We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shakesby's

3-5 West Street | Lincolnshire, Horncastle LN9 5JE, England
+44 1507 526626
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (23 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3-5 West Street | Lincolnshire, Horncastle LN9 5JE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Booked a table of 10 for a birthday celebration. As soon as we arrived the staff were very welcoming and attentive, the restaurant is very warm and pleasant just what you need on a winter evening. On browsing the menu it was difficult to choose...More

Thank Jo G
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Unfortunately had only an hour or so to spare here but it was such a great choice. Prompt and attentive service and delicious food.

Thank Antonella-Rodriguez
Reviewed 5 days ago

Outstanding on every level. The food - Incredible food! Absolutely delicious for all of my party. I have some complex dietary requirements; If you have dietary requirements vegan, lacose free, gluten free etc. this restaurant is a MUST visit! The Chef is understanding and quite...More

Thank Linzi E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked well in advance on recommendation from a friend, arrived just after they opened and met with a warm smile from the staff, and the chef. Originally booked for four, but two had to drop out at short notice, not a problem. Given a seat...More

Thank john E
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us met for an 8pm dinner on Saturday night at Shakesby’s, our first visit. I chose the halibut and was disappointed in the dish, the flesh of the fish being rubbery in texture and at times difficult to cut through. The other mains,...More

2  Thank TrevorHall
Mark S, Owner at Shakesby's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Trevor for your review and your high rating. I was sorry to read you did not enjoy the Halibut. It has been a popular dish on the menu and feedback has been good. Did you let the waiting staff know? All tables are...More

Reviewed 7 January 2018

Arranged a 60th birthday party for 24 guests and from the very beginning Merlissa and her staff were faultless in their attention and nothing was too much trouble. We arrived at the restaurant and was surprised that we had been given a separate room for...More

Thank lermumby
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We were surprised at the size of this place, looked average sized from the front but once inside it’s very long and well set out , we received a warm welcome from the waitresses who were busy all night and very polite, Everything on the...More

1  Thank bikerdan2015
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We had a beautiful meal with our visiting guests from the south coast, they said it was the best meal they had eaten out for a long time. The food was excellant a very varied choice of menu. If there was any criticism it was...More

1  Thank Joy W
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Went to Horncastle with the hubby for a weekend away and booked this hotel after reading the reviews. We were not disappointed. The decor is lovely and the lighting is just right. The service was brilliant and all the staff were so friendly. I had...More

1  Thank SheilaMay1
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We called in on the offchance on a Friday evening and had a very nice meal served by very nice people, I would certainly recommend this restaurant

1  Thank Honestli
PreviousNext
12345630
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Horncastle Hotels
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
904 reviews
.34 km away
Dower House Hotel
436 reviews
8.59 km away
The Golf Hotel
327 reviews
8.71 km away
Petwood Hotel
1,040 reviews
8.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Thai Dining & Riverside Grill
234 reviews
.02 km away
The Old Stables Coffee Shop
263 reviews
.16 km away
Tanya's
47 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Horncastle Antiques Centre
36 reviews
.03 km away
The Sir Joseph Banks Centre
33 reviews
.13 km away
Old Nicks Tavern
21 reviews
.33 km away
Stanhope Memorial
16 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
chris b
12 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mark S | Property representative |
Sorry we are closed Sundays
0
Votes
tilley_11
17 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mark S | Property representative |
I'm sorry but the restaurant doesn't have a garden .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3-5 West Street | Lincolnshire, Horncastle LN9 5JE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Horncastle
  • Phone Number: +44 1507 526626
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing