We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honey bee

$$ - $$$, British,
Altrincham Road | Styal, Wilmslow SK9 4LT, England
+44 1625 526511
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good38%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“chicken pie” (7 reviews)
“calamari” (6 reviews)
“ice cream” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Altrincham Road | Styal, Wilmslow SK9 4LT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 597 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

A warm welcome received from the moment we stepped into this charming country pub/restaurant. Unfortunately we didn’t pre-book and as of any establishment on a peak time Saturday night it was busy. We waited for around five minutes for some seats, during the time glancing...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our third visit but probably the last. The menu use to be quite adventurous and exciting but now it is like any chain pub menu and very uninspiring. We settled for the fish and chips and roast beef dinner. The fish and chips were fine...More

Thank Silverfox468
General Manager A, Manager at Honey bee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, Thanks for the feedback and I'm sorry you have found your recent visits disappointing. I will certainly take your comments constructively to help us improve the experience for our guests. Kind Regards Carl

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've given our visit 3 stars but I've been generous. They were so under-staffed that the service was very poor. The miserable barmaid had a face like a smacked-bottom and couldn't focus on completing one order at a time. Instead she tried to serve 5...More

1  Thank Johnnie_Tee
General Manager A, Manager at Honey bee, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Johnnie Thank you for your review. I'm sorry we were not able to provide our usual standards of service for you but please be assured that we take all feedback constructively and we are actively working to rectify the problems you encountered during your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There were 11 adults and 3 children we had a table booked at 16:00h but had to wait in the bar for almost 30 mins for it to be prepared. Lovely atmosphere and good range of drinks. All the staff were very helpful and friendly...More

Thank Rose C
General Manager A, Manager at Honey bee, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Rose Thank you for your review and kind comments which I will be sure to pass on to my team. My apologies regarding the service levels you experienced on Sunday however I'm glad you enjoyed your meals and that your overall experience was positive....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just a quick visit. Haven't visited for a few months and the service was slower than usual along with a long wait to pay the bill. Lunch soup and sandwich deal has also disappeared. Two cheese and pickle sandwiches with two soups of the day....More

Thank Neil S
General Manager A, Manager at Honey bee, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Neil Thanks for your review and I'm sorry or service level want to our usual standards. Im glad you enjoyed your meals tho and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Carl

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pub has a great atmosphere, the staff are lovely and welcoming, good varied menu and the food is consistently lovely.

Thank emmaS295IT
General Manager A, Manager at Honey bee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Emma Thanks for the great review. Look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards Carl

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this week with friends ,having been on past occasions and been dissapointed. The restaurant does not have an inviting atmosphere ,several of the staff were trying to be helpful ,but generally seemed diss-organised . The menu was very average , quality of starters poor...More

1  Thank cheshire66
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well what can I say I went to the honey bee in wilmslow tonight for a meal with my son and a friend we sat down after ordering drinks at the bar which was ok the bar staff was talkative and friendly called John. ....More

1  Thank Chris W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Automatically a visit to The Honey Bee with family on my trip home to Manchester... always great pleasant service ... delicious fresh & hot meals not matter what part of menu chosen from(loads of different choices to decide from) ... great atmosphere whether dining inside...More

Thank KCtraveltrips
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Dropped in for a spot of lunch on a whim. Overall, it was the wrong decision. Don't get me wrong, we've eaten here many times over the years but the last few times have been nowhere near as pleasant as yesteryear. The last time, we...More

Thank TheViking66
Nearby Restaurants
The Clink Restaurant
732 reviews
1.77 km away
Ship Inn
361 reviews
1.62 km away
48 reviews
1.62 km away
Cafe Balzar
114 reviews
2.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Quarry Bank Mill
1,171 reviews
1.04 km away
The Runway Visitor Park
791 reviews
1.71 km away
Aspire Lounge
951 reviews
2.14 km away
Escape Lounge - T3
328 reviews
1.99 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
17 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Chrissie A | Reviewed this property |
After our last visit, I would NOT recommend it, especially for Christmas, the service was poor, our after dinner coffees were left on the bar for almost half an hour then we had to get them ourselves after the waiter had... More
29 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from grahamrmoore | Reviewed this property |
You can' miss it. Travelling from the M56 or Altrincham, it's on the left immediately after a sharpish bend. We went there last Saturday and it was better than ever. Enjoy.
Nichola O
31 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Bryan M | Reviewed this property |
there is no excuse for not answering the phone. But you didn't miss much and there are plenty of better places to eat in the locality.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Altrincham Road | Styal, Wilmslow SK9 4LT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Wilmslow
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 526511
The Honey Bee in Wilmslow is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing