We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kobe' Japanese Steak House

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
136 Dickenson St, Ste 1, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1273 (Luakini)
+1 808-667-5555
Website
Today
17:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 367: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I hadn't been to a Japanese steak house in over 30 years. The service and food were wonderful, but the best part was singing karaoke with the locals on Saturday night! Make sure you head over before you leave Maui.

Helpful?
Thank HeartDaBeach
Rancho Santa Margarita, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The food was overpriced and the restaurant was not clean. Our water joked that the food was purchased at Walmart. I would believe him. The problem was it had Walmart quality and pricing like it was picked at the best, high end market. They cook on open grills and the ventilation was bad, so there were several times that our... More 

Helpful?
Thank X7666HVlindam
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this review

While we can assure you that we use the freshest and best ingredients possible in all our meals, we're sorry to hear that you got a different impression. Our apologies for the sub par service. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future -- we know we can do better. All the best, -Kobe Ohana More 

Jamaica
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an early table reserved, was pushed to a horrible cocktail bar, ordered over sweet, cocktails that tasted of cheap syrup. Was shouted loudly our name & showed to a horrible table upstairs. The place was packed & a nasty, oily air lingered .. it took ages to start so we just left.. I can't comment on the good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chel1304
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this review

We're disappointed that we didn't make a good first impression when you came by. We always want you to feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. We hope you'll give us another chance and try our food sometime in the future -- we know we can leave a better impression! You commented that the place was packed... More 

Kahului, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to celebrate my sister in laws birthday. And our experience was beyond horrible. This is the second time our experience was like this. If you are wanting to wait 1 1/2 hours long this would be the place for you. The food was okay but the service is horrible. This elder gentlemen in the check in claims to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ella T
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this review

As we said on Yelp, Ella, we're seriously disappointed that the service was so slow when you came by. We'll certainly look into what went wrong. We hope you'll give us another chance to impress you next time you're in the area. All the best, Kobe Ohana More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dinner was a bit slow but the food was very good. If you're in a hurry this isn't for you, but it's all about the experience. Watching your meal being prepared is half the fun. Prices are about normal for a Japanese steak house.

Helpful?
Thank BigTex1947
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this review

We're sorry that the service was slow when you came by. It is always extremely busy during the holiday season. Thanks for coming in for dinner and we hope to see you again very soon. All the best, Kobe Ohana More 

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had supper tonite - booked for 7 pm and started eating at 8 PM. Service was very very slow and they forgot our miso soup (we did get a discount from our waiter). My son ordered a second bowl of rice that never appeared. Our chef did a great job. The food was tasty but the wait for dinner and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bikinigirlhawaii
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this review

We're disappointed to hear about the long wait! It's true we can get pretty busy, but we always want you to feel attended to while you're with us. We hope you give us another chance in the future. Sincerely, Kobe Ohana More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Japanese BBQ is tasty, well prepared and fairly priced at Kobe. The service is some of the worst I have ever had. We had 8 pm reservations and did not get seated until 9 pm. Our Chef was introverted and went through some of the motions of Japanese Tapanyaki but was not very good. He actually launched a spatula... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this review

We're glad you're a fan of our food, Nigel, but it's disappointing to hear that the service was sub par when you came by. We always want you to leave feeling happy and entertained. We'll be sure to look into what may have gone wrong. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future. Best wishes, -Kobe Ohana More 

Westhampton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had open table reservation for 730 pm for 8 people. Left at 845 pm without eating. Over booked reservations. Place was a zoo everyone complaining. Terrible service at bar. Hostess so obnoxious when we asked when we would be seated. Stay away!

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey N
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this review

It's certainly concerning to hear about the wait when you came by, Jeffrey, especially since you had a reservation. We lost two chefs last with our Holiday reservations already booked and have not been able to compensation for this critical staff shortage. I apologize for the rudeness at the front and in the bar. Being under pressure is no excuse!... More 

DeKalb, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The price is reasonable and the staff are friendly. The portion of food is big. However, the steak was just ok.

Helpful?
Thank chihchen69
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this review

We're sorry to see that you weren't wowed by your meal here. We always want you to love every bite. Next time you're in the area, we hope we have another chance to impress you. All the best, Kobe Ohana More 

Maui, Hawaii
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointing! The place is in desperate need for upgrades! There is no ambiance!! The food was ok-the chef did an ok job. But the waiter was extremely rude! I asked a question being a first time visitor to this restaurant and his response was very rude and disrespectful and didn't offer us any options-the waitress did not return to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steffie1226
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this review

We're serioulsy concerned to hear that your experience was so sub par. We always want you to love every bite, and we certainly never want you to feel disrespected. We'll be sure to discuss your visit with our staff. We hope you'll give us another chance to impress you in the future. Best wishes, Kobe Ohana More 

Travellers who viewed Kobe' Japanese Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Kobe' Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 136 Dickenson St, Ste 1, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1273
    (Luakini)
  • Public Transportation: The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.
  • Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Maui  >  Lahaina
  • Phone Number: +1 808-667-5555
Description
Enjoy the exciting, ancient art of teppanyaki cooking at the restaurant voted number 1 Japanese restaurant on Maui. Teppanyaki is derived from "teppan" which means iron plate and "yaki" which means grilled. At Kobe, it is delivered with the style and grace of a Japanese country inn. Blend in the gentle aloha of Hawaii, you will experience an evening where terrific food and entertainment are the perfect combination. After a delicious bowl of shabu-shabu soup, your teppan chef will begin to cook up an entrée of dishes, right in front of you, cooking it to tasty perfection, while watching him do the "flaming onion volcano", one of their many culinary tricks. Another favorite at Kobe is to sit in the sunken sushi bar and order one of uncle Oku's fabulous daily specials and enjoy watching the chefs masterfully create their delicious sushi. Oku prides himself on the high quality of fresh fish he chooses from local vendors. Approximately 95% of Oku's fish comes from Hawaii, and the balance of his menu consists of exotic items imported from Japan. The restaurant décor features many historical ornaments and artifacts to provide an authentic feel of Japan, the mother country. Kobe Japanese Steak House & Oku's Sushi Bar delights visiting guests and Island locals alike. Come and join us for a great meal today!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kobe' Japanese Steak House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?