We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell & Barge

) #130 of 154 Restaurants in Rugby $$ - $$$ Bar, British, Pub
Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
+44 1788 569466
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good27%
  • Average24%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Patrons are asked to wait to be seated but no staff around to seat anyone! The meal of gammon, pineapple, jacket potato, tomato and peas was truly awful. Swimming in grease, the gammon was tough, the pineapple burned, the jacket mushed and overcooked and the...More

Thank Denise G
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Denise, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to use directly at 01788569466 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went to Harvester to celebrate my son finishing his exams. What an absolute disappointment the meal was. Firstly it look untidy and disorganised, my wife wanted to leave but my son insisted it was his choice. I choose fish and chips with garden peas and...More

Thank Tom H
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Tom, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. Please reach out to us so we can work towards a resolution. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We hope to hear...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

My wife and i have been using this place quite often with our families and fostered children never been disappointed here our fostered children prefer this place to other quick food outlets.

Thank william c
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

William, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations and it was 'Bang on'! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were invited to visit here for my Father in Law's birthday. This was booked 3 weeks in advance, and specifically requested a large circular table as we were a large party with 2 babies. When we arrived, we were all squashed onto a long...More

Thank Shandy08
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Shandy08, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience so we may further assist you in working towards a resolution. The Bell and Barge 01788569466

Reviewed 19 April 2017

Have been to the bell and barge before as a couple but this Time with the Grand children 3 of us choose the £6 99 menu and 1 children's menu ,helped our self to the salad bar all containers were full all 4 meals arrived...More

Thank Dave T
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Bell and Barge.

Reviewed 18 April 2017

I have tried so many times but Christmas 2016 was the last time for me at this place. I work in the catering industry and I have certain standards for each place that I visit. Where to start...You are waiting for ever to get your...More

Thank Veroneeq
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Hi Veroneeq, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Bell and Barge take our reviews very seriously. I'm unsure weather you spoke to a duty manager at the time of your visit so we could have tried rectifying the situation...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Big spacious place with good food and drink. Recommended for family and friends too. You can go the with wheelchair as well. Friendly and quick service.

Thank Zoltan F
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Zoltan F. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Bell and Barge. We always love to receive great feedback.

Reviewed 17 April 2017

I recently visited with friends for a catch up breakfast and was my first visit, it definitely won't be my last, staff were lovely especially Tracey and the food was cooked to perfection, i believe our chef de jour was Dave, so keep up the...More

Thank louise35
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Thanks Louise35, for leaving us this response. I'll pass on your comments to our Chef Dave and waitress Tracey.

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Salad bar empty. Waited a while for main course. All meals were of very poor quality. I've been put of visiting again.More

Thank Katrina G
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Hi Katrina G, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Bell and Barge take our reviews very seriously. please accept my apologies for experience with us. If you would like to call the business to discuss your visit please feel...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Visited here again and was not really busy for a lunch time waitress come over and asked us what drinks we would like and we asked for the unlimited refill and I was shocked when she said "we have stopped them " so we just...More

1  Thank RichieC82
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this review

Richiec82, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Bell and Barge. We are currently on trial for the removal of the reliable soft drinks, so thank you for leaving us feedback about this, I will pass on your comments.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dilruba Restaurant
255 reviews
1.57 km away
Steam Turbine
139 reviews
.83 km away
Nando's
59 reviews
.30 km away
Brownsover Fish Bar
22 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rugby School & Museum
62 reviews
2.45 km away
Rugby Theatre
57 reviews
1.83 km away
The Webb Ellis Rugby Football Museum
27 reviews
2.22 km away
Rugby Art Gallery & Museum
59 reviews
2.11 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Helen M
Why on earth when you are next to a canal, is there not easier access to your restaurant? We tried tonight having seen your establishment, as we cruised along. We moored our boat almost directly across from your decking and lovely looking garden. We got all 3 kids rounded up along with my elderly, poorly parents. Wandered slowly over the foot bridge which appeared to be the way in, this took us to another bit of abandoned canal, where my partner got scratched to bits with the overgrown plants. We tried the other path which took us into the middle of an industrial estate with no signs, again my partner went ahead to try to find us the way and found that it was a long way to a bridge which appeared to go into a housing estate. Finally, we all came back over the foot bridge and attempted to try to walk round, this however seemed to involve climbing a fence, followed by walk up a steep hill that arrived at the side of a dual carriageway which was simply impossible for our party. At this point we changed tack and went to the easily accessible Ed's Diner. We talked to several other parties moored up beside us who all had the same conundrum and all solved it the same way. Very surprised, that you would want to miss out on all the passing trade ....
22 August 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
I agree that it is indeed very unfortunate that we have no direct connection to the canal path. It is something that I will be looking into as we have had increased comments since the new shopping centre has opened. I am... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Rugby
  • Phone Number: +44 1788 569466
Description
At The Bell and Barge Harvester in Rugby food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.