally in our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cannot begin to say how impressed and pleased we were with our experience at The Mooring on Thanksgiving, having never been there before, we selected the place due to the excellent reviews and it was within walking distance from where we stayed. While the restaurant...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank travler145
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you travler145! We feel it to be an honor to entrust us with your holiday dinner and we try hard to make our guests feel special and welcome. We agree - you don't need turkey for a good Thanksgiving dinner. I'm so glad you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Understand that popular means crowded and busy. This is not a place for a quiet, romantic dinner. And you definitely need reservations. However, the waitstaff is very good; the food has interesting twists and turns to some basic seafood dishes; and the location is very...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Bonnie G
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Bonnie, Thank you for joining us and I am glad that you enjoyed your dinner. We do apologize for any mixups in the kitchen - we are always working on improving delivery times at busy moments, but we always appreciate the feedback. We hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a long established restaurant we have been to a number of times in the past, but this year it was somewhat disappointing. The clam chowder was very good, as was the scallop appetizer. The flounder entre was sitting in a watery sauce with...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank susielunch
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear susielunch, I am very sorry to hear that your meal at The Mooring was anything less than great. We pride ourselves in exceptional food and service and anything less is not the kind of experience we like to hear about. We do apologize and...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Newport
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1,548 reviews
.18 km away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
332 reviews
.19 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
705 reviews
.24 km away
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
168 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fluke Newport
649 reviews
.08 km away
Kilwin's
302 reviews
.12 km away
22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille
1,521 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bowen's Wharf
342 reviews
.09 km away
Bannister's Wharf
183 reviews
.06 km away
Schooner Madeleine
305 reviews
.06 km away
Rum Runner II
128 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pat H
14 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from bjaysmom | Reviewed this property |
We were at the Mooring for dinner, so we did dress a little nicer, but there were people coming in with Jeans, etc. If I were going for lunch and it's a nice day, I would definitely wear shorts. I hope you enjoy the... More
0
Votes
Pat H
14 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from 351edd | Reviewed this property |
Hi Pat, There is no fixed dress code as far as I know, so you will see people dressed from very casual to very dressy there. For guys, Docker type shorts and a polo or button down shirt (tucked or untucked) is perfect for... More
1
Vote
Ashley M
1 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from kerbuck11 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, definitely do! They gave out gf bread too
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 30 - USD 80
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
    (America's Cup Ave.)
  • Location: United States  >  Rhode Island (RI)  >  Newport
  • Phone Number: +1 401-846-2260
Description
The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing