We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chaser Inn

Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
+44 1732 810360
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (24 reviews)
“lamb” (26 reviews)
“mash” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Normally my favourite local place to eat but this visit along with the last couple been a let down. Menu is now rather expensive for what you receive. Service isn't great alot slower. Pub got alot busier and think it's caused a lack of quality...More

2  Thank Graham N
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

So this is a little way out from our house but more than worth the 40 minute Drive in the snow to get there. The menu catered well for everybody in our group, starting with ciabatta bread & oils very delicious the bread too was...More

1  Thank Louise8818
Reviewed 5 days ago

Party of 6 and average age north of 75. Our choice of table by the front door proved too draughty so we were quickly accommodated in the warmer conservatory. Staff happily took orders for a mix of non-alcoholic drinks except for my pint of excellent...More

Thank Brian M
Reviewed 6 days ago

Brought some visitors from abroad here as they had enjoyed their meal on a visit last year. Very disappointed with the quality of the food - has something changed? Started with a mackerel pate (spelt mackeral on the menu) that had little taste and came...More

2  Thank graham-gerry
TheChaserInn, Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I am really disappointed that your 'mild-mannered visitors' had to make a complaint, but I would like to ask if you mentioned these issues to the waitress that served you? By not doing so it gives us little recourse to address the issues on the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a small party of six with reservations thankfully as the Inn was full; always a good sign of demand. Our table was a good size and chairs comfortable - plenty of space. The service was quick and efficient and the food served without...More

1  Thank barberjd
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent choice of food and good wines and beers. The service is very good and the place gets very popular, particularly at weekends.

1  Thank Adrian W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place does really good, home cooked food. Great service and a nice, warm, relaxed atmosphere. The desert menu is so extensive it’s impressive! Would definitely recommend. Thanks!

1  Thank Anna T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a long winter walk stopped if here for early dinner, warm and welcoming with a great selection of food , they didn’t lie when they said a large fish and chips ! It was yummy.

1  Thank Heidi L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the outside, The Chaser looks like a country pub but the inside is a huge mix of dining spaces, well laid out, comfortable and with interesting decor. Service is excellent from arrival to the end of the meal. Menu not over exciting but enough...More

1  Thank peterpaddockhurst
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pub is located outside of town centre so avoids getting over busy. There is a great beer selection and good seating. I quite often meet a mate for a beer there. The food is good and there is always a good menu selection, it...More

1  Thank PhilG8
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Tonbridge
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
377 reviews
4.67 km away
Hadlow Manor
310 reviews
5.45 km away
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
486 reviews
5.56 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
297 reviews
6.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Papermakers Arms
223 reviews
1.92 km away
The Rose Revived
175 reviews
4.00 km away
Perfetto Restaurant
87 reviews
4.55 km away
The Golding Hop Tea House
42 reviews
2.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ightham Mote
985 reviews
2.03 km away
Old Soar Manor
25 reviews
3.31 km away
Reynolds Retreat
103 reviews
4.57 km away
Hadlow Tower
46 reviews
4.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amanda M
30 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheChaserInn | Property representative |
Hi, yes we do breakfast, we cater for both vegetarians and meat eaters. We serve from 9am on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 28 - USD 42
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
9:00 am - 12:00 am
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
  • Public Transportation: There is a bus stop directly opposite the pub as well as main line train stations in Borough Green and Tonbridge which are both approximately 10 mins drive.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Tonbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1732 810360
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Save your favourites!
Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now