We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sam's On The Beach

380
All photos (380)
Certificate of Excellence

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2014 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
25 years of Sams in Fowey has now enabled us to bring all our experience, fun, ambience, staff and fantastic locally sourced produce to create something truly unique in the old Fowey Lifeboat House here on the waters edge overlooking the bay.3 Ingredients that a successful restaurant needs are "Good Staff, Good Food, Good Ambience" and Sams on the Beach has all 3 in abundance!Enjoy!And the views not that bad too!Sam Sixton
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Seafood, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,269 results
Traveller rating
799
299
104
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
799
299
104
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood mussels sardines pizza soft shell crab belly pork salad fresh fish plaice brownie sea bass pudding steak bread fries lifeboat station lifeboat house
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,269 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went back again this year still a great place loved the food again staff great would still highly recommend eating here a real special place This place is great, went last night, the atmosphere was great a real buzz, the food was superb I had...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank hugo-rugged
Reviewed 4 days ago

We were staying at St Austell and went to Sams on the beach for lunch. We had two courses for £12 which was very reasonable.We had mussels and fries and scampi and salad. The staff were friendly and helpful and we wouldn’t hesitate to return....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Howard136
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We always visit when in the area and once again the food, service and whole experience was excellent. Great menu and recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank NPB01
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We'd seen Sam's in Fowey and liked the look of the menu but unfortunately they didn't permit dogs. So it was a bonus to find Sam's after a walk from Fowey and in such a lovely location. In October, by lunch time the sun had...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank phiklphox
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a bit of a strange one for me. It brought on feelings I have never experienced before in any of my hundred plus reviews. Posh place, "Sam's on the Beach", poshed up, prices to match, good layout, excellent menu with food to die...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank John A
Emma S, Owner at Sam's On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Evening John, Thankyou for your thoughtful review and the fact you did enjoy your meal but felt uneasy due to the history of the building. I am hoping now by letting you know the history of Sam’s ( est 88) by Sam as a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great views, but we were not allowed to sit there even though they were not marked reserved. They claim to have GF options, apart from a pizza choice there wasn't much. Service was super slow. I had to send my order back as it was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank victoriahQ4038EY
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Was taken to Sam's on the beach as a surprise from my dad! And the staff made you feel so welcome! They were serving roast dinners-which i had fancied all day! And i'm not a roast dinner person! So when the food arrived it was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Keri S
Reviewed 23 October 2018

We were staying in Fowey and had already been to the Sam's in town so were prepared for a good meal anyway, but Sam's on the Beach blew the other one out of the water! Amazing setting in an old lifeboat station, with windows looking...More

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Loll1603
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

We ate here just by chance having spent the day at the Eden project. What a find! The restaurant is quite small, only about 10 tables inside so definitely worth booking. The service was excellent and the food came out really quickly. Our meal was...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kellysX3701TT
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Sams on the Beach is on the smaller side, and therefore worth booking ahead. We had pizzas, salads and sardines which were all delicious. Efficient service too which is always appreciated when you have little people with you.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Nicki B
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carla1016
27 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from J9456UQsams | Property representative |
Hi, yes we do. Call the restaurant on 01726812255. Thank you. Hopefully see you in July.
0
Votes
Joanne L
21 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from J9456UQsams | Property representative |
Hi Joanne give them a call on (01726) 812255 and they do sometimes they depends are busy give them a call first thank you bye
0
Votes
moses_karibu
30 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from margaretpat | Reviewed this property |
Parking is about 1/2 mile up hill and it's paid parking. Enjoy
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing