We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monsoon Bar & Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
46 Cron St. | Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
+64 3-752 0101
Website
Today
16:00 - 01:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 16:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 307: English reviews
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stopped in for a drink on the way back to the motel and enjoyed the atmosphere and decor. However the bad rating is due to the lady pouring drinks behind the bar she had no idea how to pour drinks. 2 attemps at the Pint of beer only to be told by another patron how to do it.

Helpful?
Thank Swanny4444
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A popular and buzzing place for evening drinks and pub food. Definitely for the young though ! The open fire was appreciated on a chilly night. Full of back packers and youngsters having a good time.

Helpful?
Thank kel35
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had dinner on our first nights stay. The place was buzzing. We chose to have pizza which was very good so no complaints from us. We were talking to a couple like us from the UK who were waiting for their puddings. They were still waiting when we had finished our meal. None too pleased after enquiring after it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a few beers in the Monsoon beer garden on a sunny afternoon after our heli hike was cancelled. They do some great food (the fish bites were awesome) and good beers too.

Helpful?
Thank SCochrane
Level Contributor
149 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here on our first night in a camper van staying at the rainforest retreat. We had arrived late after a long NZ drive and had a hungry & tired 7 year old. We were welcomed warmly (without a booking) and served immediately. Service was fast and friendly start to finish. The menu is fairly extensive (although predictable)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rennie F
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Rennie Glad we ticked all the boxes for you and your family. Hope you had a great trip. Cheers Oscar More 

North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After 14km of glacier exploring we craved giod food... we got a warm welcome and friendly fast service ibstead... oh and the food was excellent and just what we hoped for!!! Thanks team !!!

Helpful?
Thank Colette V
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food here is okay and on the surface the happy hour specials are fantastic. Unfortunately these specials were watered down for the most part and the selections outside of this aren't fantastic. This place hires your typical top 40 DJ but doesn't provide an actual dance floor suitable for anything other than some awkward sliding between people and tables. Probably... More 

Helpful?
Thank igipopa
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Igipopa Thanks for your feedback, however its is extremely incorrect. Our happy hour consists of a large number of $5 & $6 drinks. I'm not sure how you even water down a tap beer, a glass of wine from a wine bottle, a shot, or a cocktail but i can assure you that you got a fantastic deal and... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant yesterday and unfortunately the whole experience was disappointing. The food order was wrong then we were made to pay extra for the fault of the waitress. The food was average, and the child's meal was last to arrive. The attitude of the staff was also poor which lead to a very bad experience. Unfortunately we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank ginty1009
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Ginty I am very sorry that we didn't get it right during your visit. It certainly appears we made many mistakes on this occasion. I can assure you that it is not the norm and we pride ourselves on giving great service and food. I would be grateful if you'd be kind enough to email me personally with any... More 

Bournemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

This is not a memorable experience, the service is average, and the food is disappointing. We ordered the massaman curry and received a dish that could only be described as stu!! We made the waitress aware and she explained that they had a change of chef and the dish was actually a dish from the Philippines , not a Thai... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eddie F
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Eddie Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you we didn't meet your expectations. The dish you were served was a tradition Filipino curry called a caldereta which is super tasty but understandably disappointing when you ordered a massaman curry. This was due to stock shortages and it appears we had a momentary brake down in communication.... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

My family and I ate dinner and breakfast here. Both meals were excellent. Breakfast was buffet style and served pancakes as part of the buffet. They had many gluten free options on their menu.

Helpful?
Thank Chris R

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Monsoon Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 23
Cuisine
Bar, International, Pub, Pizza, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
16:00 - 01:00
Monday
16:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 01:00
Thursday
16:00 - 01:00
Friday
16:00 - 01:00
Saturday
16:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 Cron St. | Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  West Coast Region  >  Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Franz Josef
  • Phone Number: +64 3-752 0101
Description
Monsoon bar and restaurant will quite possibly be your favourite bar in NZ, with roaring fires & regular DJ's. We carry a large range of New Zealands finest beers and wines. The Monsoon restaurant will satisfy your hunger whatever your budget with all you can eat pizza nights, backpacker meal deals and a specially created ala carte menu specially designed by our head chef Ronald Lacanilao who has created a menu of mouth watering local delicacies to treat you after a hard day glacier exploring. Monsoon: it rains... we pour...

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Monsoon Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?