We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Eight Bells

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street, Bolney RH17 5QW, England
+44 1444 881396
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 213: English reviews
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good quality food and a good selection of dishes to cater for most tastes, the chef is very accommodating if you have special dietary requirements (worth phoning in advance to give him a warning!)

Helpful?
Thank Spitfire1965
casinocook, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing the Eight Bells Spitfire! we hope to see you again! kind regards Michaela More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This pub has been slowly going down hill for years, so we were hopeful that new ownership might see an improvement. Having visited on a few occasions recently, it seems that this is not the case. The beer is just about OK, and some of the staff are friendly enough, but the surroundings and the atmosphere are drab. Worst of... More 

Helpful?
Thank reviewer869
casinocook, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review on the Eight Bells, its a shame that you didn't enjoy your experience here, we are working on improving the pub, but unfortunately Rome wasn't built in a day.. and these things take time.. I can assure you that our food is homemade and freshly prepared on the premises.. we wish you well... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family (around 18 of us) had our Christmas dinner at the 8 bells. It's was delicious, great service and made us feel very welcome. Will visit again very soon! Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Sarahttt12
casinocook, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Hi Sarah Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! we do hope you come back and we very much look forward to it! kind regards Michaela More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were greeted by two Vegas Show Girls very glamour-us, setting the tone for the evening of sumptuous entertainment, good food, and very attentive staff . A glass of bubbles and warm canapés was the opening gambit. We were appropriately called to order by "Posh Bob" the MC, actually just to take our seats for the meal. Three... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tone65
casinocook, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Hi Tony Thank you so so much for your lovely review, what a great night.. thanks for supporting on our big event! and hopefully many more to come! kind regards Michaela More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This year we decided to eat out for Christmas. The first time ever! We had 4 generations of family ranging from Great Gran (84) to 8 week old baby. The 8 Bells had been highly recommended so we thought we would give it a try. I have to say we made the right choice!! The decorations and lovely log fire... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
casinocook, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Hey Tim! Thank you so much for your great review!!!! very kind of you .. we hope to see you ALL again soon !! kind regards Michaela More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here as a group for a birthday meal. Being December it is always difficult to find a place with a regular menu rather than a Christmas party menu. The Eight Bells were able to offer us this. The menu had a reasonable choice of dishes. As it was peak Christmas party season, we shared the space with much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russar14
Hassocks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We go out for Christmas dinner every year and its always just about ok, we try new places every year but I think we have found 'the one' with this place, I can honestly say it was fab all round, the food was great - my husband usually moans like Victor Meldrew and even he was happy! the pub was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
casinocook, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review! we hope to see you again... wishing you and your family a lovely New Year!! More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Until this year we've generally spent Christmas with family but this year we decided to go on little holiday to Brighton. What we learnt is that it is rip off season for pubs and restaurants in the area. If you know what you're doing you can avoid the ridiculous overcharging and find good honest places that serve from their usual... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
casinocook, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thanks for the review, I was really dissapointed to hear you didn't enjoy your lunch on Christmas day I have spoken to the waitresses on duty that day and they did all the regular check backs as they always do, they are very attentive and if there was a problem we could have resolved it for you straight... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Traditional stop when travelling to Brighton to watch Leeds! Lovely to sit in front of a roaring fire in a comfy chair with a pint in hand!

Helpful?
Thank leedsunited1973
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited this pub for Sunday lunch with two friends. When we first arrived we were met by someone who was introduced as posh somebody or other who immediately tried to sell us raffle tickets for a young boy with cerebral paulsy which is fine but he went on about it for about ten minutes I found this very intrusive.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lynne l
casinocook, Owner at The Eight Bells, responded to this review

Hi There Lynne, We take Food Safety and Hygeine very Seriously At The Eight Bells and have all necessary records up to date I wonder if you would be kind enough to contact me directly so that we can investigate this matter further my e mail is : info@eightbellsbolney.co.uk or telephone no is 01444 881 396 kind regards Michaela More 

Travellers who viewed The Eight Bells also viewed

Bolney, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Henfield, West Sussex
 
Warninglid, West Sussex
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 

Been to The Eight Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Bolney RH17 5QW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Bolney
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 881396
Description
Family And Doggie Friendly Good old Traditional English Pub in the heart of Sussex with a Warm Welcome and a smile! Home cooked food and good old fashioned Traditional Pub Fayre

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Eight Bells and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Eight Bells staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?