We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Melville Inn

Melville Nursery, Lasswade EH181AR, Scotland
+44 131 660 4925
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good33%
  • Average17%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“calamari” (10 reviews)
“pies” (5 reviews)
“pizza” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Melville Nursery, Lasswade EH181AR, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We have just enjoyed another Saturday night at the Melville, We are always given a warm welcome on arrival. Food and drinks are reasonably priced. For starters we enjoyed the Calamari and the Mushrooms. Mains were Steak Pie and Thai Fishcakes (choice of small(1) or...More

Thank jimlaw1946
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, Thank you for you wonderful review. We a glad to hear that you enjoy our menus variety and our range off Alcohol Free and regular drinks. We’d like to hear more about your latest visit with us at we.tellus@vintageinn.co.uk and get yourself a treat...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Whilst staying in the area and visiting the garden centre we decided to check out the pub what a lovely place to enjoy a drinks break With olde worldly charm and friendly service this makes a good place to visit

Thank Pat J
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Pat Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you liked the warm charm our pub has to offer. You feedback has been given to our team who are all delighted you enjoyed your visit. Kind Regards Chris Team Leader

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for dinner here . After asking for a quiet corner the staff lead me to not one, but three different areas for me to choose from. After settling down the staff were polite and attentive. Food was lovely and hot. I especially enjoyed the...More

Thank AVBode
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your outstanding review! We are glad you enjoyed your Duck Supper with is one of our popular specials. We would like to hear more about your experience at www.tellis@vintageinn.com to earn yourself a treat for your next visit. Kind Regards Chris Team...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

The waiters were awful, the guy who took our order didn't say hello or even look at us when taking our order, he looked extremely depressed in his job. We ordered water for the table, it didn't come, he gave my friend the wrong cider,...More

Thank 1991ks
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

1991ks Thank you for leaving us your review. Your feedback has been given to our team how have taken It on board. We hope this has tout you off visiting us again. Kind Regards Chris Team Leader

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had dinner tonight and would definitely not return. The service was shocking from the start. We ordered drinks to and we had to return one of the drinks because the glass was dirty. The waitress did not write our meal order which resulted in...More

Thank Sophia P
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sophia, Sorry to hear about your latest visit with us. Your feedback has been passed on and end hope this experience will not put you off visiting again in the future. Kind Regards Chris Team Leader

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Had lunch today with a few friends great choice on the menu. Service was fantastic and quick. All the staff where helpful and attentive definitely will be back. Keep up the great work guys!!!

Thank poppers91
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Poppers Thank you for your review! We hope your next visit with us will be even better. Kind Regards Chris Team Leader

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Good choice on the menu. Wagu burger was delicious! My partners hunters chicken was a bit on the dry side Unfortunately the service was ridiculously slowMore

Thank millymollymandy2612
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Millymollymandy2612 Thank you for leaving us your review. Sorry to hear that your visit with us was not a 5 star experience for you and your partner. Your feedback has been given to our staff and hope you next visit with us will be worth...More

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed the sharing platter and some very reasonably priced presecco. Thanks to our waiter Chris, who couldn't have been more helpful.

Thank Stacey W
Reviewed 15 September 2017

A group of us met to celebrate an 80th birthday. We had a lovely room and setting and the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The place itself was very nice as well with a reasonable selection of drinks. Coming straight from work I...More

Thank Kendall R
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Kendall Sorry to hear that you visit with us wasn't a five star experience. Your feed back has been given to our team, who have taken it on board. The Lamb Rump is a new dish that we serve and our team are trained to...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Visited especially for a Sunday roast with my girlfriend as I had once had an amazing roast a here a couple of years ago, but we were SO disappointed. It was all cold, and the meat was tough, absolutely no love gone into the cooking...More

Thank AliceMcK17
General Manager A, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Alice Thank you for leaving your review. Sorry to hear that your visit with us on this occasion was disappointing. Your feed back has been given to our chefs and can assure that every roast is make to a high standard. We hope this experience...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sheriffhall Cafe
156 reviews
.83 km away
The Old Colliery
406 reviews
1.18 km away
Elginhaugh Farm
685 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edinburgh Butterfly & Insect World
348 reviews
.10 km away
Forresters Arms
8 reviews
3.66 km away
Dalhousie Castle Falconry
217 reviews
4.03 km away
Saltire Soccer Centre
28 reviews
4.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
teddybears1
27 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Happy_Holidaymaker51 | Reviewed this property |
website is taking bookings for meals from 12.30 till 22.30 on new years day. hogmanay may be fully booked.
1
Vote
cyprus992
29 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ashleyc1985 | Property representative |
Hi . I am very dorry this is so late but yes we do - hopefully you could join us this year :-)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 33
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Melville Nursery, Lasswade EH181AR, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Midlothian  >  Lasswade
  • Phone Number: +44 131 660 4925
Description
The Melville Inn in Lasswade is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing