We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Peth | Felton, Morpeth NE65 9EE, England
+44 1670 787370
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 23:00
Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

836 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 835: English reviews
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Sea bream plus pea risotto and a wonderful lamb main followed by brownie ice cream sundae and pear frangipane. We were fitted in at the last minute into the restaurant on Good Friday. The place was busy but very good service and excellent food and a couple of glasses of the Sicilian red made for a very enjoyable evening.

Helpful?
Thank hazel l
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
RESTAURANT'S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for only one night-not long enough. Our room was simply beautiful, lovely in its decoration. The restaurant meal was superb. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful, and. Pleasantly leisurely. All in all, it was great. More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
About Restaurant's Favourite Review
england
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Food good though a bit expensive,staff all very friendly. Some of the seating very uncomfortable. As we are staying in self catering accommodation nearby it was good to be able to take the dog in

Helpful?
Thank maureenlogan
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your visit. Although most guests find seating comfortable, we do have additional cushions at the bar. We hope you will return to dine with us again. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had never been here before .We had a private dining room for the 8 of us, the room is called Jacks room.The food was excellent. Starter was very nice and the Sunday roast was exceptional. And the deserts rounded the lunch off splendidly.

Helpful?
1 Thank johnmwhitfield
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest So glad you enjoyed your visit and your food. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently called in here for lunch one day with family.Had heard good reviews about the Northumberland arms and wanted to try it.Can say I was not disappointed,ordered soup starter and goats cheese tart with a kids meal to come at same time.Child had chicken goujons which were very tasty!Starters were good so we were looking forward to mains.When chicken main... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaTulloch29
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for the great feedback and happy you enjoyed everything about your visit. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
592 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A good place for Sunday lunch. Nice roasts with a good selection of starters and puds. The beef was a bit overdone but apart from that I was very impressed with how organised they all were. It's comfortable with a bit of character. I enjoyed it as did my mother-in-law!

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us and glad you all enjoyed your food as well as the ambiance. We look forward to your return visit. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for a treat for Sunday lunch, as been before and really enjoyed it. Oh dear what a disappointment . Service was very slow, but that could have been down to the fact it was so busy. We ordered beef and my husband the platter of meats, unfortunately they'd run out of pork so trio it was. It arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda G
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Although very busy, we only wish you had mentioned any items you were not happy with to your server so we could have addressed them there and then. We value your custom and we hope you will return at some point to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really just love this place, the village that it's in & everything about it. Great food, staff & beer! We recently came for lunch & had a grazing board followed by fish & chips and fillet steak. The cod was huge! Lovely light batter and golden chips. Fillet steak cooked medium was perfect & great quality meat. We'll keep... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SPC68
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Perfect feedback thank you. We look forward to your return visit. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for a pub meal last night - first time I'd been in. Very helpful and friendly staff, good selection of beers and a great meal - will definitely be going back.

Helpful?
Thank rigsbyNewcastle
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest So glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope we can welcome you back again soon. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Ellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After visiting for afternoon Tea on Monday I contacted the Northumberland Arms via their 'contact us' link in their website & via messenger. My issue being the poor customer service we received on our visit. Unfortunately I had not had any acknowledgement. Where do I go now?

Helpful?
Thank Neil P
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Having checked all of our e-mail accounts, we have no record of your having tried to contact us. Can you please call us asap to discuss this matter. I will message you separately now. We value your custom as well as your feedback and hope to resolve any issues you may have had. Vanessa C Guest Relations More 

Travellers who viewed Northumberland Arms also viewed

Felton, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Northumberland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 10 - USD 32
Cuisine
British, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Full Bar, Wine and Beer
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Peth | Felton, Morpeth NE65 9EE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Morpeth
  • Phone Number: +44 1670 787370
Description
A fully re-furbished 1820's Coaching Inn, originally built by the 3rd Duke of Northumberland. Beautiful bar, lounge and restaurant, immaculately decorated and next to the River Coquet. Six luxury en-suite rooms, accredited 4 Star Gold by Visit Britain/Quality in Tourism. A la Carte Restaurant Open 7 days a week Breakfast 8.30Am to 10.30Am for residents and by request Brunch 10am until 12 noon Lunch Menu: 12 noon to 3pm Light Grazing Menu: 3-6pm Restaurant Open for Dinner: 6pm to 9pm and 9.30pm Friday/Saturday Sunday Lunch: 12 noon to 8pm For Reservations please call

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Northumberland Arms and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Thirsk
2 months ago
Stirling, United Kingdom
Bellingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Northumberland Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?