We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by: Eschalot Restaurant

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Produce from the garden
1. Produce from the garden
"Matthew and his crew are clearly devoted to the values of fine dining "
Greg S
See reviews that mention Produce from the garden
2. Eschalot Re-born!
2. Eschalot Re-born!
"up to par with 2 hat restaurants in Sydney."
Patto2073
See reviews that mention new
3. Outstanding food great service
3. Outstanding food great service
"The grilled lamb rump with pistachio and celeriac was simply devine"
Greg S
See reviews that mention Outstanding food great service
About
Located in the historic village of Berrima and operating from one of the most significant heritage buildings in the area, Eschalot delivers consistently beautiful cuisine with an elegant and understated sense of occasion. Eschalot has been the recipient of many industry awards including 11 prestigious chef hats. Eschalot is owned and operated by head chef Matthew Roberts and maître d’ Cassandra Wallace. With almost 20 years experience in the hospitality industry, the food and wine duo know the importance of providing stylish and innovative food and service. Our philosophy is to provide fresh produce of the highest quality, locally sourced where possible, and combine it with professional, friendly
PRICE RANGE
USD 5 - USD 33
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Contemporary, Australian
FEATURES
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
353
68
28
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
353
68
28
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck degustation menu scallops kingfish slow cooked lamb penne bread steak salad southern highlands fine dining wine list old house excellent restaurant a la carte matching wines two courses
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

We booked in on an extremely busy weekend in the Southern Highlands. The wind was coming off the Snow, so it was great to be greeted by beautiful wood fires. We ordered Octopus for the first course. Wow! It was just so amazing. Beautiful flavours...and textures. We followed that up with Swordfish and then finished off with Lemon Curd. It was such an amazing culinary experience in a beautiful setting. All I can say is "Thankyou". You made my weekend. Keep doing what you are doing because you make a lot of people happy. Thankyou.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago

I have not been to this restaurant for many years and recently enjoyed lunch in front of their fire. We were a group of 6 and selected the "Chef's Feed Me" menu. We enjoyed a delicious and well thought out menu and had plenty to...choose from on the wine list. We started our lunch with a Fog Lady cocktail and it was a mighty fine way to kick off a delicious lunch. Well done Eschalot and thank you Joy for sharing your local favourite restaurant with us!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Eschalot is a most welcoming restaurant with the rooms set up well. Our room had a magnificent open fire, and despite having 5 tables of guests, noise was not an issue. The chefs prepare very interesting sounding food and presentation is remarkable, but unless you...love meals served with rich sauces and/or loads of hidden fat, it will be a once off visit. Also, we were surprised to find that mains are not served with any vegetables at all, considering the prices. Each vegetable offering on the menu was $15. We are used to city prices, but this was a shock when wanting to order three; we settled on two. My husband would recommend the lamb dish as an excellent choice. I tasted it - fantastic. Unfortunately my steak was raw, not medium rare as the waitress said is always served. It was better once cooked more, but was still rather bland. Fortunately the herbed topping gave the meat a taste bonus.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?4  
Eschalot Restaurant Berrima, Owner at Eschalot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your subjective review of our food, it's unfortunate, but obvious we didn't understand each other. You didn't grasp our concept and we can't really tell if you like sauce or not... it was an early criticism but in the end, seemed to...More

Reviewed 12 April 2021

Every time we visit, the food and service is amazing. Living in Sydney all our lives, until moving recently to the Southern Highlands, we thought we had the best dining on offer, eating at Eschalot has changed that. The quality of food rivals that of...any of our favourites in the city. The creative tastes, the food portions and the warm service ensure that each visit is a great one. Sydney visitors that we have introduced to Eschalot all go away saying how good the meal and how lovely the whole experience was. Will keep going back.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 April 2021

It is always a pleasure to visit this beautiful restaurant that is full of ambiance and flavour. The new couple who own and run Eschalot are a delight and their culinary skills are amazing. It is not too expensive for what you receive. Keep up...the good work.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 April 2021

Excellent service, fantastic food and atmosphere. You can really see the love and attention put into every detail.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 April 2021

Gosh, after reading the management response to the reviews, I think it's pointless to say anything! The last three reviews say it all. They were reading my mind.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?5  
Eschalot Restaurant Berrima, Owner at Eschalot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Any potential diners can very clearly see there are a group of trolls at work here. This has happened because a small business, that has actual real people running it, stands up to garbage comments and bullying behaviour.

Reviewed 5 April 2021

I advised a neighbour of the terrific food at this restaurant . She hosted her sister and partner to a meal at this restaurant on Saturday night of the Easter Weekend 2021. The meal was unsatisfactory and at $300 she was disappointed. Scallop entree was...“ meagre “, her fish meal was too oily ( only ate half ) and another guest's “lamb blackstrap “ was burnt. I can not imagine how this could have happened unless a different chef was cooking, I had asked at the end of my own experience if a substitute chef was ever employed to cook and I was assured this did not happen. Thus my recommendation. Only difference was that I ate at lunch while she had her meal at dinner. My neighbour is an excellent cook and judge of food and I have had the experience of eating at a Michelin Star restaurant in the UK. We are just ordinary consumers . Above comments are to explain our interests and expertise in good food. I do wonder if my neighbour actually went to the same restaurant !More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?4  
Eschalot Restaurant Berrima, Owner at Eschalot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

So wait... you weren't even here? In fact when you were here, you decided to recommend us because you enjoyed it that much? You eat at Michelin Star restaurants and recommend us to others? But your neighbour is a good cook and a keyboard warrior...More

Reviewed 4 April 2021

Having previously eaten here we had high expectations of the evening. Due to dietary requirements, we elected not for the chef or tasting menus (which we had previously chosen) and chose to pick off the standard al a carte menu. For Entree we had the...cured kingfish which was excellent and the seared scallops which was disappointing due to the scallops being no larger than a 10 cent piece. The mains we asked for were the southern fried chicken and wagyu rib eye but the serving staff were insistent that between the two meals it was too much for two people and they encouraged us to choose one or the other. Accepting the recommendation of the wagyu rib eye, we asked for the meal to be cooked rare which again the wait staff outlined in detail the preference of the kitchen to cook the steak medium-rare because of the wagyu marbling and to ensure the fat was cooked. This decision to accept the wait staff's advice turned out to be disappointing as the steak was medium-rare in places and overcooked in other parts. We elected not to have dessert. On leaving the host (manager/owner) asked us about the dining experience and we provided direct and courteous feedback and expressed some disappointment due to our previous experience. I hope the restaurant takes this feedback with goodwill intended and we would be happy to at a later stage revisit Eschalot for another excellent meal.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?3  
Eschalot Restaurant Berrima, Owner at Eschalot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

GxxxxP, 'We provided direct and courteous feedback and expressed some disappointment due to our previous experience'. Fantastic. That is exactly what we want because while we strive for excellence, we are not perfect. We are completely open to feedback and go above and beyond to...More

Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Very disappointed. The place is lovely, the staff delightful and efficient but the food really let us down. Here are the problems from last night. First, the starter scallops were so small as to be almost non-existent. We debated whether they should have been compared...to a five or 10 cent coin. If that is “all that was available” it should not have been put on the menu. Second: both mains were similarly disappointing but not for size. The Swordfish was very large (a pub portion) and the “panco crumb” was extremely oily and not pleasant. Neither person could finish their piece. The spiced backstrap lamb, ordered “medium rare” was overdone and very dry instead of succulent. The food quality was very disappointing and was nothing in comparison to our experience six years ago. We hope that these deficiencies can be corrected and it would be nice to see sherry on the menu.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?5  
Eschalot Restaurant Berrima, Owner at Eschalot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2021

Hi 432iainb, Firstly, when you have a restaurant feel free to put whatever you like on the menu. Do not begin to tell us what we can and can not serve. Secondly, have you seen an actual swordfish? Perhaps not. They are big. Really big....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Berrima Bakehouse Motel
237 reviews
.11 km away
Peppers Craigieburn Bowral
2,046 reviews
6.48 km away
Oxley Motel
93 reviews
6.75 km away
Briars Country Lodge
397 reviews
6.84 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Josh's Cafe
402 reviews
.10 km away
Gumnut Patisserie
170 reviews
.28 km away
The Courtyard Cafe Berrima
240 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Berrima District Museum
66 reviews
.53 km away
Little Hand-Stirred Jam Shop
77 reviews
.08 km away
Berrima Courthouse
117 reviews
.05 km away
Berrima River Walk
45 reviews
.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SusanEileen
31 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from jackh977 | Reviewed this property |
You will need to contact restaurant but from memory no
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Eschalot Restaurant

  • Eschalot Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4.5