We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oblo

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18-20 Harbour Road, Eyemouth TD14 5HU, Scotland
+44 1890 752527
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 406: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Popped in for lunch a couple of days ago with my wife and yet again everything was excellent. All of the staff were very friendly, the atmosphere was nice and relaxing but the best thing was the food. I went for the cajun chicken burger and my wife a gluten free chicken & parma ham pizza. We both thoroughly enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Oblo is great. The food is great, can't fault your staff. However today emphasized a major issue that may deter me going back. For some reason you can still smoke on the balcony. I find this really very disgusting. I was there with family and my young baby having a nice meal that was quiet frankly spoilt by a group... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lianne D
Kerry W, Manager at Oblo, responded to this review

It with great sadness that we received your review, especially when you are clearly a very regular and valuable customer of ours. We have always striven to try to meet all our customer needs, as varied as they can be, wherever possible - something that is not always easy to achieve. When the smoking ban came in, we tried to... More 

Alva, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a hectic weekend, we decided to eat out for lunch. Oblo has to be my first choice in getting excellent value for money. Staff are very attentive and polite. The newly refurbished surroundings are beautiful and very relaxing. Cant wait til the lift is installed so I can take mum...so looking forward to that..

Helpful?
Thank N H
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

So very pleased and proud of your review and comments - such an excellent reflection on our management team and staff as a whole. Lovely feedback on our refurb too - thank you so much and fingers crossed our plans come to fruition! More 

Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came in for a drink and look at the menu to potentially eat. My pint had a large head on it and it tasted flat ,my partners glass of prosecco came out an opened bottle. It wasn't chilled enough nor fizzy enough. £8.70. We wont be staying to eat. Very disappointing and grossly overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Denis L
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

Disappointed in your review and that you didn't stay to dine with us and I wonder if you made comment to staff at the time as I know they would have been quick to rectify. I really am very sorry you felt put off so much as to not to stay on to eat. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our visit to Oblo Our visit to Oblo was ok they had a separate bit of the menu for senior citizens but they did not have a lot of choice for the older people

Helpful?
Thank kennyam4909
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't feel we had a lot of choice for you - a high percentage of our customers are older and we try to do our best with our menu to accommodate smaller appetites, offering smaller portions of many menu items in addition to our Pensioner's Menu, but I wonder if you asked about this? More 

DURHAM
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Luckily the weather in Feb was decent so we had nachos and sweet potatoes fries sitting outside in sun. Service was fast and friendly. Food was reasonably priced and tasty Would return

Helpful?
Thank RAINBOWDurham
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your food and found us to be good value and look forward to your return, thank you. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

Recently visited Oblo restaurant for valentines menu, the food was excellent, and the staff excellent, had the king prawns for starters, magnificent, main course chateaubriand the fillet steak was cooked to perfection,and the assiette desserts were to die for. Will certainly use this restaurant again and if you are visiting Eyemouth pop into the Oblo you won't be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank BRIAN L
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

We really appreciate your recommendation of our restaurant and your first class feedback about our food and staff. Thank you very, very much. More 

Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

Great place for a coffee or snack and even have a meal. Staff very attentive surroundings very comfortable. Great choice of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks available. Well worth a visit and reasonably priced .

Helpful?
1 Thank susan p
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

Really happy with your review and recommendation - thank you very, very much! More 

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Another visit to this fine establishment. After a recent refurbishment, this bistro/bar has not left behind its standard (high) in their service, menu and quality of food. Good on you.

Helpful?
Thank DavyLee
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

Couldn't be more pleased with your feedback which is highly valued and appreciated - thank you! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Everything was great except the red wine sauce. I mentioned it and they took £20 off the bill. That's the only reason it gets four stars. We are definitely going back and I will raise that to five stars if they get the sauce right next time. Staff friendly, attentive, and smart.

Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting and reviewing us here. Lovely feedback for our staff and sorry about the sauce - not sure what was wrong? The £20 reduction from your bill was because we offer 2 Steaks for £25 on Steak Night : ) Delighted to hear you'll be back - hopefully we'll achieve 5 Stars next time! More 

Travellers who viewed Oblo also viewed

 
Eyemouth, Borders
 

Been to Oblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 15 - USD 39
Cuisine
Italian, Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18-20 Harbour Road, Eyemouth TD14 5HU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Borders  >  Eyemouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1890 752527

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Oblo and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Lancashire, UK
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oblo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?