We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scarlet Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth, England
+44 1637 861800
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 304: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

During our stay at The Scarlet, we ate at the restaurant a few times. Mainly dinner and Breakfast. Unfortunately, on each occasion, there were issues. one time the food was cold. One time we waited 35 minutes for it to arrive. Another time side dishes were left off and starters arrived before our drinks came. The food sounded exceptional and... More 

Helpful?
Thank j0shuaharris
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A little disappointed. We were staying at the hotel for 2 nights and the food, although sounding good, was quite average. All in season, and locally sourced, but sadly under-seasoned! I had to add salt and pepper to everything. Service was a little sporadic.... A shame as the setting is stunning.

Helpful?
Thank 1961nicola
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is not your typical hotel restaurant. Imaginative food in a lovely setting and very warm, engaging staff.

Helpful?
Thank SamLewis2015
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely words, I will share this with our restaurant team. We hope that you can return to us again in the future to enjoy some more Scarlet moments. Kind regards Leanne Barlow House Manager More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second visit for lunch and they did not disappoint. Good, attentive service, fantastic views and yummy food. I particularly recommend the rhubarb parfait for desert, this is worth a visit on its own.

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you and welcome back! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your restaurant experience with us, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant in the future. Kind regards Leanne Barlow House Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dined at the Scarlet s few times and found that dependent on the day and time of day the quality of the food can change dramatically. Food is fresh, menu somewhat extensive. Enjoyed the views. One thing that's consistent is a complete lack of seasoning in any dish - please add some salt and pepper! Having the seasoning on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lscue777
leannebarlow, Red Hotels Executive Chef at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as the Executive chef at Scarlet guest feedback is very important to me. I would be grateful of the opportunity to speak to you further about this, if you would kindly email me tom.hunter@scarlethotel.co.uk a convenient time and telephone number to contact you it would be much appreciated. Kind regards Tom Hunter Executive Chef More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Being local to the scarlet my partner and I often visit the spa and have lunch but had never had an evening meal until tonight. Having watched the sun go down from the terrace with pre dinner drinks, we took our family down for an incredible meal. The food and service are both out of this world and we cannot... More 

Helpful?
Thank NeilHartley
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much. It means such a lot to us to have the support and recommendations of our local community. It sounds like you had a wonderful evening and we hope that you will join us again for many more. Kind regards Leanne Barlow House Manager More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic as always. Great food, great service, great atmosphere and a great place for a special occasion

Helpful?
Thank JKyn2014
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Happy birthday from us and thank you for sharing. We hope you will return at some point for some more Scarlet moments. Kind regards Leanne Barlow House Manager More 

Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017

we have been going to the scarlet every year for the past five years for my wifes birthday lunch, the food and service has always been very good,but not this time and we will not be returning. on arriving there were only two other couples in the restaurant , one couple sat inside in body warmers and one couple on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank fjplatt1962
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your time with us at the Scarlet. It saddened me to read you had such a disappointing experience with us. Our restaurant supervisor was under the impression you were happy with the desserts and drinks you were given as a gesture of good will, unfortunately we had clearly misread the situation. I... More 

cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We only live a hundred yards away, so decided to take friends here for an evening meal. It was one of the best I've had. Very fresh, great flavours and good service. A delicious sancerre complimented the meal really well. We will be back

Helpful?
Thank Andy252
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are lucky to be part of a wonderful local community here in Mawgan Porth and it is always lovely to hear that our neighbours are enjoying their time at the Scarlet too. We are so pleased you had a lovely meal with us and we look forward to welcoming... More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We were given a voucher for our silver wedding anniversary and The Scarlet were happy to allow us to use this for lunch. A very relaxed atmosphere with attentive service that did not feel OTT. Stunning views from the lounge and restaurant. We were given a table right by the large windows to take full advantage. A wonderful lunch followed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

What a lovely gift to receive! Happy anniversary to you and thank you for taking the time to share your Scarlet restaurant experience. Hopefully you will have room for dessert on your next visit. Kind regards Leanne Barlow House Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Scarlet Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Scarlet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Mawgan Porth
  • Phone Number: +44 1637 861800
Description
Our restaurant menus are simple yet bursting with flavour, changing daily to ensure that full use is made of what is at its local, seasonal best, whilst remaining reasonably priced. Breakfast and lunch are relaxed and served in the restaurant or the terrace. For dinner we add a shot of glamour to both the menu and the atmosphere, ensuring a memorable evening whether a romantic dinner à deux, or a long-overdue catch up with friends. Our comprehensive wine list includes plenty of unusual choices available by both the bottle and the glass, with selections made daily to complement the restaurant menu. Our enticing deli menu and ‘to die for’ Cornish afternoon tea can be served in your room or anywhere else you like at any time.3 course lunch £23.50. 3 course Sunday lunch £25. 3 course dinner £45.50.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Scarlet Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Scarlet Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?