We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Robin Hood

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Brook Street, Tring HP23 5ED, England
+44 1442 824912
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 23:00
Fri 11:30 - 23:30
Sat 12:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 136: English reviews
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had excellent service when the 6 of us turned up for Sunday lunch without booking. The food was excellent, portions huge, very tasty and well presented. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We had our 2 young grandsons with us and they were made to feel very welcome. We loved the ambience which was created by a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
Herts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Have been back twice since my first review...the second visit looked promising ...staff were far more pleasant and I never for one minute felt like 'a stranger in town' However the third visit ...well 'normal service was resumed' lol... The staff ( or one lady in particular ) is a right misery guts to those she isn't familiar with ...... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IceOfBlue
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi Iceofblue, Thanks for taking the time to review us. Our staff normally get good feedback so I was a bit surprised one of them was "a right misery guts to people she does not know". Not the norm here, please look at previous reviews, not many are bad about the staff. We try to treat everyone the same but... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

This pub has always pleased us. The beers are excellent and the place has a very comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. We have enjoyed the food here on previous occasions. However, this visit we tried the Thai menu and although we enjoyed the starters we found the main courses disappointing. The 'base' of rice was bland and appeared to have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank tillywinks
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi I'm glad our pub pleases you and a little saddened that the Thai you had on Sunday was not up to JJ's usual standards. We do not run the kitchen on Sunday evenings. JJ has been doing Thai here for over two years and has been great for our Sunday nights, very rare are there complaints, and if there... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Nice old pub, all oak beams and low ceilings. The staff are very friendly. Pub was very busy, early evening. We had dinner, wife had steak, cooked exactly how she likes it. I had liver and bacon, again pretty good. Enjoyed the evening, although felt a bit cramped as tables are quite close together. Also, not too keen on having... More 

Helpful?
Thank cascboss
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi Cascboss, I'm very pleased that you liked the surroundings in our 17th century pub. also glad that you enjoyed our food, we source our steaks locally and Matthew, our chef, is pretty good at cooking them how you like. As we are not a large venue we do get quite busy and yes I agree sometimes it's pretty cramped,... More 

Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This Pub is set in a really nice area and is quaint, there was 10 of us, so I wondered how they would cope, we ordered and waited the time soon slipped by when you are talking, and our food was brought out all right all hot, it was really nice, and I got a pudding as well!!!! Please Note... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue G
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thanks for your great review. I'm glad that you have returned, as I understand that we let you down a bit last time. I'm pleased that you and your friend's enjoyed this visit and we have managed to redress the balance!! Yes we are back around more often, we have had a couple of staff glitches, but hopefully... More 

Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Just thought I'd update my review as its been a while since last time. Pleased to say the standard is still very high. They have added to the menu as well including a lovely chicken curry :-) The beer is just superb and the landlords and staff friendly and welcoming. Roaring fires in the Winter. A difficult pub to ignore.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chrispike2016
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Thanks Chris, its always a pleasure to look after you and your family! Terry More 

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Great find for Saturday lunch, delicious fresh baguettes with generous fillings. Friendly and helpful staff, well worth a visit

Helpful?
2 Thank Moutrie
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

A lovely review from you thank you very much. We prepare everything to order so It should always be fresh. I will make sure the Saturday staff see your review, as its nice for their good work to be acknowledged by our customers. Regards Terry J More 

Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

The Robin hood is always buzzing with atmosphere and never seems to change. The landlords Terry and Stuart are so always so welcoming to customers new and old. Tonight we had Jakey Bakey's pop up Christmas dinner 7 courses for just £35.00 per head it was absolutely lovely. There little tasters to start with then a fresh tuna steak, turkey... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grimsby247
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Special Set menus with guest chef Jakey the Bakey are going down very well, so watch our Facebook page for more offering's from him. We try to make everyone feel welcome and we train our staff to be the same. Long may the Buzz continue!! Terry J More 

Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Nice pub grub here and very friendly bar staff with good, quick service. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Could only be bettered with a real fire. The decor needs a bot of work though. It used to be more colourful and support local artists, be a bot quirky but now it is dull in comparison.

Helpful?
Thank kealeyhenderson
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Kealey, we will be having a refurb soon. Best regards, Terry J More 

Voiron, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Disappointement Nice girls and Good beer But steak overcooked fat and strong One year ago it was better

Helpful?
Thank f5nmr
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi f5nmr, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your steak when you visited us on this occasion. We source all our steaks locally, but as with all meats there can be variations in quality. There is not an excuse for it to be overcooked, please accept my apologies for that. You would have been better to have brought this to... More 

Travellers who viewed The Robin Hood also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Robin Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Brook Street, Tring HP23 5ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 824912
Description
The Robin Hood Tring is a lovely 16th Century pub, right on the edge of Tring town centre. With its log burning stoves and cosy low ceilings, the pub delivers a warm welcome in every sense - plus an exciting menu, excellent real ales and good old-fashioned service with a smile. Speciality Sausage nights on Tuesday and Thursday. Food is served all day on Saturday's
Sundays from 1800hrs Tip Kao Thai takes over serving authentic fresh cooked Thai. JJ prepares a delightful menu with weekly specials to eat in or take away.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Robin Hood staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?