We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Darryl's Wood Fired Grill

3300 Gate City Blvd., Greensboro, NC 27407-4620
+1 336-294-1781
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (84 reviews)
“cajun shrimp” (18 reviews)
“steak” (59 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3300 Gate City Blvd., Greensboro, NC 27407-4620
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with a business associate. I ordered the Ribs and Ribs combo. They claimed the beef ribs are what made Darryl's famous. They weren't bad, they weren't great either. Very, very fatty. The Baby Backs were over cooked. The meat was dry the sauce burned....More

Thank John C
Larry W, General Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so very sorry that your visit was not excellent. Please contact me at Larry@darryls.com. We would like to make this right for you and work to make sure your next visit is more enjoyable if we can earn back that trust.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were traveling from NC to VA and this restaurant was one of very few that had outside seating for our family of 7 and a dog. The menu had something for everyone, even the vegetarian. Great service and great location just off the highway....More

Thank SharonSteinkraus
Larry W, General Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for stopping by. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope you'll stop by on your return trip!!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I always love going to Darryl's! Since they've acquired their new look, it seems as though their food has gotten better as well. Not that it was bad before. The ribs are my favorite! Very meaty and tasty.

Thank Nate A
Larry W, Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, we are so very proud of our ribs and our look. Hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Passing thru Greensboro and like to try new, local places. Saw Darryls and passed it the first time. But, turned around and came back. Can't tell from outside, except two large burn pits, but inside is carnival-esk. Neat decor. Food was OK...had the sirloin. Expected...More

Thank yodabone
Larry W, General Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for giving us a second look. We are glad you liked our unique nature, however we are saddened that we missed the mark in both the food and the service. Those are certainly two areas in which we strive to impress. Please, if...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very good ribs! Good food overall & the server, who was wonderful, had no problems with my picky substitutions for sides. Wonderful, friendly, cozy pub atmosphere too!!More

Thank jkseck
Larry W, General Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Amazing Review!!!!Thank you. 5 stars.. We are so proud of our ribs. We cannot thank you enough for letting us know that you enjoyed them!!!!!!!! You're not picky, you just want what you want and we want to get you just what you want. And...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Accommodated our soccer team of 30+ in refreshing outside seating. Wonderful service and delicious food. We enjoyed the interesting decor and all the smiles!More

Thank thistlen
Larry W, Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much!!! Good food, good service and a good place to eat?....Thats not too shabby. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to hit you with all 5 stars next time you and the team are in....let us know....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dinner with group after High Point University move in. Oddly every beer selected was not available. Local cabernet wine was good - hadn't had NC wines before. Best pulled pork sandwich of week. Cajun shrimp also seemed well received by those at the table. Steaks...More

Thank MJC859
Larry W, General Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for letting us know. We love when the HPU family comes to visit. We are so very sorry about the beer selection. We have 26 taps and lots of local brews in rotation. I'm sorry we did poorly updating the list. Thats not...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We moved our son into HPU and was looking for a restaurant away from campus. We had remembered eating at the one in Nashville and Winston Salem long ago so decided to give it a try. Still the same but now they charge for the...More

1  Thank Angela S
Larry W, General Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Annual Restaurant!!?Thats wonderful news! Thank you. I do wish we had done a a better job on the burger. We want to get each and everyone right. We are glad you liked the rest of your meal and service. Thank you for taking the time...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The menu is wonderful with a wide variety of food and drinks. I loved the French Dip because it was perfectly cooked and the wait staff was impressive.

Thank doviemcbrayer
Larry W, General Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you!!! We are so happy you enjoyed! Sometimes a classic french dip just hits the spot.

Reviewed 10 August 2017

very, very hot in the restaurant the night we were there. service was slow and often confused. food was absolutely ordinary. absolutely nothing wrong--absolutely nothing that compels me to go backMore

Thank Betty B
Larry W, Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Oh no! Thank you for letting us know that we were not stellar for your visit. We strive to wow with our food, service and our environment. I feel like we let you down. Might I ask you to reach out to me at Larry@darryls.com...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bonefish Grill
271 reviews
.70 km away
Waffle House
58 reviews
.21 km away
Santa Fe Mexican Grill
14 reviews
.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Greensboro Arboretum
111 reviews
3.22 km away
Greensboro Coliseum Complex
256 reviews
2.72 km away
Wet'n Wild Emerald Pointe
342 reviews
3.86 km away
Breakout Games - Greensboro
173 reviews
4.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Yvette W
12 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bernice S | Reviewed this property |
That was NOT normal. We went at lunch time. There was no wait. Our waitress was attentive and prompt.Very good service and our meal was delicious! Sorry you had a bad experience. I plan to return soon.
0
Votes
Nancy B
16 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Kate E | Property representative |
As a benefit to our staff and management we are closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3300 Gate City Blvd., Greensboro, NC 27407-4620
    (Veasley St)
  • Public Transportation: Use the Greensboro Transit Authority Bus System. Mon- Sat. use Route 11 stop 3 at the High Point Rd. and Pinecroft intersection, and Sun. take Route 25 stop 3 at the same intersection. More information regarding the Greensboro Transit Authority is available via http://www.greensboro-nc.gov/departments/GDOT/divisions/gta/routes/
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  Greensboro
  • Phone Number: +1 336-294-1781
Description
Since 1971 we’ve been known for our 100% wood fire grilled steaks, ribs, and Southern classics. We expanded in 2010 with a $2 million renovation that included two outdoor fire pits, an outdoor bar, large patio, themed seating areas, new large bar, business bar, and state of the art kitchen. Although steaks and ribs are our specialty, we offer a large and diverse, made from scratch menu. With a World Class Bar program consisting of 24 craft beers on draft, 24 wines by the glass, and a 10-page menu– we’re sure you’ll find something to please your taste buds. Our two-story restaurant has plenty of room for all your friends and we’re eager to accommodate groups of all sizes up to 130 people. You can even reserve the fire pit areas and theatre room for private events! Enjoy your meal in a glamorous theatre room, floating ferris wheel seat, elevator booth, jailhouse or snuggle up with S’mores for dessert by one of our outdoor fire pits. Located across from the Koury Convention Center and close by the Greensboro Coliseum.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing