We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 5/3
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (154)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
63
51
23
2
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
63
51
23
2
14
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 21 January 2024

My score 3.5 stars. Interior a little tired, service was nice enough. I had a beer but originally asked the waiter how long the Rose had been opened & he checked & said 2 days so I passed (but thought it was great he was...so honest)! S&P Calamari was better than expected, quite soft but not a huge serve. Points off for value.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

We were in Belgrave, VIC for the Puffing Billy Railway experience as a family and needed to grab a quick bite for breakfast. We walked into Bensons planning on grabbing some pre-prepared sandwiches. Saneep greeted us and before we realised it, we were seated at...a table and were ordering full breakfast. We had 35 minutes before we were due for check-in at Puffing Billy Railway. Saneep promised us that breakfast will be ready in 15 minutes. In fact breakfast for 4 people was ready in less then 12 minutes. We were pleasantly surprised at how delicious the breakfast was. Big servings and lovely coffee. The Chilly Scrambled Egg with toasted croissant was awesome.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2023

Lovely food and great and friendly service from the staff. Thoroughly recommend eating at Benson's restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023 via mobile

Great place for a quick lunch with friends or dinner. Great service and the coffee is good….. do yourself a favour and try this place out

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2022

Just dropped in here for a quick cup of coffee and were made to feel right at home from the moment we set foot through the door.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

I was given a voucher for this cafe as a birthday present Once my arrived we greeted by a scruffy looking young girl and was seated. My wife a I ordered our breakfast and waited 25 mins for our cold meals to come out Just...to add the cafe was not busy . I then order a fruit salad to find all the fruit was not ripe and hard so we could not eat it . When it was time pay with our voucher the rude girl at the counter said she could not accept it. Why ? After talking with the manager I payed cash for my cold breakfast and left. Only to rip up my voucherMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bensons_Belgrave, Owner at Bensons Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

Hi Michael, Thankyou for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am so sorry to hear you had a horrible experience. I will pass your comments onto further Management. I would love to discuss further with you so please email me through bensonsbelgrave@gmail.com so...More

Reviewed 13 June 2022 via mobile

We stopped off at Benson’s for breakfast after a night in the Dandenong’s. Initially we were drawn to the casual style and ambience inside. We both ordered the big breakfast and it was seriously the best breakfast we’ve had out in so long, I can’t...even remember. Usually there is something that’s not quite right or you might leave on your plate - but EVERYTHING was absolutely delicious and exceptionally cooked! We made a point of popping our head in the kitchen to tell the Chef. Service and charming staff made it even more enjoyable. HIGHLY recommend.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2022 via mobile

As a family of 5 we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch here. The chicken burgers were delicious, kids meals were very reasonable and my husband's parma was very thick, juicy and full of flavour. Definitely recommend for lunch and we will be back!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2021 via mobile

Scrambled eggs had the bacon cooked in the eggs (watery ) and the coffee was just warm The service was good but the meal I had was tasteless and not nice and I couldn’t eat it

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Went for our anniversary. Arancini entree was dry and served with Praise mayonnaise. Steak was inedible - full of gristle. Roast potato was flavourless and floury. A very disappointing meal. Will not return.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2020

We enjoyed a 3 course meal with a Groupon deal and could not fault anything - service was excellent, food fresh, tasty and well presented.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

The food and service were fine but nothing special. The food was a bit overpriced for what it was, they have a couple of gluten free options but nothing exciting. With so many other options in the street I wouldn't recommend this one, I have...definitely had a better meal down the road.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2020

My wife and I made the mistake of trying this restaurant, what a mistake. Amateurish, worst we've been to in a long time. Couldn't eat the food. Badly cooked and badly served. My paella was served with a mussel tightly closed and the others over...cooked and inedible. Tiny tables and waitresses I had to call over to place an order and get a drink. TERRIBLE, NEVER AGAIN!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

Stopped here to grab a coffee & but to eat while we waited for puffin billy. Staff friendly & welcoming , tables clean . My only small thing was no soap in the ladies toilet:( apart from that, I would definitely return for another delicious...muffin.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2020

Expensive prices. Food doesn't meet the expectation of the prices. I don't mind paying higher prices for higher quality but this was definitely not the case!! To add insult to injury after paying the high prices, I was hit with a SURCHARGE to pay by...EFTPOS (not credit card but EFTPOS). This was just a price gouge!! My recommendation: Try any of the other restuarants in Belgrave who don't charge these prices. The one redeeming factor in an otherwise disappointing visit was the lovely staff members. They did inform me that the owner has had lots of feedback about the surcharge but refuses to remove it.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
212 reviews
5.52 km away
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
190 reviews
6.04 km away
Panorama Retreat & Resort
62 reviews
9.55 km away
Rowville International Hotel
54 reviews
11.00 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Le Voltaire Bistro Francais
119 reviews
.07 km away
Sommai Thai
23 reviews
.82 km away
Earthly Pleasures Cafe
169 reviews
.22 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Puffing Billy Railway
1,865 reviews
.22 km away
Treetops Adventure Belgrave
195 reviews
.51 km away
Cameo Cinema
89 reviews
.31 km away
Belgrave Lake Park
11 reviews
1.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ksara1970S
8 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from _rhill67 |
Sure is! Same menu all day
1
Vote
Yvonne H
30 December 2016|
Answer
Response from InspiredOz | Reviewed this property |
Hi Yvonne, Benson's menu seems to be loading ok but it is a PDF file so you may need to use your PC to view it.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BENSONS CAFE AND RESTAURANT, Belgrave - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices, & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bensons Cafe and Restaurant

Yes, Bensons Cafe and Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Bensons Cafe and Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5