We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Old Mother Redcap

$
Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Blackburn Road, Blackburn BB1 3LS, England
+44 1254 667272
Website
Today
08:00 - 21:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not a bad venue for a drink on the way home from work but a cheap and nasty carvery. Will never eat there again

Helpful?
Thank William F
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Great bright clean pub Barmaid was polite and attentive Food was really good especially for the price The rest of the staff were very quiet and tbh looked like they'd been on a bender and this was the last place they wanted to be But that aside i would recommend and will be back

Helpful?
1 Thank kyeransaurin
Management response:

Many thanks for your feedback your points have been taken on board. we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

Visited this week, simply because we had a voucher as a result of a dismal experience in a same group car very nearby. deliberately went at busy time as food is fresher when " moving". waited quite a while as menu has been complicated by fish and other non- car very items - a contradiction. however, food was fresh hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank 530lesterh
Management response:

Many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Called again after easter. Not changed, food was just luke warm. Standards are still the same with no customer engagement. Shame really............

Helpful?
Thank Stellyrichy C
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback and we will investigate your comments. More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Attended with group about 25 strong deaf people at lunchtime on a Wednesday. All ordered separately and were dealt with efficiently and quickly and with patience Admittedly, the food is not high end but then, neither are the prices.

Helpful?
Thank SandyAL2014
Management response:

Many thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you all again soon More 

Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

What can you expect for its money? Cheap price cheap results.. coke was flat but changed it straight away.

Helpful?
Thank carlsumner1102
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback More 

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Been a couple of times before and although not the best carvery couldn't complain. Today it was cold. The meat was very dry and veg was tasteless. Drinks are very overpriced and I asked for a black coffee with a drop of cold milk on the side but the waitress decided to to add the milk herself. Just did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
Management response:

Thank you for your constructive feedback and many apologies that your were unsatisfied More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

No food left! Only gammon, no sausage, no Yorkshires, dried up and cold veg, pudding arrived v late and only after we reminded them. The most awful entertainment, too loud, talentless - felt like we were in a hi-de-hi movie. Won't be back:(

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Many apologies that you were unsatisfied however we do hope that you will give us another try More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Thankyou to the team at the Redcap for their delightful hospitality today. I had a wonderful carvery. The meats were delicious especially the gammon. Chef treated me to a sausage too! Abi made coffees and these were hot and fresh. Thankyou redcaps!!!! 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Helpful?
Thank gazellis
Erica B, Manager at Old Mother Redcap, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review, we look forward to seeing you in the near future More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Not really. Been here, our "local" carvery a few times and frankly it appears to be on the slide. The meat on the carvery counter appears to stay there until it is utterly cremated, so timing (a lottery) is crucial. And to echo a previous reviewer, wearing a chefs hat doesn't entitle you the courtesy of calling me pal. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRussell1962
General Manager A, Manager at Old Mother Redcap, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback we will look into all points raised More 

Travellers who viewed Old Mother Redcap also viewed

Blackburn, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 
Great Harwood, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Old Mother Redcap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 9
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Buffet
Good for
Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:30
Monday
08:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:30
Thursday
08:00 - 21:30
Friday
08:00 - 21:30
Saturday
08:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Blackburn Road, Blackburn BB1 3LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackburn
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 667272

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Mother Redcap staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?