We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lister Arms

South Hawksworth Street, Ilkley, England
+44 1943 811240
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good39%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (6 reviews)
“chicken” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
DETAILS
South Hawksworth Street, Ilkley, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the gammon - this 10oz gammon was in fact two pretty thin slices with chips half a tomato slice of mushroom peas and two eggs. I would have preferred a single thick piece of gammon. Lamb shank had a lot of gravy needing...More

Thank Allan R
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your feedback. Your comments have been passed on to the team. The portion sizes you were served are exactly the same in any other Wetherspoon, it's how, company wide,the meals are meant to be. Regards, Mallory Green Shift Leader.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Poor value for money Mixed grill was not enough to feed a mouse No staff customer service. Not on my list againMore

Thank Marc L
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Firstly I would like to apologise for the experience you had with us on your visit. Our service is usually of great standards and we don't usually receive complaints about the portion sizes of our meals. It's very unfortunate that you had this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the better wetherspoons probably due to the area, foods same old same old but you get what you pay for

Thank Dale B
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks for your lovely review, hopefully we will see you again soon. Regards, Mallory Green Shift Leader

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were lovely and helpful and toilets immaculate, but the food was a let down, although the food is very reasonable it showed on the plate, the egg was hard and the butter left on the plate in a small packet that had melted...More

Thank lifeandsoul1
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I would like to apologise for the experience you had with us. Sometimes due to how busy the pub is for food mistakes are made. But I can ensure you that your comments have been passed on to the team and hopefully if...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had already made lunch plans elsewhere, but had arrived in ilkley early so popped in here for a coffee first. It was at the nicer end of some of the wetherspoons I'd been in. It was clean and tidy, friendly staff, nice decor and...More

Thank b2be2010
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks for your fantastic review! We pride ourselves on our great value for money and always strive to give our customers the best experience possible! Hopefully we'll see you soon for that pint of Guinness! Regards, Mallory Green Shift Leader

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Again spoilt for choice! I was cheeky & asked for 3x3rd of a pint as per the festival, which they duly served me. Try them before there gone especially the Crossroads!More

Thank Stephen L
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your great review! I'm glad you enjoyed our different ales! Pop in this Thursday 11th May, we have a tap takeover with Leeds Brewery from 6.30pm. A great opportunity to try lots of different ales from a great local brewery!...More

Reviewed 10 April 2017

had a run over to ilkley the other sunday for the 1st time had a walk around then 'stumbled' on the lister arms, so glad we did, us being wetherspoons fans. 2 meals of lamb shank, mash, veg and loads of gravy with 2 standard...More

Thank brownieDarwen
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your lovely review! I'm glad to see you enjoyed your experience with us. The lamb shank is becoming an increasingly popular dish for us! Hopefully we'll see you again soon, and maybe this time it won't be by accident! Thanks...More

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Cannot fault the brekkies here. It does what it says on the tin! Great , prompt service. Efficient and chirpy. If you want a decent brekkie ( even for groups of a good size) drop in here!

Thank travel T
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your wonderful review! Breakfast is a very busy time for us, and I'm glad we delivered the high standards of service we always strive to achieve. Hopefully we'll see you again soon! Thanks again, Mallory Green Shift Leader

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

I always like to visit a Weatherspoons Pub as you know what you are getting. Choice & value. Cold & rainy evening, bright, welcoming inside. Couple of pints ordered which were good. I liked the decor, a book case corner with 'Ilkley Moor Bar Tat'...More

Thank Lady_PennyPowers
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your review. We always aim to make sure customers feel warm and welcome when they visit us. It is lovely to see that we achieved this on your visit. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Many thanks,...More

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Visited on a midweek lunchtime and the place was busy. The menu was interesting and varied representing great value. The staff were very helpful,working really hard. Service was prompt and food very tasty.

Thank jscoates
Mallory G, Public Relations Manager at The Lister Arms, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We always try our best to provide the best service possible for each and every customer. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again, Mallory Green Shift Leader.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Box Tree
694 reviews
.06 km away
Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms
714 reviews
.09 km away
La Casita
213 reviews
.03 km away
Piccolino
764 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ilkley Pool & Lido
72 reviews
.80 km away
Ilkley Manor House and Museum
24 reviews
.13 km away
Ilkley Tourist Information Centre
7 reviews
.36 km away
Ilkley Toy Museum
18 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Lister Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: South Hawksworth Street, Ilkley, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Ilkley
  • Phone Number: +44 1943 811240
  • E-mail
Description
This is a new weatherspoons. LS29 9LB