We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
334
111
48
27
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
334
111
48
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pavlova pate lamb chocolate cake scones prawns salad mt warning beautiful setting veggie garden wine list home grown long lunch own garden the gold coast special occasion fresh produce
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 8 August 2021

Food and atmosphere has reached a new level since new owners have taken over congrats! We will be back.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Ursula Thompson, Marketing at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Warren, thanks for the great feedback, we have some great plans for the future we look forward to your next visit

Reviewed 19 July 2021

What a great way to spend a winter Sunday . Excellent food, great wines, lovely building with gardens and perfect weather all the whole looking out at Wollumbin

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Ursula Thompson, Owner at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Hi Howard Porter, thank you for taking the time to review us and for the lovely comments , we will look forward to your next visit

Reviewed 7 July 2021

Chose Mavis’ Kitchen on the strength of many reviews and recommendations. We are fairly new to the area so are keen to find good restaurants. MK has an extra incentive for us as our fur baby is welcome, plus offering organically grown food is the...icing on the cake. However, none of this is a reason to charge prices equal to Sydney restaurants. Ok, if the food was exceptional, I could understand it, but it was not. My beef brisket was covered in bbq sauce which was overpowering plus I had to cut a heap of fat from it. On the plus side, there were plenty of vegetables which is hard to find when dining these days. Unfortunately, we will not be returning to MK. We don’t mind paying good money for good food but I’m afraid MK’s meals fall short.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Ursula Thompson, Marketing at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Hi Travelfreak, we appreciate your feedback and are very disappointed that you didn't like our 18-hour brisket. We take all feedback seriously, we will continually strive to be as great as our Sydney peers. Our menu is always changing and we are always growing, we...More

Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Beautiful location so peaceful and quiet. A great place to leave the bustle of work and the city behind. We stayed in the old dairy for two nights, enjoyed the most delicious lunch and in house dining. If you are looking for a country getaway...this is the place!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Ursula Thompson, Marketing at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

HI FNQ Aussies, thanks for staying with us and indulging in all things Mavis, we love it here too. We hope you will return soon as we have some great new offerings coming soon. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback...More

Reviewed 6 June 2021

I am envious when I read everyone else’s reviews of their wonderful experience at Mavis’s. No doubt Mavis’s is usually a great place for ‘a slow Sunday lunch’ (as someone put it) with great service and excellent food but our Sunday lunch started off too...slowly and the errors kept coming. I booked 1pm Sunday four weeks in advance and never once in the 3 or 4 email reminders was ‘Art in the Shed’ mentioned or that the place would be pandemonium but oh boy, it was all we heard about for the rest of the day as an excuse for errors. We arrived promptly at 1pm after a 4 hour drive. My husband waited 15 mins at the table while I took a trip to the over-patronised ladies loo. 15 mins after my return to the table we flagged a waitress and ordered the 3 courses, requesting that the first of the matching wines be brought now rather than with the food. When they arrived 20 mins later, our tongues were hanging out. Interestingly we received 2 sets of amuse bouche, either in error or to fill in the delays. 50 mins after ordering, our (no-cook) entrees hadn’t appeared even though the couple next to us had their received their mains, so I raised the alarm. 5mins later the manager appeared, she did apologise for the delay, we got the first ‘we’ve been smashed this weekend with 300 guests” speech and told the kitchen was now working on the entrees. OK, apology accepted but why can’t you just admit the kitchen had clearly lost our order. She also offered complimentary glasses of wine which was appreciated as by now we’d drunk the wine which was meant to go with the food - which finally showed up 10 mins later. Except in place of the pickled pomegranate there was pickled red cabbage, hardly the same. There was no mention of this when ordering or when the dish was served. Did they hope I wouldn’t notice? I get that food runs out but TELL people! When queried, there were no apologies for the substitution, no apologies for the subterfuge (which was more the issue), just the ‘smashed’ excuse and the size of the garden and being late in the day (sorry? a 1pm booking is late?) and blah, blah. Oh, and no price reduction even though they were substituting a significantly cheaper product. Otherwise the food and wine were enjoyable and I thought we were back on track until the mains arrived and hello, these are Moreton Bay Bugs, not lobster ! Well apparently so. Read the full description on the menu carefully and it does say (BUG) after AUSTRALIAN BAY LOBSTER. But seriously, why not just say Moreton Bay Bug on the menu? That’s what everyone else calls them! By now it was 3pm and we’d had enough. We cancelled dessert and paid our bill but we couldn’t get anyone interested when it came to expressing our disappointment and listing the litany of errors. The poor bloke at the till clearly wasn’t buying into it because all he had to say was “yes”, “yes”, “yes” and “smashed” which just added to our frustration and dissatisfaction. Why can’t businesses, restaurants in particular, own it and just say sorry instead of making (up) excuses? If Mavis’s had tried to, I would not have had to post this review. How and why did they allow themselves to get ‘smashed’ when they knew their bookings and could control the number of walk ins? Greed. And you know what? Forget the excuses! I don’t care what your problems are, as a paying customer I expect you to deliver full service and a pleasurable experience. So I’ll say it if you won’t - Sorry Mavis’s, you failed !More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?3  
Ursula Thompson, Owner at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Dear Rosemary, We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your visit, as everyone is important to us. The chef who spoke to you on the day was very sorry he ran out of some items on the menu. We offered our apologies on the day and...More

Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

Five course degustation dinner. Scallops and Salad Dry Aged Barramundi Slow cooked Red Wine Beef Cheeks with Gnocchi. Outstanding. Prawns and Bugs with Pasta Norma Twice cooked Duck Duck Potatoes and garden Greens n Jus For Me Cheese Cake Ball All Courses were generous in...size. By the time we had reached desert, I was wishing that I hadn’t had Lunch. One of the best Degustation Dinners we have ever had.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Ursula Thompson, Owner at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

HI George, well done on getting through all 5 courses, we change the degustation menu regularly so hope to see you another time. We appreciate you taking the time to review us !

Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

This was a pleasant surprise. I had heard the food was good but never expected it to be so good for the price. We had an entree of wonderful fresh bread, presented with mashed avocado, balsamic vinegar, olives, smoked salmon and pickled vegetables. The food...including the bread was amazing. Then our lunch came out - tender roast lamb, so delicious, covered in home made gravy and with masses of roasted potatoes and a lettuce accompaniment. Ate the lot. It was delicious. As we only went for lunch, I did not have dessert but for $40 I can recommend the lunch. Will definitely return.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Ursula Thompson, Owner at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Thank you Elaine, fab review it is always rewarding for the team to read positive feedback, see you next time!

Reviewed 27 May 2021

A really nice lunch at Mavis's. Excellent duck and bugs as our mains. Friendly service, lovely garden location.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
Ursula Thompson, Owner at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

HI Warren, thank you for taking the time to review us we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 17 May 2021

The day was wet BUT...... We arrived for a 2pm booking and were seated downstairs, it was damp. Our table for 11 was not ready. Our meals were pre-ordered 24 hours ahead but still arrived at 3pm and we were told that one entree ‘had...run out’! There were 5 young children in our group who, while waiting for their meals, were chastised for ‘playing music’ with their cutlery on the wooden table! We then asked for their ‘activity packs’. The meals were enjoyable but honestly, for the prices charged, you have to wonder if it was worth it!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Ursula Thompson, Marketing at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

Hi Robyn, thank you for your feedback it is important to us, we are glad you enjoyed your meals. All staff have been informed not to address children but to consult the parent with any concerns. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It...More

Reviewed 13 May 2021 via mobile

Mothers day booking with family and friends The place was really humming and jam packed on a beautiful day. Food was prob not quite up to the usual standard but given that they were really full and super busy all is forgiven You cant go...past a Beautiful day a beautiful setting and great friendly staff.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Ursula Thompson, Marketing at Mavis' Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

HI Family Traveler, we are truly disappointed the food didn't meet your expectations. We are super happy to hear the rest of your positive review. I love to share this kind of feed back with FOH team they did a fab job on Mother's Day....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
EcOasis Resorts
149 reviews
6.13 km away
Murwillumbah Motor Inn
131 reviews
8.57 km away
Town Palms Motel
12 reviews
9.12 km away
Blackbird Luxury Accommodation
41 reviews
19.64 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rainforest
131 reviews
.79 km away
The Uki Cafe
43 reviews
3.23 km away
Uki Pies
43 reviews
3.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
ISKCON New Govardhana
15 reviews
2.65 km away
Mount Warning Summit Trail
43 reviews
6.27 km away
Tweed Regional Gallery & Margaret Olley Art Centre
596 reviews
7.64 km away
Murwillumbah Golf Club
12 reviews
6.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SallyE330
4 March 2018|
Answer
Response from wonderwomentravels | Reviewed this property |
Such a shame eh as it is a lovely venue 😁
0
Votes
Helen W
15 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Sharon D | Reviewed this property |
They will cater for children. We had an 8 year old with us. Yes you can book.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mavis' Kitchen

Mavis' Kitchen is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5