We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

$$ - $$$, British,
112 Buxton Road | High Lane, Stockport SK6 8ED, England
+44 1663 765227
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“onion soup” (26 reviews)
“pie” (32 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
112 Buxton Road | High Lane, Stockport SK6 8ED, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 540 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We have eaten here twice, loved it both occasions, very fair prices but, the welcome and service is outstanding at this pub, always a smile

Thank Kieran S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been to The Red Lion a few times for evening meal, always good, but decided to try the lunch menu. Went for the fish finger butty, although the butty was great and came with a nice coleslaw the salad garnish was limp .(leave the salad...More

Thank dianne m
Red Lion H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Dianne, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave review. Our fish finger baguette is a favourite among many customers, and it is most pleasing to hear that you, too, enjoyed it, on the whole. It is disappointing to hear...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Met for a family Christmas meal, which was mid-week and a surprisingly quiet evening. Everything took a long time;- firstly to the order being taken , then in-between courses, whilst staff leaned on the bat chatting........Don't mind waiting. , if the food is freshly cooked...More

Thank Liz L
Red Lion H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Liz Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sincerely disappointed that your visit didn't meet up to your expectation, nor our standards, for which we would like to apologise. The feedback that you have provided is most valuable, as...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great night, the food, drinks, staff and entertainment all really good. We had 12 in our party and everyone really enjoyed the night. We will back back.More

1  Thank roger w
Red Lion H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Roger It's fantastic to hear you had such a positive experience at The Red Lion. New Years Eve was a fantastic night to work and the atmosphere was superb. On a side note we are having a refurbishment between February 5th and March 5th....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

New years eve dinner; what can I say except it was perfect. From the minute we walked in we were made to feel welcome, a cold prosecco was ready for us (Peroni option) and then we were seated, all three courses were delicious. Starter was...More

Thank Learac
Red Lion H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sir/Madam I'm ecstatic to here you had a fantastic night on New Years Eve. I was working on that night and it really was a pleasure to work it. The atmosphere was superb. I have passed on your comments to the chefs and the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a couple of hours in Lyme Park , we were ready for a hearty lunch so called into the Red Lion for lunch , great home made steak and ale pie did the trick .More

Thank David W
Red Lion H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear David I'm happy that you enjoyed our Steak & Ale Pie it's one of our best selling dishes and it's fantastic to hear you appreciated it. As a side note we are having a refurbishment between February 5th and March 5th, we hope to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in for lunch and found the menu just about right with a reasonable selection of starters, mains and desserts, including sandwiches. The service was pleasant and professional and the surroundings very pleasant. Plenty of car parking.More

Thank Winelover19
Red Lion H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sir/Madam It's great to hear you had a positive experience at The Red Lion. We are having a refurbishment between February 5th and March 5th. We would be delighted to see you again when we have a fresh lick of paint. Many Thanks The...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at 12.20 and seated straight away only to get are first course 40 mins later, remember this is a £65.00 meal, the pate arrived ( spone full of liver pate with some limp lettuce a tomato and 2 tosasted brown breed) to say average...More

Thank adriangbss
Red Lion H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Adrian I'm very sad to hear you had a negative experience at The Red Lion. If you give us a call i'm willing to further talk about your experience and we can see how we can make sure the next time you come you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dinner was booked for 3pm, didn't get seated until 3:40 and the first course did not arrive until well after four. The meal was extremely disappointing, my pate starter was mediocre, and after a very lengthy wait the Christmas turkey had to be sent back...More

Thank Janette W
Red Lion H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Janette I'm sorry to hear you had a negative experience at The Red Lion. If you want to discuss this further give us a call. Many Thanks The Red Lion Team

Reviewed 9 December 2017

We visit here for sunday lunch every year when staying with family and have always had a perfect lunch and gorgeous puddings however this year it really wasn't great. After waiting quite a while for the food (even though it was surprisingly half empty in...More

Thank Debbie T
Red Lion H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Debbie Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are most disappointed to hear of your negative experience, the causes of which are being looked into. If you would like to discuss in further, please do not hesitate to contact us...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Stockport
Springfield Hotel Marple
91 reviews
3.79 km away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
259 reviews
5.52 km away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2,822 reviews
5.57 km away
Britannia Hotel Stockport
1,466 reviews
5.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ale Cellar Cafe
11 reviews
1.17 km away
M&J's Chinese Restaurant
56 reviews
.09 km away
The Lime Lounge Restaurant
115 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Park
1,318 reviews
3.02 km away
The Grove
5 reviews
3.32 km away
Marple Locks
263 reviews
3.57 km away
St Giles Church
7 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:45 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:45 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:45 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:45 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:45 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 112 Buxton Road | High Lane, Stockport SK6 8ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Stockport
  • Phone Number: +44 1663 765227
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing