We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$9 - AU$30
CUISINES
Pub, Bar, Australian
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
View all details
features, about
Reviews (45)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
14
22
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
14
22
3
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Decent size meals and pet friendly back deck. We enjoyed the prime rib and spicy ribs. We will definitely be back on our next trip south..

Date of visit: January 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We enjoyed the schnitzel night special. Good salad and nicely cooked chicken schnitzel and chips. Staff were friendly, food was cheap and service was quick.

Date of visit: April 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2017

In January took visitors there to try the $12 counter lunch. we all had different dishes, & everyone said theirs was excellent. My fish nearly covered the plate & was delicious. Great chips! Really excellent value . Great beer too.

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The girl on the till was helpful and friendly but seemed to be struggling to keep up with customers while we were there. Food was passable but a neighboring table had to take back a dish with a fly in it. Not enough outdoor seating...and no indoor airconditioning. If visiting Pambula I would recommend u visit the Top Pub instead.More

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
royalwillow17, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Willows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

The young lady on the till was in training and people were advised of this upon arrival (we all need to start somewhere in a new job) she did a great job keeping up on here first day, as for the table (that was NOT...More

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to this pub for years always providing good meals. Now they charge 15% surcharge on Sunday's. We had 7 people attend. 2 meals come out. About 15mins later 4 meals come. Then we had to ask for the last meal. All...meals were different and everyone was disappointed. Do yourself a favour and go to the top pub. Much better service and food.More

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
royalwillow17, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Willows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

we are sorry that you were not happen, we have since removed the surcharge on Sunday's the manager the introduced that has long since gone and along with the silly Sunday surcharge, as for the meals all coming out separate they were all ordered at...More

Reviewed 1 October 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at this hotel - my creamy garlic prawns were beautifully presented and very generous entree serving. And we had the first of those big glasses of wine - but not the last! Planning to return on out next trip south -...next time with friends.More

Date of visit: September 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Spent a relaxing Saturday at the Pub and enjoyed a few beers and had a few bets also topped of with an enjoyable lunch ( chicken schnitzel with salad ) this was done a little differently with a more thicker crumbs which mate it very...nice. The young lass that was working was friendly and talkative which made the day more enjoyable and remember this is the pub at the bottom of the main street.More

Date of visit: September 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We visited this hotel for lunch - they have a specials board. We had crumbed snapper which was excellent with chips and salad. Also included in the price is a schooner of beer or a glass of wine/soft drink - all for the price of...$15,50More

Date of visit: September 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely place and very family friendly but don't think I would go back. Very poor service. No mashed potatoes on steak night, other orders were wrong and food was generally disappointing. Also very basic menu but this would be okay if the food was of...better quality.More

Date of visit: July 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
royalwillow17, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Willows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

We are sorry about your poor experience, we have since then changed chef's and the food that come our of our kitchen is amazing and our menu has changed also, we try our best to cater to everyone's needs, and our aim is to keep...More

Reviewed 9 July 2016

I had a narvellous meal of grilled snapper - table by the fire - very pleasant atmosphere. Only drawback was my choice of wine - the Cape Schank Pinot Grigio was not up to it 9 perhaps they should try and get the Houghtons Small...Batch 2015 Pinot Grigio - it is superb). So apart from my poor choice of wine - a great meal. I will definitely be back. Pambula has it all - in spades!!More

Date of visit: July 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Great pub food in a beautiful location. They had the fires on and it was a nice quite night. Service was good, I had fish and chips and couldn't complain except the chips had too much salt.

Date of visit: June 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2016

good food at ok prices interesting watching the work ethic bar staff doing restaurant and driving the transport home Jack of all trades!!

Date of visit: May 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Authentic locals pub. Nothing fancy run by locals for locals which is part of its charm. Very family friendly. Honest unpretentious meals. Parma was very good. Restaurant staff friendly - especially nice to see the chef pop out and apologize for running out of the...potato rosti.More

Date of visit: March 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

The pubs exterior is old, but don't be put off going in, the food was very nice. Great steak cooked perfect. My son had a really nice steak sandwich too. Would go again if I went to Pambula again ☺

Date of visit: January 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Food is ok .... but our night out was spoilt by a big boofhead who seemed to be trying to pick a fight or start one. HE is a dark haired larger gent. To our astonishment we found out this rude idiot was the owners...son. What a .... besides that not much to recommend this place. Prefer the other Pub, top pub in Pambula. Was just amazed at this guy.More

Date of visit: August 2015
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
royalwillow17, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Willows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Don't just a book by its cover, are you positive this gentlemen was the owners son? I recall removing a guy of this description from the hotel and sorry but he was NOT the owners son!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
64 reviews
.18 km away
Colonial Motor Inn
62 reviews
.26 km away
Black Dolphin Resort Motel
101 reviews
3.11 km away
Norfolk Pine Motel
159 reviews
5.06 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Wild Rye's
244 reviews
.08 km away
Oaklands Cafe
378 reviews
.58 km away
Wheeler's Seafood Restaurant & Cafe
1,033 reviews
1.56 km away
The Top Pub
152 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pambula Beach
40 reviews
3.27 km away
Captain Sponges Magical Oyster Tours
122 reviews
4.13 km away
Broadwater Oysters
33 reviews
4.32 km away
The Merimbula Boardwalk
482 reviews
4.38 km away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ROYAL WILLOWS HOTEL, Pambula - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Willows Hotel

Yes, Royal Willows Hotel offers takeaway services.

Royal Willows Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4