We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Inn

) #7 of 70 Restaurants in Morpeth $$ - $$$ , British,
High Church, Morpeth NE61 2QT, England
+44 1670 514153
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good24%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“mushy peas” (26 reviews)
“pork” (31 reviews)
“fish pie” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Church, Morpeth NE61 2QT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with family for lunch, two of us had steak pie, one fish pie, one fish and chipsand one stroganoff. Food was good, however the steak pie was not the the best description, it was like a beef stew with a frozen flaky pastry oval...More

Thank 72Mary
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in on the way home as a family of three. Not booked and was very busy, staff keen to accommodate us and moved us from the first unsuitable table (with elderly mother) without fuss. Lovely lunch, good service and reasonable price.

Thank Allison J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In this grand gastro-pub we enjoyed a fine lunch. Arriving early but without a reservation we were delighted to get seating without any waiting. From the extensive menu we began with grilled goat's cheese and pan-fried prawns. Next were sirloin steak and chef's lasagne. All...More

1  Thank permia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the worst experiences of my life i orderd a lasagne as you would and i got a sheperds pie clearly they wrote it down wrong or the menu writer thinks shepherds pie is spelled the same as lasagne ,my friend I was with...More

Thank Andrew B
Philippa W, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Andrew, I wouldn't usually spend the time replying to such a ridiculous review, but I feel there are one or two points I need to clarify. Andrew, I personally cleared your plates yesterday. You had every opportunity to communicate your dislike for our food...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've been to this pub/ restaurant quite a few times the meals are just ok.. it's always busy on a Sunday however the food is bland and the meat is tasteless .. shame as it's in a good location with great outside space.More

Thank Lisa A
Philippa W, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon Lisa, I was really upset to read your review. Sunday is a really big day for us. We have consistently served over 500 Sunday lunches on a Sunday for as long as we can remember. Even through some really challenging times. Being so...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this Inn for first time for lunch with family member who had recommended it from previous visits. Only wanted brunch but the stotte buns bursting with chicken and bacon mayonnaise with chips and salad were enormous, and were a meal in themselves. Excellent value...More

Thank Bob P
Philippa W, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon Bob, Thank you for a lovely review, and particularly for mentioning our lovely staff, they'll be so pleased 😊 Best wishes Philippa

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

thank u to all the staff at the sun inn. We had a fab lunch. Staff were friendly polite. Made a big fuss of our dog in here pram. We will definitely be back when we have time off work. Thank u again for a...More

Thank natasha M
Philippa W, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Natasha and David, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. I will pass your comments on to the staff who will be so pleased 😁 Best wishes Philippa

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't go here very often at all but sometimes meet old work friends here once / twice a year. We went one evening post work - one of those rare ones where it was a gloriously sunny day. There is a great beer garden...More

1  Thank l23217
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great pub with a great food menu. It is reasonably priced and delicious with huge portions. Staff were friendly and attentive. Cant wait to return when the sun is shining to enjoy the beer garden as well

Thank Sarah W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited here on a Friday lunchtime. It was quite busy, but we managed to find a table.We all just chose a main meal (as the portions are very generous). All of our meals were lovely, nice and hot and very tasty. The only thing...More

Thank Kellpaul4
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
lollo rosso italia
455 reviews
.80 km away
The Chantry Tea Room
168 reviews
.76 km away
Socrates At No 5
143 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sanderson Arcade
120 reviews
.78 km away
Morpeth Bagpipe Museum
62 reviews
.78 km away
Carlisle Park
26 reviews
.64 km away
Old Bakehouse Millennium Green Wildlife Garden
18 reviews
1.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Roseyb55
19 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gary D | Reviewed this property |
Suggest you ring them up and ask
0
Votes
RJM1_13
9 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Philippa W | Property representative |
The Sun Inn does a great Sunday roast 12-6. Booking is recommended!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Church, Morpeth NE61 2QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Morpeth
  • Phone Number: +44 1670 514153
Description
This is a lovely little restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing