We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 21/5
20:00
About
Nestled between Quarantine Beach, North Head National Park and Q Station's gorgeous heritage buildings is the Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar. Definitely Manly's best kept secret! Carefully restored to maintain the aesthetic feel of it's previous life, the Boilerhouse offers a unique dining experience of delicious Australian cuisine using local produce. Venture out onto our terrace area for a more casual dining experience, or simply to enjoy the beautiful Sydney weather - either way this will be an experience not to forget! Since Q Station and the Boilerhouse are located on national park land, there is restricted driving on site to protect our wildlife and their natural habitats. Guests are required
PRICE RANGE
USD 4 - USD 28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Australian
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Free off-street parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
127
119
60
30
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
127
119
60
30
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barramundi lamb oysters q station shuttle bus house restaurant limited menu an entree desert patrons harbour beetroot servings
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner here while staying at the Q Station. It’s convenient to your accomodation as it’s with the Q Station grounds. Either get the Q Station Shuttle or walk down the steep staircase. Limited menu and wine list. Busy, crowded, hospitable staff. Oysters very good!...Entrees - Beetroot tart, average, smothered with rocket, next to no beetroot, prosciutto and fig average, largely radicchio lettuce which has a bitter taste. Very little fig or prosciutto. Mains - Snapper was ok!! Lamb back strap laughable, consisted of three small slices of lamb, probably no more than 25 grams each, sitting on broccoli. Although I did enjoy it. We decided against dessert. After wine and public holiday surcharge almost $400😳 Far too expensive for the quality of food and the experience. Avoid.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
qstationofficial, Marketing at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear WayneN795, Thank you for taking the time to review your dinner experience at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar. We are sorry to hear that you felt the value for money wasn't good enough. We are focusing on offering a few dishes at high quality instead...More

Reviewed 18 February 2022

We were 6 for dinner and it was perfect. Good company, good food, good wine and lovely ambience. Never sure what to expect when out for dinner and I can say truthfully that the Boilerhouse exceeded all expectations. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
qstationofficial, Marketing at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2022

Dear David, Thank you very much for dining at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar and for taking the time to review your visit here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience at our waterfront restaurant within Sydney Harbour National...More

Reviewed 28 November 2021

We stayed at the Q-Station and had dinner at the Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar. As soon as you enter - the service was professional and so friendly giving you a invitation of the most relaxed atmosphere ever. The selection from the menu was 2/3 courses...no matter what choice only problem was selection. The menu was fantastic what was being offered. The staff were friendly and ensure you were taken care of. The food arrived Taste buds flying everywhere such delight - food beautifully decorated on the plate, nice portions. Soft music in the background great for couples or groups. This place is hidden from world and is such a treasure to be shared.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 November 2021 via mobile

Awesome venue. Had an amazing time with friends. Staff were very friendly. The presentation and food was impeccable. Totally recommend. Will definitely be revisiting

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 November 2021 via mobile

We were relaxing at Qstation on Friday and Saturday night. We had dinner on both nights at the boiler house restaurant, greeted by Steve, the manager who looked after us extremely well. We also celebrated our friend, Del’s birthday. There was seven of us. We...ordered the lamb, beef, fish including the entrees and dessert which was prepared with love and care on both nights. The food, drink and service was carefully delivered. We enjoyed the kind,friendly and heartfelt hospitality. The standard of food, taste, drink and service experienced was outstanding. Hoorah to the team at the restaurant.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 June 2021

We had dinner at the Boilerhouse as part of our family get together at Q Station. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional, (Thank you Ruth!). If it's wet and windy, get the shuttle bus!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

Atmosphere, food, service - top rated We stayed at Q-Station to celebrate a special occasion and it was also the coldest Sydney night in over 35 years. The greeting, service and OMG the food Plus bonus of sharing travel tips with the restaurant manager. We...will be back and bring friendsMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Lachlan Woods, Marketing at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Dear Lucindam, Thank you so much for reviewing your visit to Boilerhouse - We are absolutely thrilled to hear you had such a great time and enjoyed the food. We look forward to welcoming you back here at Sydney Harbour National Park. Best wishes, Eva...More

Reviewed 2 June 2021

We ate here both nights during our stay at Q Station and enjoyed the food very much having the beetroot tart and crab linguini for entrée and snapper for main. The restaurant is down a long set of stairs from the accommodation but a minibus...is on call to pick up from your room and return if required. Whilst we really enjoyed our meal both nights I have only given 4 stars due to the following reasons; The dining area is so dark, it it hard to read the menus and see the dish when it arrives. The dining area is also quite cold. On the nights we were there one of the air-conditioners was not working. The other thing was that although the dining area is a reasonable size, the servers insisted on seating everyone in the same small area. On the two nights we attended there were only 10-12 other people there and the meals came out extremely fast with a 2-3 minute space between our entrée plates being picked up and main being received. We really enjoyed our food choices on the nights (caramelised lemon with the snapper was wonderful) and if the other details were attended too, the restaurant would certainly receive 5 stars.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Lachlan Woods, Marketing at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Dear Lachie, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your dinners at Boilerhouse Kitchen. We are delighted to hear that you loved the food. We are certainly passing on your feedback about the dining area being too dark and cold to the...More

Reviewed 29 March 2021

Great food great service, staff very friendly and the food is fantastic. I’ve read a lot of reviews about this place and as far as I can figure people just whine because they can. We are staying here for 2 nights and we will be...back for our second night.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
qstationofficial, Marketing at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2021

Dear FrequentFlier765654, Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time at Boilerhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Eva - Marketing Coordinator

Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

Stayed at Q station and had breakfast here. It was a horrible experience. Had the table booked, still had to wait for 15 mins to be seated. It took 30 minutes for the order to be taken and another 30 minutes for the breakfast to...be served, the food was average and wrong orders were served. Took us more than two hours to complete the breakfast !More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Lachlan Woods, Marketing at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Hi RahulGirotra, Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us. Your feedback has been passed onto our Restaurant manager to training and improvement purposes. We sincerely apologise for the wait time you experienced during a busy breakfast service. Kind regards, Lachlan Marketing...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Manly
A 40-minute ferry ride from Circular Quay will take
you to the famous northern beach of Manly. The beaches
here are perfect for learning to surf or spending the
day sun-tanning. The walk from Spit Bridge to Manly is
a great way to experience Sydney Harbour Bay and the
Australian bush land. Along the foreshore, there are
plenty of watering holes and wine bars with excellent
cuisine. There are plenty of kid-friendly restaurants
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
1,451 reviews
.01 km away
Nautica Holiday Apartments Manly
2 reviews
1.76 km away
The Sebel Manly Beach
1,025 reviews
1.83 km away
Quest Manly
1,075 reviews
1.86 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Manly 16ft Skiff Sailing Club
336 reviews
1.40 km away
Bella Vista Manly
266 reviews
.89 km away
The Roast Office
50 reviews
1.58 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
North Head Sanctuary
272 reviews
1.03 km away
North Head
387 reviews
.59 km away
Manly Quarantine Station
362 reviews
1.03 km away
Little Manly Beach
83 reviews
1.00 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ShaniLHatton
30 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Barry T | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar

Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5