We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elizavet

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Quay | Near the Quayside, Sandwich CT13 9EN, England
+44 1304 619899
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 15:00
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 271: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We came across Elizavet by accident but we are glad we did! The restaurant was quiet (Friday lunchtime).but the welcome was friendly and the food lovely. Particularly liked the home made dips and the houmous was one of the nicest I have tasted (not a carrot stick in sight! ;). We had the mixed mezze for 3 and every course... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol H
eliza8899, Owner at Elizavet, responded to this review

Hi Carol Thank you so much for your lovely review and that you all enjoyed dinning at Elizavets. So so funny regarding the carrots :-) xx Will look forward to seeing you all soon Eliza xxx More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Tried out the Elizavet Greek Restaurant (actual address is 3 - 5 Bell Lane CT13 9EN - which is next to the Bell Hotel) a couple of days ago. The food was all cooked fresh and was excellent. The service was first class; very friendly and welcoming. Also wasn't too expensive. We will be going back.

Helpful?
Thank 553AshDek
eliza8899, Owner at Elizavet, responded to this review

Thank you for your time leaving us a review Will look forward to seeing you again. Eliza xx More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having visited here once before we thought what better option than to revisit when or son came back to the UK whilst being away in Spain for the last 12 months. We had specifically asked for something off the menu ( they sorted this before ) and the reason why we came back only to be told on the night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomason5
Channel-hopper!
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Great atmosphere but exceedingly poor& slow food service! The ladies go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome, but over 40 minutes to wait for your food is just too much. Ive been there three times just to give them the opportunity to redeem themselves but alas no joy. For fun and drinkies it's fabulous but... More 

Helpful?
Thank minxylil
eliza8899, Owner at Elizavet, responded to this review

Hi. So sorry that you had felt to leave yet another poor review. Being the owner for over 6 years and proud that we serve freshly prepared food, that it would be impossible for us to give a quick service especially when we are very busy with our booking and also walk ins. All my customers are informed that service... More 

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

A visit with family to this gem of a restaurant. Wonderful food. We had the mixed grill, steak, chicken, lamb, chips, houmous, greek salad, absolutely gorgeous. Staff helpful, polite and super friendly as always.

Helpful?
Thank Pbspaul
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Eliza thank you again for our lovely evening. Apology for not returning much sooner but as usual fantastic host and food. We all really enjoyed our evening thanks to you xx Your son is an amazing chef even at such a young age you taught him well. Every time you make your restaurant feel as if we are in Greece.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

This cosy, friendly, hidden gem of a restaurant is well worth a visit. Polite attentive staff, great food and unexpected in this small Kent town. We set the waitress (I think she was the owner) a challenge to just bring us whatever she thought was good and we were not disappointed. Sandwich is a short stay destination, but if you're... More 

Helpful?
Thank fadh43695
East Anglia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

The evening started so well,with a friendly greeting and very pleasant starters.For the main course my partner chose lamb,while I chose Stifado.This was very disappointing -and just tasted of tomato,nothing like I had eaten before in Greek restaurants. We then chose a dessert,shame there were no Greek pastries .Our chocolate cake was so stale that we returned it. We then... More 

Helpful?
Thank explorerEastAnglia
eliza8899, Owner at Elizavet, responded to this review

Hi i am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your stifatho. I do very much remember you both and our chat but What A Shame!!!! you did not inform myself regarding your meal when i approached you both at no point was i informed that you had not enjoyed your meal. But yet after you... More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

A little gem tucked away off sandwich quay. Excellent food with equally excellent service and helpful staff. Great value too!

Helpful?
Thank michaelsT209CN
eliza8899, Owner at Elizavet, responded to this review

Hi Michael Thank you so much for your lovely review and also your time. Will look forward to meeting you again Eliza xx More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I went to Elizavet based on the good reviews, and were not disappointed. The food was great, authentically Greek and plentiful, and the service was very attentive. Liz was very welcoming and gave us some good recommendations for other places to visit locally. Would thoroughly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Graham F
eliza8899, Owner at Elizavet, responded to this review

Hello Graham Thank you for this lovely review and your time which is very much appreciated. Hope i will meet you again. Eliza xx More 

Travellers who viewed Elizavet also viewed

 

Been to Elizavet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 33
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Greek, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Takeout
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Quay | Near the Quayside, Sandwich CT13 9EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sandwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 619899
Description
We are very proud of our hidden gem.
A traditional welcoming family friendly restaurant. We welcome everyone with open arms and pride ourselves on our home made food and our relaxed atmosphere.
This is a real traditional Greek restaurant with the feel of being abroad in one of the Greek islands.
We believe that eating out is a treat and our customers are made to feel special .

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elizavet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?