Taverna Kingscliff

Taverna Kingscliff

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+61 432 643 274+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$12.00 – $65.00
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Greek, Grill, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Can a vegan person get a good meal at this restaurant?
About
Taverna is a quaint seaside restaurant with ocean views. We serve Greek inspired cuisine and a comprehensive beverage list. Bookings essential.
PRICE RANGE
$12.00 – $65.00
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Greek, Grill, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles721 reviews
Excellent
544
Very good
106
Average
28
Poor
24
Terrible
19
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Matthew H
120 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
On Sunday nights Taverna serves a superb six course ‘pot luck’ dinner that is outstanding value and utterly delicious. Great wine and cocktail list to match. Highly recommended!
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing O
Hi MatthewH587, So glad to hear you enjoyed the Sunday night banquet as well as our extensive drinks list. Thanks for taking the time to write such kind words, can't wait to see you again!
Written 23 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wendy
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
June 2020 none
Sunday Night Special Banquet menu served the best dishes available for a very reasonable price. So much food we could barely finish it all. Service was great. Ambiance was nice.
Written 16 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Roved
Sydney123 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 none
What a terrific meal we had last week at Taverna! Such a pretty restaurant, inside and out, with beautiful warm, welcoming and thoughtful staff. We began with ‘Greek’ twist cocktails: one ouzo based, the other mastic based. Superb! We then decided to go with the degustation menu - at $65 a head, it was too good an offer to refuse. And it didn’t disappoint. We would not have ordered the halloumi otherwise, and it was sublime: best we’ve ever tasted! The calamari tender and only very lightly fried - just yum! A main of fish and lamb followed, with a broccolini salad and roast potato sides. The slow roasted lamb shoulder was a knock out dish! While no dessert was included in the degustation, we could have ordered one - but were simply too full to enjoy it if we did! The restaurant also has a decent wine list, including some from Greece. It was a really excellent meal, perfectly served, and the next time we’re in Kingscliff we will definitely return! (And a big thank you to the lovely waitress who hid our left umbrella in the garden ... we retrieved it early the next day!!)
Written 2 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Mana... T
Roved, Thank you for your review. Our Mixologist, Ricky, is amazing at creating the perfect cocktails with a twist! We are glad you dined on our banquet menu. The Halloumi is actually a Taverna Favourite and its fantastic to hear it may be come your favourite as well. We pride ourselves on providing just the right balance with our banquet dishes. Its a pleasure to read your comments and you're more than welcome with regards to the umbrella. We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Written 12 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David B
Melbourne7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
Might as well be called Cantina. Tavernas serve Greek food, this place served OTT fancy trash that wasn’t even Greek and was ridiculously overpriced. Poor service made it even worse. 0/10.
Written 6 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing O
Hi N1255RSdavidb So sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us, We do say that we are Greek-inspired and not a traditional Greek restaurant. So sorry that the service was bad would really love to know what aspects of the service was bad so that we can improve. If you would like to contact me at the restaurant that would great. restaurantmanager@taverna.net.au
Written 11 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Monica Black
Brisbane3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
We went as a group of seven on Saturday 24/10 - the service was average. We ordered the swordfish along with a lot of other dishes only then to hear the waitress tell others at another table that there was no swordfish, it was mackerel. Mackerel is not swordfish, when we questioned we were told it was "white fish". The serves were very minimal for the prices charged, a lot of our food was luke warm, the whole chicken ordered was the size of a pigeon. Our total bill was over $500 and this was very expensive for what we got and the quality and taste of the food. We are locals, our family from Brisbane and we definitely not be returning to Taverna. It was a very disappointing night, we would rather patronise small local restaurants and clubs.
Written 25 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trip26077722727
Hi Carol, thank you so very much for your feedback. We are extremely disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not up to our usual very high level of expectation (both ours and yours). You are absolutely correct, Mackerel is not Swordfish and I am aware that due to supply issues we were unable to source fresh swordfish the day you dined. Our waitstaff should have advised of the fish type when explaining the menu and I am extremely apologetic if this did not happen. We would be extremely grateful if you would reach out to our management team at restaurantmanager@taverna.net.au so we can further respond to your experience. We absolute value our local diners and families and are committed to promoting our local produce to support our lovely community so your further feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Written 29 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

nadjapark
Brisbane4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2020 none
We recently visited Kingscliff for a 'weekend escape' and booked at Taverna for the Sunday night Chef's Table Banquet which was great value. What a lovely experience! The service was perfect, attentive and friendly and the food was amazing with generous servings. The haloumi with honey was delicious, interesting and flavoursome side dishes and the lamb was perfectly tender. The venue is really charming and I'm sure would be a divine place to sit for lunch with sea breezes. Thoroughly recommend Taverna and we will be back!
Written 21 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Deborah B
Robina3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
Booked well in advance as it was our first Valentines as a married couple. Mentioned well in advance that one of us was Coeliac so required gluten free. Was told that that wouldn’t be a problem as the restaurant caters for 99% GF. Got there waited 1/2 hour for or table for the set menu, first course bread, couldn’t have, checked the rest of the menu and there was mention of pita, quinoa and barley in 2 dishes of which I advised these ingredients weren’t GF which surprised me they weren’t aware. Overall, food was lovely however should have compensated for GF as should have been given an alternative, and service was slow even though there were tables empty. More of tapas dining experience, would recommend not going on a set menu night.
Written 14 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marketingo184
Hi Deborah B Thank you for your feedback and I'm so sorry that your dietary requirement was not taken into account, I have spoken with the staff in regards to your booking needs, and would like to assure you that this is not normal practice for us. Again thank you for your feedback and I hope that we may see you here again with us soon.
Written 15 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Katherine J
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
June 2021 family
This was my second time dining at Taverna. The first time we had the Sunday evening banquet. While the food was good, we were incredibly rushed so they could flip tables multiple times during the night. We had thought this may have been a one off scenario on a particularly busy evening so wanted to try again due to the positive reviews. Once again, the food was delicious but the evening was ruined by poor customer service focussed on flipping tables. Our first drinks took 30 minutes to arrive, at which point we were already well into our food. We were asked if we’d like another drink so we ordered 1 drink which involved putting one shot in a glass (we poured the mixer ourselves). The bill was put in front of us and we were asked to pay immediately. We then waited 20 minutes for the drink to arrive, having to follow it up once with the waitress. Less than 5 minutes after the drink was served, the waitress asked us to leave or finish the drink outside. We understand the need to push customers through in an evening, but there is also a way to do that, and the rudeness of the waitress was unacceptable. If Taverna want to push that number of people through in an evening, their bar service needs to dramatically improve so the customer’s time is not wasted waiting for drinks. It’s a shame the service is so poor as the food is pretty good!
Written 5 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Mana... T
Thank you for your feedback. We would really like to investigate your experience some more. We would be grateful if you could contact our Venue Manager directly by email restaurantmanager@taverna.net.au.
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lizteag
Gold Coast277 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 none
After our last amazing meal we chose this for my birthday dinner and went down with our son and his girlfriend on a Saturday night. We received multiple contacts, within which they reminded us, we will hold your table for 15 mins, if you are more than 15 mins late we will give your table away, etc. So we made sure we arrived 5 min early. We were told ‘Your table isn’t quite ready, you can wait in the bar area,’ and there we sat and sat. We were finally shown to our table 20 min after our reservation time. The restaurant was busy, very busy, but if we were on a deadline surely the restaurant would need to also be on that same deadline. I work in the customer service industry, telling us to sit there and then forget us was not the way to start a good experience. My husband suggested leaving, but we were all hungry and knew once we got seated the food would be amazing. And that was the case, we had the banquet and again it was outstanding! Every dish was lovely. We will come back, but not on a Saturday night.
Written 6 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Mana... T
Thank you for your open and honest feedback regarding your dining experience with us at Taverna. Thank you for taking the time to ensure that your arrival at Taverna was at your designated time. It is very important to us that arrival and departure times of our guests are adhered to, as you experienced on your night. I apologise that there was a delay in your table being available at your set arrival time. The night your party dined with us, we had several large Christmas Parties on site. These larger groups, combined with adhereing to COVID social distancing measures can often cause a delay with arrival and departure times for our guests. Cleaning our tables, chairs and areas between guests for COVID standards also adds time to turn a table from one guest to another. Although it is not ideal and not as you expected on the day, please be assured that sometimes the delays are for your benefit in these times of a pandemic. It is delightful to hear that once you were seated all was as it should be! Thank you. Saturdays' this time of year are always crazy busy! We would love to see you again another time.
Written 12 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pete and Em Martin
Byron Bay16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
We simply love coming here, the food and decor is just so fantastic, worth the drive up from Byron for dinner. We order the grilled halloumi (with local honey) straight up - even before looking at the menu! It is often ordered for dessert too... A special place to go.
Written 18 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marketingo184
Hi Pete and Em Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon
Written 21 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

benkrahe
31 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Major disappointment today for lunch after having thoroughly enjoyed dinner here previously. Seat was right in the doorway and the waiters bumped us about 10 times due to a lack of room for them to get past our table. The cocktail I received was ordinary, halloumi for entree delicious (thank god)... spinach and cheese pie for main was bland and the lamb shoulder was terrible - had ZERO flavour or seasoning and tasted like it had been boiled. - NO caramelisation and just plain yuk. Side of Chicken fat crispy potatoes also just tasted like potatoes (that were not crispy). A huge shame today - Previously gave this place a 9/10, today a 3 at best.
Written 29 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camper06545559259
Hi Benkrahe Thank you for your review and honesty, we are always looking to see where we can make improvements, I am so sorry that we did not deliver on the day you came to see us. I have passed all your comments on to the team and we will review all that you have said to ensure that we ahead of the game. We do hope to see you again soon so that you may hopefully see the improvements.
Written 30 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wacka1004
Brisbane45 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
Excitement as you sit down to experience a restaurant, you always get it. Disappointment when it hits some chords and misses others is a shame. This establishment has form with experienced owners. Enough to know their cocktail offerings are woeful, really woeful. Our group was hungry and thirsty and willing to pay for good offerings in both food and alcohol. Wine list was good, some food was great, other offerings missed the mark. Service was great, but the kitchen needs to leave original, original and not try to change things. They should simply close the bars cocktail offerings. Inexcusable to not be able to supply simple basic cocktails. Great feel and good service saved the day and we happily tipped our largish bill. Others may be more harsh.
Written 11 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing O
Hi wacka1004 Thank you for your comments, we always want to feedback so that we can always improve. So sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. Hopefully, we can improve on those Items you felt were not up to standard.
Written 18 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LisaSydney
Sydney985 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 couples
Went on a Sunday night for Chef,s banquet. We had a late booking of 8:15 and were bitterly disappointed with our experience. We were supposed to receive a 5 course banquet from a selection off the menu. Our R first two items were okay (halloumi and roasted cauliflower). We were given the choice of fish or chicken. We chose fish. It was cold and dry. We were the. Served a bowl of kale and some cold leftover roast carrots that were clearly leftover from the slow roasted lamb at lunch. We sent the kale back and received a bowl of cold artichokes from the jar. We were promised calamari but then told they had run out. Their excuse was that they were busy and tired. Clearly the sunday night banquet is merely just a way to sell off their leftovers. Won’t be going back
Written 27 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camper06545559259
Hi Lisa I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us at Taverna, Our Sunday night banquet has always been a popular dinner, We do advertise it a chef choice banquet which is different from the normal banquet that we offer on every other service. I did speak with the waitress that was looking after you and she did say that you had not informed her at any time until at the end that you were not happy with the meal, had we know we could have changed the dishes over for you. again I am so sorry that you didn't get the chance to experience the great night of the chef's banquet that so many people do love.
Written 30 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt
Brisbane2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 none
We made a reservation here 2 days prior for 8pm. We arrived a few mins before 8 and weren't seen to a table until 8:25pm despite 3 groups coming in after us and seen before us. We ordered drinks whilst we waited for our table which were made but not given to us for atleast 15 mins (condensation running down the glass before a single sip had been taken). When we were finally seated we had the haloumi entree which tasted nice but was one small piece for about $18 (way too expensive) and then ordered the half chicken to share (big plate as they describe - yeah right) which came out but was bloody raw in the middle. Terrible experience, only part that was ok was staff were friendly and refunded (just the chicken) but still came out as $54 for 2 drinks and a bit of halloumi (way too much). We managed to find another restaurant - Unicorn Seafood which served us immediately and prices were fantastic, would recommend everyone goes here instead.
Written 19 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Diane B
Brisbane73 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
We have walked past Taverna numerous times always saying "we must go there", then after receiving a gift voucher for the restaurant we made our booking. I dont know why it took us so long to go. The setting, staff, ambience, food and drinks are all excellent and one of the best meals we have had so far. We expected as much after reading the reviews, and i can honestly add another glowing review. We will definitely be returning again and again. They have a covid plan, all tables were well spread apart and a register was taken of your details.
Written 1 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marketingo184
Glad you had a good time Diane, look forward to seeing you again!
Written 3 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 721
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Farm & Co Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Healthy, Australian
Choux Box Cafe & Bar
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, International, Australian
La Barrita
$$ - $$$ · Mexican
Mockingbird Cafe
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, Healthy, Australian
Mahsuri Thai
$$ - $$$ · Asian, Thai
Kathmandu Kitchen
$$ - $$$ · Asian, Tibetan, Nepalese
The Salt Mill
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, Australian
Unicorn Seafood Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Seafood, Australian
Sea Salt Ristorante Pizzeria
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Pizza, Neapolitan, Campania
Shiny Brew
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, Australian
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TAVERNA KINGSCLIFF - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Kingscliff HotelsKingscliff Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kingscliff
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars