We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monachty Restaurant

7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
+44 1545 570389
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good32%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“scampi” (3 reviews)
“pub grub” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2018

We stayed at this Inn, but also had dinner in the restaurant. Very good choices on the menu. My husband had the fish and chips. (loved it) I had the Veg. ravioli in garlic butter. Yummy. Great place to stay. Great place to eat. Great...More

Thank Mary Y
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you so much for such great review! it was a pleasure having you here and I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay and food, drinks with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 22 September 2018

I visited here on a works holiday in July and I’ve been raving to my husband since. We called in a couple of days ago and ordered the seafood sharing platter. Absolutely lovely. Everything was so fresh and tasted delicious and well worth the £9.99....More

Thank sarahjaycy1981
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Thank you so much for a great review! I am glad that you have enjoyed your seafood platter, I will make sure the chef and the staff member know about your great review. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 21 September 2018

We visited with friends and there were plenty of people sitting eating. When we went to order, this was at 20.25 on a Saturday night, we were told service had finished as the chef had gone home for the night.More

Thank Caggif
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback, we are serving every day till 9 o'clock, last Saturday we were serving till 9.15, not too sure who told you that! if you can please email us providing more info about the person who told you...More

Reviewed 20 September 2018

A delicious meal of fish & chips and ice cream. We did not have to wait long, and enjoyed our glasses of lager while waiting.

Thank colinjannaway
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future for more fish& chips !

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

2 of our party enjoyed their meal, however 2 of us did not. We had ordered the Jerk chicken and grilled pineapple salad. It looked appetising when the meals arrived, however the chicken was still very pink, to the point of being raw. We immediately...More

Thank Christine7273
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you for your review. A full investigation was taken place as we take things like this very seriously and I would like to thank you for emailing us personally to help us with that and that you was happy with the steps that where...More

Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

up having wasted £40 and our time. We will avoid this chain in future.   Awful. Would not eat here again We only decided to eat here because I had sampled the ravioli starter in Solva, and it was lovely so I wanted to have...More

1  Thank minky o
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you for your feedback, its only then we can move forward and improve. I'm terribly sorry that we didn't have the item in stock that you wanted and this will be discussed with our kitchen team so they can provide the information on to...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Whilst there’s quite a lot of choice for eating out in Aberaeron we visited the Monachty three times during our week long holiday as we liked it so much. Ok so the place could do with a lick of paint and freshening up a bit...More

Thank KorkyManchesterUK
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you very much for such great review! we always look after our valued guests and work hard to make sure they have fantastic experience, it is great to come and see us three times and I am sure you will come again, it was...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Very aggressive woman behind the bar. Think she runs the place. Toilets smell of old todge. They did have a good singer on though.

Thank paddyprice
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, I am sorry that you felt this way about a staff member, I will investigate the matter myself and it wont be taken lightly, please accept my apology. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We came because we saw it was dog friendly, so an ideal place to bring our dog. The food was standard pub food, not anything to rave about. It did take a long time to come out though. People who ordered after us were warned...More

Thank -_floral_pixie_-
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback, unfortunately this time of the year it can be busy, sorry you had to wait and you weren't warned about the wait, we will make sure next time to warn people that they might experience a delay. Hope...More

Reviewed 23 August 2018

We visited Aberaron in July 2018 on a very hot day with our two dogs. We had a wander around the harbour and then decided that we wanted a sit down with a cold drink and some lunch. We walked around the small town and...More

Thank Lizzey500
TheMonachtyHotel, Manager at Monachty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you very mush for such great review! I am glad that you have enjoyed your food and the view of the harbour, I will make sure that Naomi gets the recognition she deserves. Hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Castle Hotel
196 reviews
.07 km away
Plas Morfa Hotel
71 reviews
6.41 km away
Black Lion Hotel
267 reviews
7.52 km away
The Falcondale Hotel
802 reviews
17.48 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cellar
714 reviews
.01 km away
Zuko's
152 reviews
.03 km away
Harbourmaster
1,028 reviews
.22 km away
New Celtic Restaurant
554 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Llanerchaeron
419 reviews
1.96 km away
SeaMor Dolphin Watching Boat Trips
664 reviews
7.35 km away
Dolphin Tours RIB Safari
20 reviews
.37 km away
Epic Fishing Trips
189 reviews
7.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anna T
29 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from welshlad1966 | Reviewed this property |
The food is awful. It all tastes as if its all been through the same friers. Try somewhere else if I were you.
0
Votes
rosyred_13
12 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheMonachtyHotel | Property representative |
Our restaurant is open 12-3pm then 5-9pm Monday to Thursday and open 12-9pm on Friday and weekends. During our peak season the kitchen is open 12-9pm every day. Many thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Market Street, Aberaeron SA46 0AS, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Ceredigion  >  Aberaeron
  • Phone Number: +44 1545 570389
  • E-mail
Description
The Monachty is a traditional seaside pub and hotel, situated in the beautiful town of Aberaeron in Ceredigion. The Monachty features a brasserie restaurant with an extensive fresh menu, spacious beer garden and stunning views of the harbour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing