We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (32)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
11
10
1
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
11
10
1
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 June 2023

We were the first to order meals for the night, so had plenty of time before our movie, well we thought. After 45 minutes no food had appeared so I went and queried the staff, they wandered off not to be seen again. But finally...10 minutes later our food arrived. Mine was fish and chips, what can go wrong with that. well when i finally found the fish inside the over cooked beer batter, it what what good only be called sardine sized. Not only was the batter over cooked, it tasted woeful, curnchy and oily. Foe what I paid I would have expected some fish inside the batter, but maybe I should have specified fish. The chips were just a limp soggy mess, not sure how they were cooked, but maybe the chef had no idea either, The salad, I didnt even bother to try it just looked scarey. Would I go back, no wayMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2022 via mobile

A great meal, excellent service and friendly atmosphere. This place has had an amazing transformation. The new menu is great and there is something for everyone.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2021

Couldn't speak more highly of The Tavern. We had the pleasure of watching the England vs Ukraine game here, despite normally not being open the owner was kind enough to show it. We were welcomed on arrival by him and greeted with Irish Coffees. The...ambience was exquisite and had a real homely-vibe. It was well worth the wait and I can't wait to visit again!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

Really impressed with this venue since its changed hands! Friendly bar staff always up for a chat, the new menu is tasty, fresh and always good value. (Especially the parmas at 10 dollars) the pool table is well positioned and plenty of room to conveniently...place your beverage. The aesthetics of the pub have greatly improved since its initial renovation and is once again a great local venue for a casual beer or even a business meeting👌More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2019

The Bell can be relied upon to serve better than average pub style meals. Well prepared, generous serves and a great atmosphere. Highly recomended for when you just want a good meal with no fuss.

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2019

We came for "$15 parma" night, for a family birthday ... The 10 different varieties of parmas were huge and great value. Staff were friendly, service was good and atmosphere was perfect (not too noisy nor quiet). Great place to eat, or just spend a...lazy afternoon inside or outside.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2019 via mobile

My friend and I walked in late on a Saturday afternoon and were instantly made feel at home. We were assured the kitchen would still serve us, the fire was turned on to make us comfortable. Fantastic food, exceptional service. Thank you!!

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

Open windows allow patrons to sit out overlooking the footpath and watch the interesting albeit quirky characters of Belgrave go by. This place has a tired old world feel of a musty local hangout, no frills establishment. No seating outside, smokers congregated out the front...on the narrow sidewalk, somewhat unsavoury for other pedestrians but that was the norm around here.More

Date of visit: February 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We ate here in a group of 25 ( that was booked and knew we were coming ) and what a mess. The poor waitress working looked very stressed. Wrong meal’s came out and some waited for over a hour after being ordered and still...couldn’t get what they wanted as the staff reply “ that takes to long to cook now “ extremely poor communication between staff and the meals looked rushed. A few more staff and a little bit of communication could make this place work. If communication is the key well someone left the keys at home.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Great night out ,. After a delicious dinner of lamb ribs. We listened to the band ,,playing rock classics..really got the crowd dancing ..called ToeJam.

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2017

It's not often you go out to see a band at a pub and on arrival find almost 100% of it's patrons outside drinking and smoking on the footpath at the front of the pub, glass in hand! This is Bell's Tavern, a complete security...nightmare on a Saturday night. Food used to be good but has declined over the past couple of years. Inside the place is worn and grotty, a much needed freshen up is required. Toilet facilities are up a steep staircase so not good for people with strength or mobility issues although one unisex toilet 'downstairs' is available for use if you're brave... Unfortunately there's a couple of rude, less than efficient staff manning the bar - especially an older woman who ignores people waiting to be served so she can play on her mobile phone in full view of patrons. I'm sure the venue would make more money if you could buy drinks! Save your money and go to another of Belgrave's bars for a good night out.More

Date of visit: December 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Please do not eat here. I had pulled pork burger and half a hour later was acutely ill. I was sick for 4 days ruined my time away in Belgrave. Also had to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke as a heap of people...sitting out the front smoking. Thought where food was served no smoking was allowed? This went inside the bar area as the windows were open. The clientele we of a dubious nature and were loud and obnoxious while people were trying to eat in the smelly small dining area. Run down unpleasant pub.More

Date of visit: December 2017
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Has a good choice of specials on week nights....typical pub atmosphere....cosy in both summer and winter

Date of visit: December 2016
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We ordered four meals three arrive all up after an hour and three request for the meal it arrived Garlic Prawns 5 medium sized prawns it was unedible only ate the prawns so never again. If there was a nil rating they would get itMore

Date of visit: November 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard F, Owner at Bell Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Jenny, I apologize for your appalling experience at The Bell Tavern. I unfortunately have not been working for the last few months due to illness and have just seen this review. There is no excuse for our poor performance on the night, but I...More

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Started attending this tavern, however whilst the food prices seem to be reasonable, I am convinced they dont have a chef - just a cook and even I cook better myself! Tried the spaghetti - the worst I have ever had and I can not...understand how they could get this wrong....tried ceasar salad again terrible - never again. The fish and chips and huge parmas seem to be fine so if you stick with these you should be fine - oh the vegetarian dishes seem to be fine.More

Date of visit: August 2016
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard F, Owner at Bell Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Hi Marilyn, I am sorry that it has taken so long to get back to you, I have been off work for a while due to illness. We did have some kitchen staffing problems however we do seem to have them fixed now. I would...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Nightcap at Ferntree Gully Hotel
212 reviews
5.46 km away
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
194 reviews
5.97 km away
Panorama Retreat & Resort
64 reviews
9.67 km away
Rowville International Hotel
54 reviews
10.87 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Le Voltaire Bistro Francais
119 reviews
.09 km away
Earthly Pleasures Cafe
169 reviews
.11 km away
Bensons Cafe and Restaurant
154 reviews
.16 km away
Cognoscenti Food & Wine
19 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Puffing Billy Railway
1,756 reviews
.38 km away
Treetops Adventure Belgrave
179 reviews
.67 km away
Cameo Cinema
89 reviews
.17 km away
Belgrave Lake Park
11 reviews
1.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bell Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BELL TAVERN, Belgrave - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bell Tavern

Bell Tavern is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4