We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Klondike Restaurant & Bar

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
71 Cowlitz St, Saint Helens, OR 97051-2617
+1 503-366-2634
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 21:00
Mon - Wed 11:00 - 21:00
Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'll keep this short. Everything I have ordered here has been above average to spectacular. Great food. Service is equal to the food. Very personable and attentive. The restaurant and lounge have the feel of a Mcminnimins. Old and comfortable. Lots of unique characteristics. You won't be disappointed. I plan to stop here every time I pass through town. Thanks... More 

Helpful?
Thank datduck11
Cheekyintown, General Manager at Klondike Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

DatDuck, Thank you so much for this thorough and wonderful review. Our staff loves to hear about giving a wonderful service. More 

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We just found this place and love it. We enjoy it so much we have driven or boated to eat here the last 4 weekends in a row. Good food and prices. Amanda is awesome at making sure you have a good experience with the resturant. Thank you and we will be back soon :)

Helpful?
Thank Cascadecomm
Cheekyintown, General Manager at Klondike Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Cascadecomm, Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Amanda will be so proud to hear that you had such nice words for her. More 

Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the better places to eat in St. Helens. The food is not top notch, but it's OK. The building is old, and there is a legend that the upper floors are haunted. The bar has a nice old timer feeling.

Helpful?
Thank sharigale2016
Cheekyintown, General Manager at Klondike Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Sharigale2016, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked the ambiance of our old building and our ghosts are always a fun addition to the general feel. We hope that your food experience will improve at your next visit. More 

Saint Helens, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great food, good service, lots of parking! Friendly staff and wonderful specials. A nice place to take guests.

Helpful?
Thank Moogiewoo
Cheekyintown, General Manager at Klondike Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Moogiewoo, Thank you for this lovely review. More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Used to be the best place in town, even better than places in Portland but the last three times we have visited it has really taken a turn south. It's taken forever to get seated, once seated the service that used to be amazing is now almost rude, my food has had to go back because it's wrong, one thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauralalali
Cheekyintown, General Manager at Klondike Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Lauralalali, I am sorry to hear about your experience with us recently. I review comment cards and internet reviews often. We hope that this doesn't happen to you in the future and I will make sure your comments are passed on to the staff. We hope that your past experiences where worth a good review on the internet and... More 

Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

This Klondike is located a block from the Columbia River in downtown picturesque St. Helens, Oregon. It's the best restaurant in town. Good eats, great service. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank BillEarles
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

I was in town for the Halloweentown festivities (which was a whole other disappointing ordeal) and decided to stop in here for a drink while I decided whether or not to go back to Portland so I could enjoy my last day of vacation. It took awhile for the bartender to take my drink order, only to find out that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
Cheekyintown, General Manager at Klondike Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Shannon, I am sorry to hear of your experiences during St. Helen's Halloweentown Festival. During that time of year, all of the restaurants get bombarded with record numbers of guests, in years past restaurants have had to close doors because they ran out of food (this included fast food chains in the area) - there were just that many people... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We had been driving a while and decided to stop along the river in St. Helens. The Klondike Restaurant looked to fir the bill. Rustic tavern and we got friendly service. We got soup and a club sandwich and both were good. It looked like most people chose sandwiches since they are featured.

Helpful?
Thank Alan H
Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Burgers and salads are pretty good. Pretty disappointed in the grade of meat they utilize for steaks and prime rib. Lots of fat and gristle. What they charge is not commensurate with what you get.

Helpful?
Thank k3po
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

We had dinner meals, sandwiches, and burgers. Everything was amazing!! The service was fantastic as well! I really can't say enough nice things about the Klondike! We also ordered take out one night, and it was ready in 20 minutes. Just amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Kendra R

Travellers who viewed Klondike Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Klondike Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 10 - USD 30
Cuisine
Seafood, American, Bar
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 71 Cowlitz St, Saint Helens, OR 97051-2617
  • Location: United States  >  Oregon (OR)  >  Saint Helens
  • Phone Number: +1 503-366-2634
Description
steak and seafood

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Klondike Restaurant & Bar and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Portland, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Klondike Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?