We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melvyn's Cafe

10 Market Place, Alnwick NE66 1HS, England
+44 1665 604462
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (13 reviews)
“black pudding” (7 reviews)
“hash browns” (3 reviews)
Open Now
8:30 am - 5:00 pmAll hours
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly
10 Market Place, Alnwick NE66 1HS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 167 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Our last day up here and needing a hearty breakfast before the drive home , this came up in TripAdvisor as a likely spot. Grub ordered, swiftly served, staff cheery and helpful, grub nice and tasty, set us up for the day, can't argue with...More

Thank 8bitfiend
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called for lunch and we're very pleasantly surprised the cafe is located in the centre of Alnwick and the food was very good. There were lots of meals on the menu to choose from and I had beefburger and chips which came with coldslaw...More

Thank Andrew B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't usually write food reviews, unless I've had a truly terrible experience. My wife and I called in the cafe by for lunch earlier this week. My wife ordered the Cullen Skink and I ordered the fishcakes. The Cullen Skink was at best look...More

1  Thank Graham1200
deandot, Owner at Melvyn's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am very sorry for your recent experience. I do remember you and was alerted to the fact that your cullen skink was warm so we rectified that - though we weren't aware of your cold fishcakes - if you had mentioned this we would...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Disgusted at the treatment shown to my daughter parents and 94 year old grandmother, I have never witnessed such bad customer service - ever!!!!. No respect shown with items slapped down on the table, staff sighing and comments made.More

1  Thank Tracy Y
deandot, Owner at Melvyn's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

hello, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the lack of service you had to endure at Melvyns. When I read this I was very shocked as we thrive on giving our customers first rate service, we spend a lot of time with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All the noisy bad smelling establishment around the town. What a disappointment. Thank heavens for this little jewel! Dog allowed in seating outside. Homity pies with chips and salad. Absolutely delicious. Our friend ate a proper oven jacket potato that actually tasted of potato. Filling...More

Thank muchado55
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Walked in and asked to join 2 tables together as staff realised that there was a bigger group of us that needed more seats. Was looked at like I had two heads and no help was offered. Staff at this point were sitting on their...More

Thank ey114
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a late breakfast on 17/09/17, a busy Sunday morning due to Alnwick hosting the Food Festival and the Battle of Britain Parade. Busy in the outside seating area but easily found seats for me and my daughter inside. Opted for the regular...More

Thank Anna M
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

A great little cafe in the centre of Alnwick ideal for watching the world go by. The staff are very helpful and pleasant and the cafe itself is a relaxing atmosphere. thank you Melvyn.

Thank TimV4
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We were a bit late for lunch in Alnwick and found a number of cafes had finished serving so dived into Melvyn's because it was still open. A good choice, pleasant staff served us quickly with sandwiches, toasted and plain. Very nicely presented with a...More

Thank Loretta R
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Visited for late breakfast, the food is good, good value and service whilst not the fastest is understanable given how busy they were. Only thing that soured it was that the milk they used for the tea had curdled. Overall I wouldn't let that stop...More

Thank FlorianFY
Nearby Restaurants
547 reviews
.06 km away
375 reviews
.04 km away
484 reviews
.05 km away
The Olive Branch Cafe
287 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alnwick Castle
3,960 reviews
.25 km away
The Alnwick Garden
3,634 reviews
.41 km away
Howick Hall Gardens
458 reviews
.26 km away
Bailiffgate Museum and Gallery
143 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Melvyn's Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Takeout, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Market Place, Alnwick NE66 1HS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 604462
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing