We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (60)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
37
13
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
37
13
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dumplings crab massaman curry bao pork belly chilli quail custard banquet menu beautiful flavours food was amazing asian cuisine sunday night wine list service was excellent medium region
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Moving to the area in a year or so decided to try out this place , wow , great food , extensive wine list and really friendly good staff , would recommend , we will put this on our list to take visitors when we...move upMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 July 2022

A unexpected gem in Kyneton - great service, lovely atmosphere, excellent food - we went the banquet. Must try

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robbo1963, Owner at Fook Shing, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2022

Hi There - Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. The Team @ Fook Shing

Reviewed 13 June 2022 via mobile

Vegan options are AMAZING! We had the 5 course vegan banquet and enjoyed every single dish from start to finish! The 5 courses is $60 PP and was super delish! The only thing that would have made the experience more elevated is if there was...a vegan dessert ( and no plant based milk meant that we couldn't order coffee either ) The stand out dish was the soup as we hadn't tried anything like it and it was a taste explosion that left us all wanting more in our bowls! The cocktail menu has a some "fancy drinks' that are vegan that we enjoyed also! Looking forward to returning!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robbo1963, Owner at Fook Shing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Hello Brandon and Deb, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience. Apologies that the team did not state that our Tapioca Coconut pudding is actually vegan - and we are looking...More

Reviewed 5 June 2022

We went for lunch. The wine by the glass were well chosen and delicious. The place is an old hotel which is beautifully fitted out. The waiting staff were incredibly professional. All this in a small country town. The food was beautifully cooked. For main...course we had a snapper which the flesh melted. For first course we had pork belly cooked with eggplant, dumplings and chicken bao. Each item was great. The only weakness was the menu was not enormous. One of the best lunches in yearsMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robbo1963, Owner at Fook Shing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Hi Tom, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of Fook Shing - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience. We are very proud of what we have created here at Fook Shing. Unfortunately due to the...More

Reviewed 14 May 2022 via mobile

The hospitality was fabulous from the moment we walked in. Robert, the host, was incredibly warm and welcoming. Marketa, our head waitress was very attentive and friendly. Explained the menu well. It was great to see what used to be a rather grim looking pub...now a beautiful and comfortable contemporary restaurant. The wine list was extensive with some lovely local wines from the region as well as Australian and International wines. I chose a nice Hesket Estate 2018 Gewürztraminer, which paired nicely with the meal. As we had not been before we decided to try the banquet. There are a lot of items on the menu we would like to try but we thought the banquet was a good first time. The serves were generous in portion. The Asian broth and the miang were definitely the highlights of the meal. All the dishes were flavoured really nicely, well balanced, fresh tasting. I can’t fault the flavour. My only real criticism was the quality of the cuts of meat. The bao was nice but found it a little chewy rather than ‘crispy’ chicken. The Sri Lankan beef and potato curry was beautifully flavoured but the meat was tough and had a lot of gristle in it. One piece we couldn’t eat and left aside it was that full of gristle. The pork belly was also disappointing, Again, flavour was great but it didn’t melt in your mouth as pork belly should. Moving onto dessert, the banana donuts with kaffir lime and ginger ice cream and passionfruit curd was the perfect way to finish off the meal! It was nice they didn’t clear the table until both people had finished which didn’t make you feel like you had to rush. We were also not rushed at the end of our meal , which makes a nice change. Next time we go we shall try the vegetarian banquet and explore the fish options.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robbo1963, Owner at Fook Shing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Hello There, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Glad to read that you enjoyed your overall experience here at Fook Shing. I will take your comments re the Pork Belly and Beef curry under review and communicate your comments to the...More

Reviewed 12 March 2022

Absolutely stunning food experience just devine. Friendly service with a smile. My taste buds are still having a party. Will definitely be going back. Thank you so much Roberto and staff for making our first visit to Fook Shing the highlight of my birthday celebrations....Look forward to seeing you all again very soon.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robbo1963, Owner at Fook Shing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Hi Michelle, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so very pleased to read you enjoyed Fook Shing. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Again Happy Birthday!! The Team @ Fook Shing

Reviewed 12 March 2022 via mobile

Outstanding ! Visited Fook Shing many times before and it never disappoints ! Service, ambiance and the food is amazing… wine list extensive and the cocktails are a must! Look forward to visiting again soon. Thanks fook Shing for another brilliant dining experience 😀

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robbo1963, Owner at Fook Shing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Hello There Thank so much for you very kind words and we are so happy to read you love Fook Shing! See you again very soon - we will be pleased to welcome you back. The Team @ Fook Shing

Reviewed 1 January 2022

We had never been to Fook Shing before but after reading the reviews, decided to give it a go for my daughter's birthday, and with 2 children under 14, we booked an early meal for 5 people at 6:30pm so we could get home and...into bed at a reasonable hour. We walked in the door and were suitably impressed by the decor. We were seated quickly and our drinks order taken followed by our food order. Two people in our party were unable to cope with a lot of chilli so we asked if they were able to remove it and were told no, that the meals come as they are. My 12 year old has a relatively plain palette so we asked if she could have the flat rice noodle without any spice, just plain noodles with soy sauce. The waitress went to check with the chef and confirmed that they wouldn't do that either. We ended up ordering a couple of appetisers, an entree and 4 mains (their menu has small (appetisers), medium (entrees) and large (mains) meal offerings), requesting that everything come out together so we could all eat together as a family. The waitress confirmed that the "food comes out as it's prepared" so we acknowledged this, completely unaware of the wait we had ahead of us. The appetisers arrived, followed by the entree, food that was ordered by 1 adult and 1 child in our party. We were left 1 hour and 20 mins before the rest of the food arrived, leaving 2 adults and 1 child waiting until 8:15pm before receiving any food at all. The fried fish was dry and when asked how the food was, this was pointed out to our waiter who was surprised, saying that "they had not received any other complaints that evening about it". As we had not eaten since lunchtime that day, and waited an hour and 20 mins for dinner, we added the juices from the Asian greens to the fish and ate it, knowing that it would be an even longer wait to send it back at 8:15pm with the view to getting a replacement. The waiter returned at the end of the meal and pointed out that the fish had been consumed, despite our comments, dismissing our feedback, and when questioned on the long wait times, confirmed that the restaurant prepares and serves dishes in accordance with their small, medium and large options. We confirmed that we had not been made aware of this at the time of ordering, when we asked our waitress if we could be served our meals together; we were simply told that the "food comes out as it's prepared". Our overall experience was a disappointing one, our feedback was dismissed by the waiter, and as a result, we will not be recommending nor returning to Fook Shing.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robbo1963, Owner at Fook Shing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Thank you for your review Michelle - We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Fook Shing. As you can see from our reviews, we pride ourselves on our food and service and continue to strive to please all our...More

Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

What a pleasure it is to be out dining again and Fook Shing didn’t disappoint! We enjoyed both the meat and vegetarian banquets. Beautiful flavours and dishes well executed in a timely manner. Service was attentive and hospitable. Love the newly formed spaces, shame we...couldn’t stay longer but look forward to returning. Well done Fook Shing!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robbo1963, Owner at Fook Shing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Hi Debra Thanks so very much for taking the time to submit a review. We are so very pleased to read you had a wonderful experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. The Team @ Fook Shing

Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

We just had the takeaway banquet. We bought for 4, but only 3 of us. $200 The beef in the salad was tough. The fish curry in totally for 4 people had 4 prawns to share, 2 minute pieces of fish to share on large...container of rice. Soup was nice as were the greens and the starter. May have good flavours but quality and quantity of the protein was substandard- shame.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 August 2021

My partner and I visited this place a few weeks ago with my mother . From the moment we walked in I knew we were in for a treat . We were not left disappointed , the food was simply beautiful every course we had...was a flavour sensation . The ambience and warmth of the place added to the overall experience . Cannot wait to return , totally worth the drive from Daylesford .More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

We recently dined at Fook Shing. We chose to have the banquet. The food was amazing, so flavoursome and fresh. We couldn’t fault it, it gets a 10/10 from us. Do yourself a favour and when in Kyneton dine at this restaurant, you will be...glad you did! We wish this restaurant was close to home for us! We will definitely be back next time we are in Kyneton.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

This is a bustling pan-Asian restaurant serving dishes across different cuisines. This was our second visit, and although under different management the menu does not seem to have changed, but we did try some different dishes. The Miang was disappointing at $8 each, but the...whole snapper was good, as was the crab custard. I have had better crispy softshell crab elsewhere, but the green papaya salad was great. It is good to have a reliable Asian cuisine alternative in Kyneton.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 July 2021

Service was excellent and the Asian Fusion influenced food was great. Highly recommend the Pork Belly and Quail. The standard of the food made us look for comparisons and the highly rated Red Spice Road in Melbourne was our favourite restaurant and this is was...right up there. Highly recommend to any food lover.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

This would have to be the worst restaurant I have ever eaten at! Firstly we had no choice of an A La Carte or Banquet menu although they state when u make a reservation you do? We were given the banquet, we had no choice!...Could not get an extra scoop of ICE CREAM (ridiculous). Should have eaten at McDonald’s!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Central Highlands Motor Inn
66 reviews
1.49 km away
Kyneton Bushland Resort
196 reviews
3.21 km away
The Bentinck of Woodend
9 reviews
13.95 km away
Samadhi Spa & Wellness Retreat
181 reviews
18.90 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Little Swallow Cafe
293 reviews
.15 km away
Home Grown on Piper
91 reviews
.43 km away
Midnight Starling
75 reviews
.15 km away
Ruby Cafe
96 reviews
.72 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Piper Street
155 reviews
.19 km away
Kyneton Botanical Gardens
32 reviews
1.16 km away
Turpins Falls
40 reviews
.35 km away
Kyneton Community Park
9 reviews
.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Loren P
18 July 2020|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from John W | Reviewed this property |
I don't believe its BYO
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fook Shing

Fook Shing is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4