We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room

8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
+1 413-734-7475
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“schnitzel” (51 reviews)
“fried cheese” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, German, European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was ok, Very pricey. Our server (Mike) did a poor job, There was 8 of us, he stood at the far end of our table and we had to shout our drink orders, we never heard him ask about apps. After we got...More

Thank firebear1961
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We have spoken to your server and emphasized the need to pay attention to his work. The dining room management will keep a close watch on the interaction with servers and guests. If you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Co-worker and I were staying a few blocks away and walked over to this establishment. We could not have been happier. Sensational German vibe, with traditional Bavarian fare to match. We had a massive pretzel as an app, with some brew to wash it down....More

Thank Kent B
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kent, thanks for your nice words. Our pretzels are delicious and a nice way to start an evening. If your family wants to stay put in the Buckeye state, we understand! By the way my mother moved from Ohio to Springfield around eighty years back.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have worked in downtown Springfield for 20 years. I could not tell you how many times I have eaten at the fort, 50? 100? Who knows. As everyone knows they were sold a few years ago since they were no longer profitable. The "New"...More

1  Thank GeoffM24
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your frank thoughts and have shared them with our kitchen staff. I wold ask that you give us another try with-hopefully better food. Thanks for the review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Student Prince was a great place to eat. With new owner the it is only average. Plenty of great beer s on tap

1  Thank David S
Rudirup, Owner at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

While we are glad that you enjoyed the beer, we are sorry that the food did not impress you. We would like another chance. Thanks for the review.

Reviewed 5 May 2018

Lunch with friends; first time since it reopened. I was glad to see many of my old favorites on the menu; however food just wasn't as tasty as it used to be.

1  Thank Alison L S
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

I am disappointed you were unhappy Could you be kind enough to let me know which items you ordered? I can chat with the staff about property preparation rudiruppert @aol. Hopefully you will better enjoy your next Thanks for your input

Reviewed 30 April 2018

The experience of dining at this restaurant never fails. The quality of the food, the variety, the staff, and the ambiance are unequaled.

Thank susietwin
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thanks for the nice review. For over eighty years we have been striving to deliver a consistently good dining experience for our guests!

Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Heard good things about restaurant years ago. Had it on my list but never made it. Very glad it was resurrected. Finally went with another couple. Great service, great food!

Thank ToxeyRon
Bill P, General Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi ToxeyRon, Thanks for you comments, it's greatly appreciated. Hope you are able to return soon. Cheers, Bill Porter

Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Went to this restaurant during Sunday night of Springfield restaurant week. Have not been to Student Prince in awhile so figured we give it a try. Ordered of restaurant week special menu. First the good: Iceberg salad wedge - excellent Coleslaw - excellent The OK...More

Thank dgouldd
Bill P, General Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear dpouldd, First and foremost, just want to apologize for the poor service, it is totally unacceptable. We certainly use all comments to train and coach our staff. Obviously I will be doing some coaching. I do appreciate the comments and hope that you will...More

Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

This is one of the best German restaurants in the US. Food is good, atmosphere is authentic and the staff is fun.

Thank Bob A
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thanks for the kind words. Our staff works to make sure that guests have a good time on Fort Street. It is nice tosee someone from Boston coming to Springfield for a meal.

Reviewed 24 March 2018

Very nice ambiance. The food is good but the staff and decor are very warm and welcoming. Good place to go out with friends. They have a killer after dinner drink : chauvinette! Yummy!

Thank jeanjacquespsaute
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thanks for your review. Our staff tries to make our guests feel welcome. The chauvinette is a great drink that has been featured here for over fifty years. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon on Fort Street!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Springfield
Tower Square Hotel Springfield
386 reviews
.25 km away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
597 reviews
.29 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
691 reviews
.60 km away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Downtown
6 reviews
.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Theodore's
347 reviews
.10 km away
Panjabi Tadka
69 reviews
.13 km away
Adolfo's Italian Restaurant
85 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Springfield Armory National Historic Site
238 reviews
1.41 km away
Springfield Museums
394 reviews
.62 km away
Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden
383 reviews
.66 km away
Basketball Hall of Fame
542 reviews
1.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Christopher R
8 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bill P | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay, Saturdays andSunday's you can park anywhere, street meters are free. We do validate for the Hampden Street lot at the end of Fort st., Monday thru Saturday for our lunch hours. We also have Monday thru... More
0
Votes
BuddyDogbostonterrier
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from StudentPrinceMgmt | Property representative |
Yes. Mikey and Al are still here.
0
Votes
BuddyDogbostonterrier
15 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Rudirup | Property representative |
I am still around. "I tried to get out, and they pulled me back in." I work a few shifts at the door and I am helping out with menus, etc. I will be working tomorrow evening, April 16. Thanks for asking., Come in and take... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Springfield
  • Phone Number: +1 413-734-7475
Description
The landmark restaurant of Downtown Springfield with dedicated service and a German accent since 1935.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing