We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Spread Eagle

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Church Road | Burton on Trent, Rolleston-on-Dove DE13 9BE, England
+44 1283 813004
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 289: English reviews
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Super selection of items on the menu, good service, friendly welcome. would recommend. nice location too.

Helpful?
Thank Thrifties
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely food and drinks would suggest pre booking was busy but managed to fit us in Nice atmosphere good selection of drinks

Helpful?
Thank Milliemurphy
General Manager A, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Millie, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you again for the great review! More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A table was booked for 14 people, we were shown to our table near a window, orders for drinks were taken and quickly served by several staff, Menu's were given out and orders taken shortly afterwards, waiting time was acceptable given the number of meals ordered, served up by several staff, all meals were hot as were the puddings that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank peterdimberline
General Manager A, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Hi Peterdimberline, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Spread Eagle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited quite a few times over the past 3 years and most times very good.Yes it can be busy but lots of other times when it isn't.Service has improved a lot with more than adequate waiting staff and good service which I've found.Sometimes deserts are forgotten but rarely.Food in general is good.Good atmosphere and yes darkish but adds... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pennycoe
spreadeagle2015, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Hi Pennycoe, Thank you very much for your kind comments you left in your review, I shall pass them on to the team The team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon Kind regards Spread Eagle More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice pub with reasonably priced offerings, a good atmosphere & something for everyone. We didn't fancy the hotel restaurant where we stayed nearby (although I'm sure it is very good), so we took the 5-6 minutes easy drive to the pub and had a very pleasant evening.

Helpful?
Thank mkbtravels
spreadeagle2015, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Hi mkbtravels, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit, I shall pass your feedback on to the rest of the team. The team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon Kind regards Spread Eagle More 

Hilton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Having had great quality meals here in the past, we looked forward to a Sunday roast. Service was good, but unfortunately the food did not meet our expectations on this occasion; much of the veg was overdone (blackened roasties, soggy carrots) and the meat was dry, the pork salty (not the herb crusted taste expected) and the flavour in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ianevans332017
spreadeagle2015, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Hi ianevans332017, Thank you for your review regarding your visit, I'm really sorry that we did not reach your expectations, I appreciate your disappointment and I will be focusing on the issues raised so we can correct these as it is not the way we intend to serve our sunday roasts. Hopefully in the future you will give us another... More 

Derby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We had a beautiful meal here in January so was hoping it would be just as good ....it was my birthday but all I can say is was overpriced rubbish and a bit too dark in there staff lovely and nice service I guess that's what you pay for not rushing back.

Helpful?
Thank Fastererl
spreadeagle2015, Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Hi Fasterel, Thank you for your review regarding your visit, having your read your comments and can see we have let you down following your previous comments, I shall be focusing where we can improve the issues you've raised so we can carry out necessary training. I hope you will give us another go in the future so that we... More 

Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Went for lunch and feel we really over paid for what was a small Cod and Chips served with tinned mushy peas worth approx £8.95 - Priced way above that - 5 for lunch - no starters or desserts - with 2 soft drinks and 2 ½ pints of ale £67 - A Rip Off. Will not be going back... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarlyDodds
spreadeagle2015, Assistant Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Hi CarlyDodds, Thank you for your review regarding your visit, having read your comments I see we have let you down and appreciate your disappointment, however we are a managed house and our prices are set by the company. I hope you return in the future again so we can restore your faith Regards Spread Eagle More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Always come here when in the area. Lovely settings and the food is absolutely delicious. I can't recommend highly enough. In fact, stop reading this and go there NOW! Top marks from me as always. Looking forward to my next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
spreadeagle2015, Assistant Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Hi Paul D, Thank you for your kind review regarding your visit, I shall pass your comments on to the team. The team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Spread Eagle More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017

A group of 7 of us visited here on the 24th February 2017. We booked a table for 7 30pm. Four of us arrived 15 minutes before and the whole place was so packed, AND I MEAN PACKED, we literally had to weave in and out of people to get to our table. Having asked at the bar a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula B
spreadeagle2015, Assistant Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review

Hi Paula B, Thank you for your review regarding your visit to the Spread Eagle, having your read your comments I understand that you were disappointed in certain aspects during your visit, I shall be discussing this with the team to see where we can improve. Kind regards Spread Eagle More 

Travellers who viewed The Spread Eagle also viewed

Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffordshire
 
Tutbury, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Spread Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 32
Cuisine
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Road | Burton on Trent, Rolleston-on-Dove DE13 9BE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Rolleston-on-Dove
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 813004
Description
The Spread Eagle is a beautiful pub, set in the chocolate box village of Rolleston on Dove. The building is a piece of living history. Established in 1651 it is one of the oldest buildings in Rolleston. By coming to The Spread Eagle you'll be experiencing a piece of British history and culture as well being able to enjoy our delicious menu and wide selection of cask ales, lagers, ciders, spirits and wines.

During the winter, the warmth from our open fires will keep you warm and create an atmosphere which can not be recreated, and in the summer you can sit in our fantastic beer garden. Enjoying a late afternoon drink or an Al fresco meal whilst listening to the river dove trickle by.

During weeknights we have our evening set menu which is 2 courses for £11.95, From 5pm. Every Wednesday is also Pie Day at The Spread Eagle, each week we offer a selection of 6 tasty pies served with a medley of vegetables and your choice of potatoes or chips. On Saturday you can treat yourself with our brilliant Steak and Supper menu, a 3 course fillet steak meal for just £25.
We also have a children's menu for the little ones in your party as well providing superb Sunday roasts, every Sunday.


We're looking forward to seeing you, from everyone at The Spread Eagle.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Spread Eagle and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Spread Eagle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?