We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windows On Westella

COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice


Cafe, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch stuffed mushrooms salad fish and chips chicken full house factory pickles venue meals coffee cafe providore platter
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 February 2022 via mobile

A fantastic cafe with good food and coffee. The staff are wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and they are keen to learn and improve. As we left the car park filled up. No surprise there. We’ll done to the staff, managers and owners.

Date of visit: February 2022
Windows On Westella, Manager at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2022

Thank you very much for visiting and your lovely review. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 20 February 2022

TWO THUMBS DOWN for the food and service! Don't be fooled by the menu or website marketing as this was very disappointing. After booking online and looking forward to a nice lunch, we got there on time only to be told that our reserved table...was still occupied and we would have to take another table 10 minutes later. Odd because on the one hand, each table has a small reminder sign telling patrons to observe their time and on the other hand staff told us we can take as long as we wanted. When the food came out, it looked like something you would get at a run-down truck-stop (small and expired). The eggs were runny, the bacon and meat was rock hard, the chicken tasted microwaved, the onion rings was 95% batter cooked in old oil, and their featured pickled onions were non-existent (unless you count 1 small one and some shavings hidden in a few leaves of baby spinach). When this awful experience was explained to the manager (kindly), we were told that the tiny amount of pickled onion was standard and that the best they could do was take off the price of the drinks but we had to pay the rest of the large bill for over-rated, over-priced, cost-cutting, amateur meals - prepared and cooked as if someone had a rough night! If you want 10/10 instead of this 2/10 rot, go to Mrs. Jones instead! By the way, the table we originally booked was still occupied when we left!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2022

Hello Ian Haacke We are sorry that your visit to our café was not to your expectations. We always appreciate the opportunity to address any concerns at the time, but with the meal consumed, our staff respectfully offered to discount your bill being $19.50 for...More

Reviewed 10 November 2021

Brilliant breakfast as always. Ham, cheese and mustard croissants beautiful! Trialled a mouthful of the banana bread from a table mate which was also beautiful. Fast, polite and professional service. Thanks ladies,

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

This was our first time and it didn't disappoint. The Roasted vegetable salad was nothing short of divine. A chef who can cook a delicious vegetarian meal is worth their weight in gold, and any travelling vego knows exactly what I mean. Friends had the...Just Landed Tasmanian fish and chips. Opinion: delicately light and not heavy and absolutely delicious. The smoked chicken and avocado toastie was a treat. The smokiness and tenderness of the chicken went down exceptionally well. Windows on Westella's Broad Acres sauvignon blanc highly recommended. The venue has a small providore stocking pickled onions, olives, dark chocolate treats, shortbread, wine and much, much more. The restaurant is bright and airy, but a tad noisy, but only because of the openness of such a large room. The venue and its surrounding gardens are fresh and lovely, and a few tables out on the lush green lawns during the warmer months would be a fabulous place to laze away the afternoon with a platter and a bottle of wine. The staff were exceptional and answered my queries. Friendly and professional and an asset to the place. The prices might not be for the budget conscious, but they're not out of reach either. If you want a quality meal then expect to pay for it. There's something for everyone. I would highly recommend Windows on Westella.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

WOW thank you so much for this amazing, detailed review of your visit. We really appreciated the lovely comments and recommendations. We have passed your review onto our staff, they always strive to provide great customer service and our chefs take pride in preparing fresh...More

Reviewed 11 July 2021

First visit and only one choice of sweet waffles, which did not appeal. Over serviced by waitresses. Most meals are summer type meals , and quite light meals with salads. Nothing really substantial for a winter type meal, which was really disappointing. Quite noisy.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Thank you for visiting, we are sorry our menu didn't meet your expectations, Our menu serves breakfast and lunch all day, not heavy style meals that you might expect at night or at a hotel bistro. Our staff do offer full table service and sorry...More

Reviewed 15 June 2021 via mobile

Had great service, friendly relaxed atmosphere enjoyable food all around on table of 3. Lovely fresh tastes and combinations.

Date of visit: May 2021
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for your review and visit, we appreciate your comments and look forward welcoming you again.

Reviewed 6 June 2021

Over-priced and a little self-important. Atmosphere more for busloads of tourists. Smart but devoid of intimacy. Staff clearly briefed to lay on greetings but lacked genuineness and the self-complimentary references to the business were irritating. Food OK but didn't match the excessive prices. Attractive surroundings...but barn-ish and over-manicured. Disappointing.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Very unique location in a pickled onion factory, lovey relaxing breakfast with friends. Fantastic friendly service from all staff, nicely cooked food and reasonable coffee. A good place to return again.

Date of visit: May 2021
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for visiting and taking the time for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 13 April 2021 via mobile

One of the best in town. Make sure you book a table if you want to have a meal. It would be a shame if you went there and missed out

Date of visit: April 2021
Windows On Westella, Owner at Windows On Westella, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for visiting and your review which we appreciate.

Reviewed 13 February 2021

Went for a family lunch, ordered French onion soup only to be told they had run out. Being an onion factory, found this to be strange. Also as our group were all senior citizens, we found it very hard to communicate with the loud background...music. enjoyed our meals and the iced coffee was delicious.More

Date of visit: February 2021
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
55 reviews
1.77 km away
Beachway Motel & Restaurant
310 reviews
2.20 km away
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
86 reviews
2.99 km away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
202 reviews
12.63 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Thirty three Cups
235 reviews
3.13 km away
La Mar Cafe Providore
157 reviews
3.15 km away
River Arms Ulverstone
127 reviews
3.20 km away
Indian Corner
116 reviews
3.12 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Turners Beach Berry Patch
172 reviews
2.67 km away
Leven River Cruises
321 reviews
3.53 km away
Lillico Beach Conservation Area
44 reviews
7.83 km away
Leven Canyon
212 reviews
2.43 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Windows On Westella staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Windows On Westella

Yes, Windows On Westella is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Windows On Westella is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5