We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Featured as one of Australia's top seafood restaurants by Australian Good Food Guide. Offering the freshest oysters from our own Wheeler's Oyster Farm - for takeaway oyster sales (closed or opened) as well as dining. Situated in a leafy coastal bush setting, Wheeler's Seafood Restaurant is open for lunch and dinner Monday - Saturday and Sunday lunch. We offer contemporary Australian cuisine catering for seafood lovers as well as vegetarian and gluten intolerant guests. Wheeler's Oyster Bar is open 12 til late Monday - Saturday and Sunday lunch. Wheeler's Seafood Takeaway is open 10am - 6pm everyday. Menus can be viewed and bookings made via our website.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveller rating
562
216
75
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
562
216
75
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters tiger prawns creme brûlée fresh seafood affogato salad steak kingfish linguine salmon pork belly fries sapphire coast golf club wine list great restaurant special occasion
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wheelers was recommended by our accommodation, so we thought a bit of fresh locally caught fish for lunch sounds great. My wife & I ordered 2 flathead fillets at $8.00 each & 2 prawn skewers at $2.50 each. The prawn skewers are in fact a...prawn cutlet, very deceiving. The fish was more like a cocktail than a fillet. Will not ever go back.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
jacquimsmith, Owner at Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jason, Thank you for visiting Wheeler's Takeaway and for trying some of our local produce. Our flathead is caught off Eden and is fresh, and therein variable. I apologise that your serving size was not adequate and hope that you enjoyed the taste and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect restaurant loved the location; the staff was friendly, and the food was well cooked. I would love local oysters, but with the weather, maybe next time. Will be back soonMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
jacquimsmith, Owner at Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much, JS! I am so glad that you enjoyed it. Good news - our oysters are back on the Menu, so with a bit of luck, when you are visiting next, we will be able to offer you a dozen or two!...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We dined in late February on a recommendation from locals. Bitterly disappointed with service and food. The service was disjointed with breads arriving at the same time as the entree. Pre dinner drinks arrived even later and only after we enquired about them. Soon to...be followed by the accompanying wine we pre ordered. The selections of a seafood main were extremely limited given this is a seafood restaurant. Settled for the fish and chips as the better option. Look, this restaurant is stylish and expensive with all the potential but lacking in the basics. We won’t be back until I see regular positive reviews. $190 for a two course meal with wine better spent elsewhere.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
jacquimsmith, Owner at Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Mandy and Tony, Thank you for your honest review, and my apologies that your experience didn't meet your expectations. We have been 'loved to death' over the past 6 months - so much demand, so few staff to manage it. You will be pleased...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Delicious food and impeccable service. A big thank you to our waiter Gordon for making our visit extra special. Wonderful service and great atmosphere. Thank you.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
jacquimsmith, Owner at Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

You're very welcome, J O. Thank you for taking the time to write, and for acknowledging Gordon's wonderful service... as well as the food, of course! We really appreciate it, and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jacqui

Reviewed 1 week ago

As long time regular visitors to Merimbula ( over 45 years) and having dined at Wheelers at least once a year, we were extremely disappointed by their service and food this year. Celebrating our 31st wedding anniversary, we thought we’d book somewhere a bit more...‘special’ at least by Merimbula standards. Never again, they have not only lost our custom, but our friends with us & locals we know and have spoken to since dining their yesterday. To give you some background- there were only 2 other diners when we arrived at 6pm, they also ‘tout’ themselves as an Oyster/ seafood specialty restaurant. All 7 of us were keen to have the seafood platter, which incidentally we have had before with this modification and at $170 dollars per platter, needed to be worthwhile. As 4 of us do not like oysters natural, we requested from our waiter ( who was obnoxious & rude, had no customer service skills whatsoever!) my husband requested the oysters kilpatrick. Never been a problem in the past 15 years we have been dining there. First our waiter said ‘no sorry we are very limited by oysters’ to which our response was (twice for clarification) no we don’t want more, simply that they are cooked. His response was - no we can’t do that, we only have 2 chefs and lots of people in....really, we were the only ones, aside from two others, in the restaurant. He wasn’t even willing to check. Poor service and form! Then our platters arrived with absolutely no condiments, mussels with dishwashing sauce and small bugs & 1/2 a small oyster. So our advice - take your money elsewhere for better service, quality & quantity. Thank you for spoiling our anniversary dinner!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
jacquimsmith, Owner at Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Stephanie and Alan, First of all, happy anniversary! Congratulations on reaching 31 years, and thank you for choosing Wheeler's to celebrate this special occasion. It's such a shame that a positive has turned into such a negative, as we had not been serving oysters...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were disappointed after our visit having heard rave reviews. My hubby and I ordered entrees each and a main, within 10 minutes the main meals came out (first) my hubby ordered steak - we told the waiter that we had actually ordered entrees and...his reply was "oh I think the ticket all went through together, is there a problem with that"? as it was so busy we just said okay and we had 4 x meals on the table (not idea) I ordered the bugs for a main which was over $40 and was very disappointed as some were warm the other cold and had absolutely no flavour - a lot of fancy pomp on the plate with no substance (i suspect frozen bugs) My hubby said his steak wasn't the best either (rated the RSL much better) my entree the prawns were quite nice (better than the bugs) and hubby liked the lamb entree also All in all this place was a casual place trying to be a 5 star restaurant which it clearly doesn't pull off. should stick to the flavours of the food and not the appearanceMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
jacquimsmith, Owner at Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Corrina, Thank you for taking the time to write and my sincere apologies that your experience was not a good one. Trust me, we certainly don't make a habit of serving entrees and mains at the same time, and I'm so sorry that this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, wow, wow! I just had the most amazing experience here. The hostess was lovely and immediately gave us a table despite us being 20 minutes early then our assigned waitress took over. A super lovely lady who made nice conversation with us. We had...the lime prawns as our appetisers and oh my goodness, a flavour bomb! So beautiful cooked as well. Mains we both had the fish of the day which was snapper. The fish was unbelievably good, I didn’t want it to end! Paired with the salad, chips and tartare sauce that came along with it, just heaven. The dessert menu looked inviting but both of us were pleasantly full and decided to leave that for next time. 100% worth driving from Canberra for!!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately the recent floods have affected the purchase of Oysters however I was fortunate enough to experience the delicious prawns from Wheeler's. The on site seafood sauce is delicious as well. Will have to come back at some point to experience the Oyster Bar outside...as I hear it is fantasticMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This time in Pambula we tried all 3 options here. 1. Takeaway Fish and Chips - very well done 2. Takeaway prawns and fish for a Paella cooked in our apartment 3. Lunch in the restaurant The restaurant was just as good as the last...time we went here. Great seafood cooked and presented well. Service matching the food.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I had a terrific evening here. Food was great, but the service was just impeccable - warm, friendly and attentive. Only point was its alfresco style means you need to be prepared for a cooler night depending on where you are sitting.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Fairway Motor Inn Merimbula
150 reviews
.18 km away
Black Dolphin Resort Motel
98 reviews
1.71 km away
Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
62 reviews
1.73 km away
Colonial Motor Inn
62 reviews
1.80 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Broken Oar Bar & Grill
50 reviews
1.36 km away
Wild Rye's
227 reviews
1.59 km away
Top Pub
138 reviews
1.58 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pambula Beach
38 reviews
2.39 km away
The Merimbula Boardwalk
456 reviews
3.30 km away
Longstocking Brewery
97 reviews
2.14 km away
Coastlife Adventures
30 reviews
4.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Danielle W
24 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from kaye w | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they are open 7 days for lunch
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar

  • Yes, Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar offers delivery services.

  • Wheelers Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4.5