We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mivesi

2 Market Place, Alnwick NE66 1HS, England
+44 1665 606947
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (51 reviews)
“chicken” (41 reviews)
“poppadoms” (23 reviews)
Open Now
4:45 pm - 11:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Street Food, Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Market Place, Alnwick NE66 1HS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We love our Indian food and were not disappointed with Mivesi. The service was good, very friendly staff who checked about allergies before taking our order. The menu had quite a few dishes that we hadn't come across before and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal....More

3  Thank SCBeetison
Reviewed 1 week ago

We tried Mivesi (which is a good distance from us) because we buy their spice mixes which are pretty good. The staff were young girls and were friendly and knowledgeable about the individual dishes. This is the only restaurant I've been to EVER where we...More

3  Thank Karen C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very poor. Visited their food stall. Had to wait 30 mins for food. The food was poor tbh. They decided to sprinkle mozzarella cheese on my chicken tikka nan without grilling it all. Didn't help the taste. On top of that the lady serving had...More

5  Thank RaisNiaz
AMINA B, Manager at Mivesi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am extremely Sorry you had to wait 30 mins for your food (which is questionable as the lunch hour was only for an 1 1/2 hour), we did explain to your friend who placed your order that the fresh naan pizzas do take a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Poor service, service charge £18.50 been here lots time never checked my bill but shocked when i did spoke to girls, owner was going to ring me but didnt look at the cost on pop for children nearly £40 very poor service at the time...More

4  Thank tobydog_8
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We have been to Mivesi twice now and always get excellent food, good service and are happy to recommend it. No licence, so take your own bottle, but they do serve soft drinks.

5  Thank Caroline B
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

My family and I had just moved 150 miles or so to the area so we were pretty hungry. My partner usually cooks curries as she’s of Asian origin and seeing as we’d not had a curry for a fair while thought we’d get some...More

8  Thank Marcus P
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Great food, best chicken tikka masala I’ve had in a while. The restaurant had a nice pleasant ambiance. The service was good the staff are very friendly.

6  Thank Odyssey91992
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Coming from Leeds we are overflowing with curry houses and rarely do we have a bad one, however this is the second time we have stayed in Northumbria and the curries are just not the same, my wife ordered a korahi dish which had been...More

5  Thank shaymen59
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

I'll keep this short and sweet - waited an hour just to receive a drink and an hour and a half for our starters. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't great and certainly not worth the wait and we weren't the exception. The whole...More

4  Thank nicolajapp
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Sorry Mivesi, I regularly order food at your restaurant and have always thoroughly enjoyed it but on this occasion I think you let yourselves down. Having ordered a takeaway meal I was given a time to collect it however when I went I had to...More

4  Thank kupers2
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel
1,196 reviews
.18 km away
The Hog's Head Inn
599 reviews
1.87 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
424 reviews
9.40 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
954 reviews
10.38 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Carlo's
444 reviews
.07 km away
Lilburn's
634 reviews
.09 km away
The Olive Branch Cafe
330 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lundgren Tours
16 reviews
.25 km away
Bailiffgate Museum and Gallery
165 reviews
.37 km away
Alnwick Castle
4,575 reviews
.30 km away
The Alnwick Garden
4,031 reviews
.69 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ray B
3 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Mivesi M | Property representative |
For Delivery service it depends on the night. If you just ring up and ask on the night.
0
Votes
Lisa H
10 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Mivesi M | Property representative |
Yes it is still bring your wine with no corkage charge. Soft drinks we provide.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Wifi, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
4:45 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Market Place, Alnwick NE66 1HS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 606947
  • E-mail
Description
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to our family business Mivesi Indian Bistro and Indian Restaurant located in the centre of the beautiful Market Town of Alnwick. Our special style of contemporary and authentic Indian Cuisine is sure to excite while still keeping that "home cooked feel", our passion for great flavour is plain to see! During the day we serve Indian street food style wraps and light bites, and in the evening we transform into an elegant restaurant, open seven days a week. All our meals are available for take away. We wait to welcome you in our family run restaurant, as my motto goes "coming into Mivesi is walking into my home with the same warmth and genuine hospitality".
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing