We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smugglers

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
+44 1947 880099
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 436: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We dined here both Friday and Saturday as we were so impressed with the food and service. Book to avoid disappointment. We booked for 8pm. Mussels, crevettes & fresh crab for starters. Baked cos, fish chowder and rib eye steaks, all first class. Puddings were a little small. Service warm and friendly. Will certainly return. Many thanks.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip_Leslie_1961
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Rang up to book, fantastic customer service and very friendly. From the outside we was very excited about the place and the inside didn't let us down, fantastically themed. The food was outstanding, we accidentally placed an awkward order, but there was absolutely no bitterness towards us for doing so. Loved every minute. Thank you very much, we will be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SteCooling7
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We called in as a family..... to be informed that no under 18's allowed inside. Ok no problem there was a table available in the small areas outside. We ordered our drinks at £14 for two beers (pint and a bottle) two lemonades and a tap water..... on the high side we thought. As we finished we enquired to use... More 

Helpful?
Thank walton1234
lisa W, Manager at Smugglers, responded to this review

Strange yes it is! Anyone having used our toilet know,s it is accessed from outside? There are no toilets inside the bar. Shame you read too much into this and thought we were excluding you. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

After a long walk we called in for a pint of cordial to rehydrate quickly followed by a beer. After asking if lager was served I was informed yes just bottles, Peroni and Carona. I asked for two Carona. Is that Peroni or Carona I was asked for a second time. Carona I replied. Two Peroni then the bar maid... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon W
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was me the owner that served you. I remember you well. You asked which lager we sold I responded with we have Corona and Peroni. You asked for a Coroni?! I asked again is that Peroni? Or Corona?? You just laughed. In the midst of a busy afternoon and a number of people being... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Completely delicious meal, warm and welcoming service in a tiny candlelit haven. The perfect find for a special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank thecatsmother67
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers, responded to this review

Thank you for a short but very sweat review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

islington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sit outside with your sunglasses on and watch the world go by. Nice staff and nice menu with the food looking good. Inside is lovely dog friendly but no kids.

Helpful?
1 Thank b0xerb0y
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed you time at Smugglers and the amazing sunshine we have had recently. Just a quick mention we don't have dogs in on an evening but during the day we welcome well behaved dogs when the bar is open 😀 More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a superb Easter Sunday meal, we could not fault the food or staff. This candle lit bistro is just perfect if you want a memorable dinning experience. The fact management does not allow children in to the establishment is what makes this place so relaxing.

Helpful?
1 Thank jane R
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only had a glass of wine each but reasonably priced. Food looked lovely though and ambiance was good. It's decorated out in dark wood and leather and you can imagine going back in time and the bar being full of smugglers. Made me think of Poldark which is never a bad thing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne F
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice fish dishes in this restaurant. I had prawns in a white wine sauce, which tasted very good. Wines were indeed a bit expensive, but well chosen.

Helpful?
1 Thank Inge V
england
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We literally popped our heads in the door on the off chance that they had a spare table for two. We were in luck and were welcomed in. A quick peruse of the menu and chose steak and fish dishes. Well it was our 49th anniversary so we pushed the boat out a bit. So glad we did! This little... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pomiejohn

Travellers who viewed Smugglers also viewed

Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Fylingthorpe, Robin Hood's Bay
 

Been to Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 13 - USD 45
Cuisine
Seafood, British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  North York Moors National Park  >  Robin Hood's Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1947 880099
Description
Smugglers Bistro and Bar is a candle-lit Bistro and bar. Situated just meters from the dock the smuggling history of the bay is brought to life in our wonderfully romantic restaurant. Specialising in fresh seafood and locally sourced meats we offer a range of dishes. Our cosy Bistro and wine bar offers a range on Gins and fine wines in an adult only area.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Smugglers and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
UK
15 days ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
9 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Smugglers staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?