We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$4 - AU$35
CUISINES
Australian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Reviews (10)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
6
1
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
6
1
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 November 2022 via mobile

Lovely breakfast in a Beautiful old building and setting. Beautiful gardens opposite. Well worth stopping. Easy parking for caravans

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2022 via mobile

I seldom do a negative review but this place deserves a kick up the pants. Maybe the For Sale Sign out front tells the tale. A nice old building that is really a take away with chairs and tables. A large sign out the front...said Gluten Free. I saw one GF meal on the menu but it was pointed out that there was another one on the back. A few minutes later I was told they had spaghetti bolognaise also. My wife felt like a pie and I chose the better sounding GF, Loaded Narchos. The pie arrived! A lonely pie on a plate. Not a bit of salad even for decoration. Really inviting.....not! The base wasn't cooked properly and it was disappointing at the least. The nachos arrived; but I think they forgot to load it. Nice tomato based sauce, no mince, no guacamole, avocado, could not find the refried beans but they may have been hidden in the mushy bottom. Anyone who serves rubbish like this should not be in the kitchen. Unless you are starving and this is the only place that is open, keep driving!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Country D, Owner at The Shire Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2022

Hi David , I’m sorry to read this review and hear that you were unsatisfied with your visit to us! My sincerest apologies . We advertise gluten free as we have multiple options for those who are gluten free and coeliac - in our sweets...More

Reviewed 1 April 2022 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick bite whilst passing through. It was 1.45 pm - yet they said the kitchen was closed. Wow - bit early to close. So they heated up a dried up ham croissant and a kids mini pizza devoid of any flavour....Jelly slice was nice but the chocolate lamination was horrible - heavy yucky mess. Took them ages to bring it out. Wished we’d gone elsewhere. Can understand why they have the signs up advertising the Business was for saleMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Country D, Owner at The Shire Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2022

Hi Johnboy , I’m sorry to read your review that you’ve had an unpleasant experience with us , but thank you for your feedback ! Since opening back up as normal after covid we have been very short staffed - like most places , and...More

Reviewed 5 November 2021

We returned to this delightful cafe as we travelled through StArnaud and we were as delighted with the warm, exciting, friendly efficient service and the mouthwatering menu on offer. The food is delicious and serving sizes are generalist especially for the price. We had an...opportunity to chat with the owner Sarah who is as delightful as the cafe itself! Highly recommend and we cannot wait to return again. 😊More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Country D, Owner at The Shire Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2022

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback ! It means so much to us ❤️ See you next time . Take care

Reviewed 9 July 2021 via mobile

Very good coffee stop and offering of food alternatives for breakfast, lunch and even some take home dinner options. Had their chicken rolls on beautiful bakery bread. Delicious. Friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2021

I stopped here for lunch today... The staff did their job but they weren't exactly friendly... they just meet your needs. I could not get a table inside because it was fully booked...so today wasn't the best day to sit outside because it was cold-...not their fault that it was booked but perhaps being given an option for a time that a table was free would have been nice. I ordered a quick bite and a coffee. Both of them were okay, but nothing to write home about. So whilst the business is attractive and well located ... this really didn't jump out to me.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2021

I am going to forgive this place for forgetting one of our meals on our first visit as we have been back twice since. Nice coffee and great salad rolls and my husband enjoyed his pie when he eventually got it. Will be back when...passing through.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2021

We stopped by here for lunch after viewing the local silo artwork. The restaurant has a large room in an historic building with a relaxed atmosphere. The staff were very attentive and service was fast and efficient, despite the dining area being quite full on...a Monday lunch - we booked ahead and glad we did. There is also seating outside, but it was too cold to sit outside. The chai latte and flat white were superb and Chicken Schnitzel and Loaded Potato were tasty and cooked to perfection. I would definitely recommend a visit to this town and to Country Delights on Napier Street.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2021

Stopped on a very hot morning for a break in our journey. The Staff were very friendly and helpful. Perfect Iced Coffee. A cool Oasis in St Arnaud . We will be making it a regular stop on future trips into Victoria.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2020

Located in the old historic council chambers in Napier st St Arnaud you will find this delightful cafe. Country hospitality is at its best with local owners Sarah & Nathan, who put their heart & soul into the warm welcome of patrons in comfortable quaint...historical surrounding and the best of all is the absolutely delicious menu full of country favourites and all cooked in house. We stopped in for breakfast and went back for lunch! The homemade Lasange, Baked Potato with all the trimmings and the Apricot & White Chocolate slice were great choices. Coffee & Hot Chocolate perfectly brewed. There’s even artwork on display and is for sale. Beautiful decor and very well appointed in keeping with Social Distancing. Thanks Sarah & Nathan and team for your hospitality, we highly recommend your cafe and will definitely be back!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Botanical Hotel
26 reviews
.14 km away
Donald Motor Lodge
52 reviews
37.18 km away
Charlton Motel
66 reviews
39.20 km away
Warrenmang Winery & Resort
197 reviews
40.03 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Royal Hotel St Arnaud
54 reviews
.37 km away
Mulligans Music
5 reviews
.33 km away
Six2Six
15 reviews
.48 km away
St Arnaud Sporting Club
30 reviews
.91 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Redbank Alpacas
33 reviews
27.28 km away
Kookas Country Cookies
16 reviews
34.90 km away
Queen Mary botanic Gardens
19 reviews
.38 km away
The Bible Museum
13 reviews
.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Shire Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE SHIRE CAFE, St Arnaud - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Shire Cafe

Yes, The Shire Cafe offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Shire Cafe offers delivery services.

The Shire Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5