We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merchant House Brasserie - CLOSED

Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
+44 1534 510069
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good30%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (8 reviews)
“poached eggs” (5 reviews)
“soup” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
International, European, British, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
All Details
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2017

We had all three courses here, really amazing steak dinner, lovely atmosphere, we dined early evening as we were going onto another do, great selection of gin!!More

Thank bernadettel312
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear bernadettel312, First and foremost thank you very much for your excellent review and my apologies for the delay in my reply! We're thrilled that you were happy with your meal with us and that you enjoyed our new Gin selection :). Thank you also...More

Reviewed 12 November 2017

Six of us went to the Merchant House Brasserie for dinner last night, the final night of the Tennerfest. The restaurant was full and we had an enjoyable evening. Three courses for £17.50p was good value and that included rump steak. For starters, most of...More

Thank Bob1949
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Bob1494, Firstly thank you very much indeed for your excellent review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Tennerfest menu but my apologies for the 1 tough steak. With regards to the cut, as a rump cut it is quite tough (yet...More

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We ate here on the tennerfest menu and had a few upgrades. The whole meal was fantastic from start to end. Iv never had so many prawns on a prawn cocktail before. They had the right amount of sauce on and lovely and fresh. I...More

Thank Lisa2610Lincoln
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Lisa2610Lincoln, First and foremost thank you very much for your excellent review and my apologies for the delay in my reply! We've been understandably extremely busy with Tennerfest and now Christmas. It will be 2018 by the time we realise it! We're absolutely thrilled...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

We appreciate that a Brasserie depends on serving meals but we were in a hurry site seeing and just wanted a glass of wine and a soup. We asked a waiter would this be OK and reply was no problem. The fun came when we...More

Thank konamerlo
Dolan_Group, Owner at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Konamerlo, Thank you very much for your review. Firstly thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the food, the wine and the ambiance. With regards to the bread we make it fresh in house and we try and have fun with the...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Had lunch there today, Tuesday 31st October. Excellent service. The food was delicious, falafel burger followed by treacle tart.More

1  Thank Naomi R
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Naomi R, Thank you very much indeed for your excellent review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us! I must admit I haven't tried the falafel burger yet but I will probably try one today! When you're next on island...More

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We discovered this restaurant on our last evening in Jersey. I wish we had found it earlier. Had a really good evening with great, friendly service from all.More

Thank Mark B
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Mark B, Thank you very much indeed for your excellent review. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your meal and I wish you had found us earlier too! :) When you're next on the island be sure to pop by and we'll offer up...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Dined on the Tennerfest menu and it was truly outstanding. Quality food, ambient setting and attentive staff. All 3 courses for £17.50 a head. What more could you want? Will be back again soon.More

Thank TracyStAgnes
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear TracyStAgnes, Firstly thank you very much indeed for your excellent review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and found the food setting and service to your liking! The team have also heard you comments and are very grateful!...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Here in Jersey, Tennerfest is upon us. Scattered across the island, at this time of year, restaurants accept the challenge to offer their customers seasonal produce with new menu's at special rates to entice them in. And it works. At the Merchant House Brasserie, I...More

Thank rodbryans2015
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear rodbryans2015, First and foremost thank you very much for your excellent review. We're thrilled that you were happy with your meal with us. Rest assured we've passed on your kind comments to the team who are very grateful indeed. I'm also thrilled to hear...More

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We went along on Thursday evening around 6pm but they were fully booked inside the restaurant, asking if we could sit outside was a great move for us, they seated us just outside the main door in a round table for 6 of us, complete...More

Thank ModernMillie11
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear ModernMillie11, Firstly thank you very much indeed for such an excellent review. We're absolutely thrilled to hear that we could fit you in despite being so busy and of course that you were able to make use of the heaters and blankets! Thank you...More

Reviewed 28 September 2017

The yard next to the Jersey Museum is a very popular chill out place especially during after work hours. Nice to start your dinner there and change after a Pimm's or another cocktail to the restaurant. There you have the choice to to sit in-...More

Thank enricoBeiWien
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear enricoBeiWien, Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to post your great review of the Merchant House Brasserie. We're thrilled that you liked our walled terrace and our Pimms! Unfortunately the weather has become a little autumnal of late so sounds like...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Jersey
Royal Yacht Hotel
2,393 reviews
.03 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
1,627 reviews
.10 km away
The Club Hotel & Spa
898 reviews
.40 km away
Banjo
61 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sirocco
205 reviews
.02 km away
Unawatuna
279 reviews
.05 km away
The Lamplighter
223 reviews
.07 km away
Quayside Grill & Bistro
993 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
16 New Street
244 reviews
.32 km away
Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery
762 reviews
.20 km away
Jersey Museum and Visitor Centre
880 reviews
.03 km away
Le Petit Train
747 reviews
.10 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
USD 7 - USD 35
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Jersey  >  St Helier
  • Phone Number: +44 1534 510069
  • E-mail
Description
In the heart of town you'll find our bustling restaurant and terrace bar: delicious food to warm your heart and delight your palate, from Irish and British meats to local seafood cooked to order. In the historic Weighbridge area, next to the Jersey Museum, you’ll find one of the most popular restaurants in St Helier. Locals affectionately refer to the spot as the 'Museum Brasserie'; a cosy retreat with vibrant food in a lively atmosphere. Here business people discuss the markets over lunch and in the summer the Terrace Bar lights up and turns into a hot spot where people chill out with good tunes with friends. Dinner is either a set menu or a la carte. Fusions of fish and Eastern spices make the food exciting and delicious. This is the place to go for good hearty food with some unexpected twists. The desserts are to die for!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing