We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Room with a View

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Room with A View, Seafood Restaurant situated within the Forth View Hotel in the coastal village Aberdour, Fife. Enjoy succulent scallops, wholesome halibut & Fresh Langoustines and many more delicious seasonal seafood dishes cooked to exquisite perfection. Whilst also enjoying the small but special menu you can enjoy the spectacular views of Edinburgh and the river Forth whilst listening to local Classical Guitar player Nick Rees on the sound system (who also plays live on occasion). Every seat offers a view of Edinburgh or Aberdour Harbour or climbers on the Hawkcraig Cliffs. On a sunny day it is nice to enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the garden area or eat Al fresco
PRICE RANGE
USD 7 - USD 18
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Scottish
FEATURES
Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
416
71
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
416
71
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkfish seafood sea bass amuse bouche crevettes chocolate torte quails egg roe bisque tuna main course steep hill train station car park lovely meal palate cleanser cooked to perfection
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

Visiting Aberdour Castle for the morning and happened across this gem as we looked for somewhere for a quick lunch. One look at the menu put the taste buds into overdrive and we weren’t disappointed. Food and service of the highest quality. If you like...fish, cooked to perfection, with a host of complementary flavours and brilliant scenery, then this is for you. Chef(s) = genius!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a day out, stunning setting, incredible food and staff who have the most incredible approach to service Can't recommend this place any more, it's such a treat. Sharing hamper to start was a little piece of heaven and then a lovely sesame tuna and...spicy carrot main. Absolutely beautiful. Hannah, the hostess and business owner is just the most beautiful person you will have the pleasure to meet. Can't wait to see you guys again soon 💓 ❤ 💗More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I contemplated writing a review because this is the kind of special hidden gem you want to keep secret so the masses don't destroy it. I have lived in Fife for 9 years and my friend who joined me has lived his entire life in...Scotland. Both of us never heard of this place. I decided to leave a review anyway because I believe the owners to be very humble and want to keep this place special. With 24 seating they could easily monopolise and add more especially outdoors but that would spoil the experience. They also could advertise on all the typical tourist places but they haven't. Living in St Andrews where all the restaurants crumble to tourism I found this to be very refreshing. It says a lot about the owners and that they want to protect such a special place. Hannah was very kind and accommodating to my requests. We had lunch here but what I really mean is we had a food 'experience'. The chef has such amazing talent. Everything we had was cooked to perfection and bursting with flavor. You can taste the freshness of being locally sourced. We sample tried every starter that was on the menu. We had Surf and Turf for main. Chocolate Delice and Apple & Caramel Mille Feuille. Also to note-the staff were attentive and friendly. I can't wait to go back. We spent just over £150 for the two of us but that is because we ordered so much. The prices are extremely reasonable we could have just had fish and chips for £14. The price does not matter at a place like this because the experience is priceless. My friend described it best- "This place is like my Birthday and Christmas all in one".More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was back at Room with a View for the first time in a few years and continue to be blown away by the excellent food and amazing customer service. I dined with a large party and everything our party ordered was delicious. The staff were...very attentive and the views were just as spectacular as I remembered!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 September 2021 via mobile

Fantastic location just by waters edge. Can sit outdoors in a pod or indoors. Nice seafood - friendly service. Restaurant provide a pick up service from locations such as train station.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

What a lovely memorable place. The customer service was excellent and the attention to detail was superb. The hamper starter for two was delicious too and I would go back just for that. We opted for the outside pods which were beautiful and cosy. Thanks...so much all sorry for being a bit late stupid sat nav got confused.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

We were a demanding family of 8 but our every whim was attended to efficiently and pleasantly. The staff were extremely friendly yet remained professional at all times. The food was varied, delicious and plentiful. The hake was my personal favourite; the butter and shrimp...sauce was so complimentary. Thanks again to Hannah, Tim and the team for looking after us so well, we felt so special.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 21 August 2021

Had a lovely day out in this area and had prebooked this restaurant prior to attending. Would advise parking your car in the car park at the top rather than taking your car down to the hotel! Hotel set in a lovely position overlooking the...forth. WE enjoy eating fish and can only say that the meal was excellent. WOuld highly recommend.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 20 August 2021

This was our first time at Room With A View and can honestly say that it exceeded our expectations in every regard from welcome to departure. Restaurant quite busy but service nigh on perfect and the staff very approachable and down to earth. Pretentiousness entirely...absent. Portion sizes good & house red excellent. We rounded off our visit with a drink in the garden: take your camera!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

We visit each year for our wedding anniversary and we have never been disappointed with the food or service until our visit yesterday. The restaurant was very busy with a few bigger groups and we were just forgotten about. Nobody came to check if we...needed any more drinks or if the food was ok. Although they kept coming to check on the other tables. Had to keep trying to get the waiting staffs attention to order more drinks and the last drink my husband ordered never arrived, Which they did apologise for but it just felt like they were too busy and service was a bit chaotic. The food is normally amazing but yesterday I was just ok. The little bread rolls are always so delicious and warm. The lobster bisque was very delicious and was the highlight of the hamper starter. The lobster main was very disappointing, very little lobster meat, a few pieces of lettuce on the plate with some chips. Overall we just were not impressed with our visit yesterday which is such a shame because it’s normally 1st class.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Hannah N, Owner at Room with a View, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

We are so sorry you were disappointed with your meal and you felt the need to put on TripAdvisor rather than letting us know on the day as you may have been surprised of the outcome. If you had allowed there was also a special...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Forth View Hotel
62 reviews
.04 km away
Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant
645 reviews
.93 km away
The Woodside Hotel
110 reviews
1.00 km away
Kingswood Hotel
410 reviews
5.48 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
McTaggart's
325 reviews
.88 km away
Sands
491 reviews
.49 km away
The Cafe at Number 16
91 reviews
.84 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aberdour Castle and Gardens
270 reviews
.79 km away
Black Sands
44 reviews
.51 km away
Aberdour Harbour
32 reviews
.50 km away
Aberdour Golf Club
54 reviews
.68 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jmsneddon123
30 September 2020|
Answer
Response from ScotlandFoodieno1 | Property representative |
At present there are a few steps into main entrance, we are looking into getting ramps in place. There is disabled toilet on ground floor where restaurant is. Many thanks Hannah
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Room with a View

Yes, Room with a View is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Room with a View is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5