We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Melville Inn

Melville Nursery, Lasswade EH181AR, Scotland
+44 131 660 4925
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good34%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“calamari” (13 reviews)
“pies” (6 reviews)
“steak” (27 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Melville Nursery, Lasswade EH181AR, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and two friends visited last week. We were unimpressed by our waitress who was not warm or welcoming at all. We were in for around 2 hours and we are yet to see her raise a smile. Firstly I was surprised to be informed...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nikki R
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Nikki R, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My daughter and I were checking out the Christmas Shop in the garden centre next door and she suggested visiting the Melville Inn for lunch. I was hesitant as my last experience of dining here wasn't good and I'd said I wouldn't return but we...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank JaneFairnie
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To be fair we walked in and it’s a lovely atmosphere. We absolutely loved the starters. The main course was cold, with hairs. Large mixed grill wouldn’t fill my son. Sausage under cooked. No enough meat in our table had to share. Front house staff...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank sburckett
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Sburckett, Thank you for the feedback, I have informed my kitchen team about these issues and they will be addressed in an appropriate matter. Our food is produced to a high standard and I can assure you this is not acceptable. I hope you will...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We occasionally visit Elginhaugh Farm but it was closed so we ventured to this nearby hostelry. We were made very welcome- the staff are exceptionally friendly and genuinely interested in their customers. The food was tasty and goodly in portion. Prices a little higher than...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Papacha53
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Papacha53, Thank you for the positive review. I am delighted that you had a good experience dinning with us and hopefully on your next return we can aim for that 5* service. Regards, Emma

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a Sunday with friends. Ordered the roast turkey. When it arrived the meal was cold. They took it away and brought another "freshly plated" meal. This was also cold. Decided not have anything to replace it. Wouldn't go backMore

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Jasi40
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Jasi40, I can only apologise about the quality of the food you were given. We appreciate all feedback so we can improve on these matters and I have brought this to the kitchens attention. I hope you will try us again so we can show...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself, my mum, fiancé and bestfriend came here after having a lovely morning out and it was awful from start to finish. When we first arrived we were greeted by two girls who were very grumpy and did not smile once. When we sat down...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Hannah S
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hannah S, Thank you for the feedback, I have brought this to my teams attention and this will be dealt with in an appropriate manner. We can improve on these things and I hope you will come back and try us again in the near...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a late booking for my Birthday. Table of 8. We had a ball, staff were really attentive especially "Gemma with a G". She earned every bit of the 5 star rating. Well 100% be back! Cheers guy

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dragodrevee
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dragodrevee, Thank you for the positive review. I will pass your kind comments over to Jemma, we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Emma

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant was very quiet when I arrived which meant I was served quickly, this was great as I didn't have much time to spend. I order a pizza which came piping hot with a good amount of topping. Staff were friendly and attentive without...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Hets2013
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the positive review, We look forward to your return! Team Melville.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited to see what food was like maybe booking Christmas lunch. Mushrooms were grim, onion rings were deep fried, batter was non existant, pizza was under cooked and doughy.we won't be booking Christmas nor will we be back. BTW if you go don't sit...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank sparky19542015
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at The Melville Inn, but will take this opportunity to improve. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details about this; please reach out to us at your earliest...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Been here a few times usually quite nice. BUT. Disappointed waited around an hour before being told that they were short staffed and struggling to keep up. Why couldn’t they say that as we where being seated. Rather than waste our afternoon. Eventually got up...More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Davymc88
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Melville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Davymc88, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Give me a call on 01316604925 Regards David Mc

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Melville Castle Hotel
1,091 reviews
.50 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
372 reviews
.92 km away
The County Hotel
146 reviews
1.93 km away
Dalhousie Castle
1,657 reviews
4.04 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sheriffhall Cafe
175 reviews
.83 km away
The Old Colliery
440 reviews
1.18 km away
Elginhaugh Farm, Dining & Carvery
893 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edinburgh Butterfly & Insect World
394 reviews
.08 km away
Dalhousie Castle Falconry
257 reviews
2.65 km away
Forresters Arms
9 reviews
3.66 km away
Kings Acre Golf Course
32 reviews
1.79 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
teddybears1
27 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Happy_Holidaymaker51 | Reviewed this property |
website is taking bookings for meals from 12.30 till 22.30 on new years day. hogmanay may be fully booked.
1
Vote
cyprus992
29 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ashleyc1985 | Property representative |
Hi . I am very dorry this is so late but yes we do - hopefully you could join us this year :-)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Melville Nursery, Lasswade EH181AR, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Midlothian  >  Lasswade
  • Phone Number: +44 131 660 4925
Description
The Melville Inn in Lasswade is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing