We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (75)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
51
11
2
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
51
11
2
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews avocado smash burrito bowl home made cakes english muffin pleasant courtyard lovely cafe lovely outdoor area poor service delicious food cyril eatery takeaway slice
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 January 2024

Lovely service and the food was freshly made and delicious. I ordered an almond sticky chai with almond milk and a cheese and bacon savoury scone with butter.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2024

Hello Rachelleenever, Many thanks for your patronage and we appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and provide a rating. We thank you and look forward to having you visit again soon. Kind regards Coxy

Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

Service OK, but food poor, very disappointed Could have been good. It nicely set up and court yard has possibility of being a great place with great atmosphere, but the food was poor. So the good points are overridden by very poor overpriced food.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

MJT111 Thank you for sharing your review. Sadly, on the day of your visit we were unable to provide our regular menu due to scheduled maintenance. The maintenance was advertised at the cafe and on the counter. As the owner of the business I personally...More

Reviewed 25 July 2023

Very disappointing. Very grumpy older lady abusing customers. Don't spend your hard earned money on ordinary food. Only cafe I have ever seen with a list of rules on the table ....total turn off..More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2023

Hello Madonnas328 I am extremely disappointed to read this review. As the owner of this Cafe, I accept all feedback and find it difficult to understand your comments. Firstly, I do not accept a member of my staff was abusing customers. I was in the...More

Reviewed 1 July 2023

We rang and ordered take away egg and bacon muffins. Only two. The children then decide they want a taste well, didn’t get another bite should have ordered more they were perfect. Customer service was on point, they even chucked in a free cake for...the kids. Would highly recommend this business for future.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2023

Thank you Karlin for taking the time to review my business on your special weekend. Your children are delightful and knew they would love our food. Please call again when you are next in Rutherglen. We value and appreciate your feedback. Coxy

Reviewed 1 July 2023 via mobile

This was an eatery stopover during our recent winery visits. My family was very impressed with the food quality and freshness. Also the staff was friendly and accommodating. Especially go for the chicken schnitzel wrap. We ordered three. They were delicious.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2023

Thank you Anne We greatly appreciate your review and most grateful that you enjoyed your schnitzel wraps. We make our own schnitzels and the crumb is made from our bakers crumbs, local lemon zest and Parmesan cheese! Thank you also for mentioning our staff. They...More

Reviewed 20 June 2023 via mobile

Clean, food OK. Warm on a cold day. We had eggs. On English muffins which were fine, but they would be better in toasted Turkish bread or sourdough.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Hello Many thanks for the feedback and review of The Other Place. We have in the past offered a range of breads available to us. However, the price and availability of all the breads available and asked for is not economical. We do appreciate your...More

Reviewed 12 June 2023

Delicious food and coffees. Great service. Loved the pretty outdoor area. Blown away by how well they cater for dietary requirementsMore

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2023

Goof Morning Tryshi2021 Thank you sincerely for your lovely review and rating of my business. We pride ourselves on offering a significant choice for our regular and visiting customers. We appreciate and value all feedback and suggestions and hope that you can visit us again...More

Reviewed 6 June 2023

Lovely fresh light breakfast and delicious coffee. Large variety of milks. Nice cosy place on a cold wintry day.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review my business. It was a cold wet day and pleased our cafe met your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Again many thanks Coxy

Reviewed 3 June 2023

Really disappointed! We were simply stared at when we walked in. No greeting nor a smile or hello. Dreadful service! Not friendly or welcoming at all Coffee was good……More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2023

Thank you for sharing your review about your experience at my cafe. I am concerned that your visit did not meet your expectations. As you can see from previous reviews this isn’t our normal service delivery. I am pleased you liked our coffee. Did you...More

Reviewed 30 April 2023 via mobile

We are regular visitors to Rutherglen and this place is by far the best going around. Coxy ( Cyril) and his staff nothing is to much trouble. The food , menu and service is top notch... nice music playing while eating outside in the courtyardMore

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2023

Sorry for the delay in responding to your review. Thank you for such wonderful words and we most of all appreciate your continued support when in Rutherglen. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Next time, trousers and not shorts would be more weather...More

Reviewed 23 April 2023

This is a lovely cafe and we really enjoyed our Coxy’s breakfast here - coffee was great too. Seating is inside or out, friendly staff and great prices.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2023

Many thanks Rod and Jude for visiting The Other Place and appreciate your review and rating. I look forward to seeing you again soon. regards and thanks again Coxy

Reviewed 16 April 2023

We were passing through and looking for a quick lunch. Had three unsuccessful options due to timing and one GF requirement. The lovely staff at the Pickled Sisters suggested The Other Place. The owner (I’m assuming was friendly and welcoming as soon as we entered....Very happy for a chat. The food was served quickly, but nice and fresh. My husband enjoyed a hot chocolate as well. He had a burger which he enjoyed. I had a burrito bowl (GF) which was very tasty. Lots of locals came in whilst we were there plus visitors to the area. Friendly staff and reasonable prices for a tourist town too.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2023

Many thanks for your generous rating and review of my business and am grateful that you both called in appreciated our service. I look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Coxy

Reviewed 12 April 2023 via mobile

I regularly pass though Rutherglen and always stop at this cafe for takeaway of their excellent coffee and very tasty home made cake slices. Open at 6am every day, they provide very efficient and friendly service, reasonable prices and a relaxing country ambience. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cyril Cox, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2023

Many thanks for your patronage and your review of my business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Coxy

Reviewed 3 April 2023

Stopped here for a breakfast and coffee on my way to Albury all I can say it was great good service a few people going past for coffee and a clean place to eat in .... Will always stop here when in the area .....

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
the Other Place, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2023

Many thanks for your lovely review and ratings. We look forward to being of service to you again soon. Regards Coxy

Reviewed 18 February 2023

We overnighted in Rutherglen and decided to try The Other Place for breakfast. We found the staff to be great to deal with, and took up their suggestion to sit in the sunny courtyard, a great choice. The breakfasts were very tasty and prompt, we...couldn't fault the food or beverages. We would certainly go back.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
the Other Place, Owner at The Other Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Many thanks for your great review of The Other Place. We appreciate your rating and patronage. I am very proud of my team and our service delivery. The past few years have been a enormous challenge.and look forward to seeing you again in the future....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Poachers Paradise Motel
162 reviews
.11 km away
Motel Woongarra
233 reviews
.35 km away
Tuileries at De Bortoli Rutherglen
254 reviews
.40 km away
Rutherglen Motor Inn
74 reviews
.64 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Parker Pies
618 reviews
.21 km away
Tuileries Restaurant
398 reviews
.43 km away
Poachers Paradise
302 reviews
.08 km away
Thousand Pound Wine Bar & Store
138 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rutherglen Wine Experience and Visitor Information Centre
152 reviews
.42 km away
Chambers Rosewood Winery
128 reviews
1.24 km away
De Bortoli Rutherglen Estate
90 reviews
.44 km away
James & Co. Wines
25 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Other Place staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE OTHER PLACE, Rutherglen - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Other Place

Yes, The Other Place offers takeaway services.

The Other Place is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5