We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hogs Head Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
+44 1665 606576
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good31%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“stuffing” (7 reviews)
“steak” (22 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Really nice food but be prepared as quite pricey. Ouir meals were included in the cost of our stay so really good.

Thank Beverley W
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for leaving this review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and we would love to see you returning in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We called in here for our tea with only and hour to spare between appointments. The restaurant was warm and welcoming, with friendly, helpful staff. We just had time for a main course and ordered the cheese burger and the chicken pasta dish. Our food...More

Thank Clare16M
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for leaving this great review, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good priced carvery and friendly staff would deffaintly come back here if im in the area. Nice spacious layout and good atmosphere

Thank fooodielover
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving this lovely review, I am so pleased you have enjoyed our Sunday Carvery! We do hope to see you return to enjoy another.

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Visited for dinner with 3 adults and 1 teenager. I opted for the large fish and chip. It was a good choice. My grandson really enjoyed his burger but he enjoyed his dessert of sticky toffee pudding even more. We were all pleased with our...More

Thank harshman
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for this great review, I am so pleased you all enjoyed your meals with us and we would love to see you again so you can enjoy another meal with us at our beautiful Hog's Head Inn!

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Visited for lunch with friends. Pub nice and lots of seating areas to choose from. Staff friendly and helpful. Menu limited if you want any traditional food with vegetables as everything comes with chips, rice or pasta. I ordered minute steak and onions in a...More

Thank elhana
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for leaving this review, I am pleased to hear we were able to rectify for you. We do love nothing more than to make a customer happy and satisfied with their experience! We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

As a very large wedding party we had the pleasure of staying at the Hogs Head Inn at the beginning of September. The rooms are a great size, with super sized beds and all the usual bits and pieces you would expect as well as...More

Thank Bakersbunch
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Ah, thank you very much for your kind words and for recommending us! It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we would love to see you again soon!

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We entered as a party of 7 (including toddler) with no booking for Sunday lunch and were immediately impressed with the service. A gentleman very quickly arranged a table for us and ensured we had everything we needed. We all had the Sunday carvery and...More

Thank CK040910
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for leaving this review, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we would love to see you returning to our beautiful Hog's Head Inn!

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We booked this at the last minute when anywhere cheaper was already booked up. The restaurant had cheerful staff and a good selection. The room was large but poorly lit. Checkout was 10.30 which we were not warned of at check in. The inn backs...More

Thank C A
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for leaving these comments. We feel our prices are competitive with our surroundings. The drinks prices reflect the high maintenance of the cellar and bar, coming from a clean environment and served by our friendly well-trained team of staff. We always appreciate feedback...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped off on our way to the airport for breakfast. Seated quickly and ordered. Breakfast came, it was really good, butcher sausages lol..coffee nice too... I really like this place , it feels really comfortable when you enter. Not the cheapest breakfast but still good...More

Thank donnamclean565
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for leaving this review, so pleased you had enjoyed your Breakfast with us! We do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 22 September 2017

I visited the Hogs Head on a walking holiday in June this year. It’s a pretty new place, so much so that my satnav didn’t recognise the address – a few signposts on the nearby main roads wouldn’t go amiss, and might bring in some...More

Thank Wiggo22
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for leaving this review, so sorry about this - we have stated on our website where we are. We do hope to see you again to give us another try.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Station Buffet Barter Books
463 reviews
1.40 km away
The Oaks Hotel
169 reviews
1.14 km away
Victoria House Fish And Chips
22 reviews
.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
House of Hardy Fishing Tackle Museum
18 reviews
.63 km away
Willowburn Sports and Leisure Centre
22 reviews
.50 km away
The Bakehouse Gallery
7 reviews
1.59 km away
Barter Books
1,251 reviews
1.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gwilkie69
12 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from northumberlandlad | Reviewed this property |
You will need to talk to the hotel direct as never stayed in a room, just visited for a meal.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 606576
  • This restaurant is at The Hog's Head Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing