We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2016, 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Bickleigh Mill Bistro, Bar & Gift Shop is set in an 18th Century Mill, with working water wheel. Situated adjacent to the beautiful Exe Valley Way. Enjoy your visit in our beautiful riverside surroundings, where you can shop, dine and relax. Set in the Old Mill House, our restaurant has such a warm and traditional atmosphere that it makes you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. Log fires during the winter months and views of the waterside gardens and mill wheel add something special to any occasion. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for two, a celebratory party for friends and family or a simple snack lunch, our menu will fit the bill. Open seven days a week, serving lunch everyday
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, International, British
FEATURES
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
124
87
31
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
124
87
31
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pavlova bread scones soup panini pasta duck pudding potatoes steak cake gift shop old mill three floors water mill unusual gifts working water wheel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were pleasantly surprised at the choice and the quality of the food. Staff were very helpful. Ambience good. Very busy but a lot of space. Parking good.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank yvette a
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear yvette a, Thank you so much for taking the time to congratulate us on a job well done. I'm really pleased that you felt you received the service, quality and standards that you expected. The team here work their hardest to ensure that these...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great Sunday Lunch, really tender beef every time, good food portions and friendly staff along with a good atmosphere.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JamesH004
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear jameshT3882TP, We do pride ourselves on Sunday lunch, and thank you for your compliments. The reason there is a good atmosphere is that there are customers like yourselves that really enjoy what we do! Our Rib of Beef is carved fresh to order off...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited The Bickleigh Mill for lunch three times now and the food is fantastic. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We always recommend friends and family to eat there.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jeremy_ymerej
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jeremy_ymerej, Thank you very much for making the effort to write us a rave review. We take all feedback seriously, and the hard working and dedicated staff do appreciate a pat on the back for doing a superb job. We do pride ourselves on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my two teenage daughters went here for the first time for our annual pre Xmas high tea treat. We were seated straight away. The waitresses were friendly and very professional. The place was clean and relaxing. Our food was perfect, beautiful sandwiches with...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank NicolaP2654
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear NicolaP2654, Thank you very much for spending the time to write such a lovely review. We do a fantastic High Tea, and I'm glad you think so to. We offer High Tea all year round, and I'm happy that you chose to spend your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of us went for a Christmas meal. The service was OK and wines reasonably priced. But don't bother going unless you like your food dry and over cooked.More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank CSP63
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear CSP63, I am very concerned that you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us at Bickleigh Mill. We have had so many compliments about our Christmas Fayre and what we offered over the Christmas period, I'm sorry that you were not satisfied on the...More

Reviewed 14 December 2018

I love this time of year as the shop turns in to a wonderland of gifts for my family! As I stepped in to the restaurant I could see they were very busy but luckily the waitress found me a table in my favourite area...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank emdicks23
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear emdicks23, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm glad that we were able to provide you with the service and the brilliant food that you expected. The change in our menu has gone down very well with our regular customers, and also...More

Reviewed 13 December 2018

We've been to BM Restaurant several times & always had good food & service, but this time we were disappointed about several things. We booked a table for 7 people several weeks ago. On arrival we were shown to a table in the lower part...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Linda H
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Linda H, I remember serving you on that particular day. I'm glad that we were able to reseat you as the table layout didn't match yours, or our expectations. I do admit we do not hold enough menus in stock. It is very rare...More

Reviewed 9 November 2018

The restaurant is part of the Abbey. It is clean and has a very good atmosphere. Food is tasty and the staff are helpful.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jimbo1527
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear Jimbo1527, As always we thank you for your review. I do feel that this review is for the wrong establishment, as we are unaware of any Abbey in the local vicinity. We would like to make sure that any kudos goes to the right...More

Reviewed 7 November 2018

Had the three local sausage and mash and felt very full afterwards it was really tasty and my wife says they do the crumbliest shortbread

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Paul M
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear Paul M, Thank you very much for your response. We look forward to seeing you again so that you can sample some more of our culinary delights in the near future. Ben Foster - Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 2 November 2018

Food was cold, customer service poor with no apologies. Very disappointing. We live locally but probably won't return.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Freedom03322082149
Kim S, Owner at Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Really sorry to read your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you .It would really help us get to the bottom of the problem and provide the retraining to minimise the risk of this happening again. Would like to apologise personally...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bickleigh Mill Bistro Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing