We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anglers Retreat

$$ - $$$, British,
B 489 Lower Icknield Way | Startop's End, Tring HP23 4LN, England
+44 1442 822250
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
“noodles” (2 reviews)
“pizza” (9 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
B 489 Lower Icknield Way | Startop's End, Tring HP23 4LN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on Tuesday for a meal couple of weeks ago Staff as always very helpful My partner had a cheese burger and i had the "pie of the day" which was steak and ale this was recommended by the barman Both meals were great and...More

Thank David G
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you had an enjoyable experience. We are a genuine freehold pub, we are not trying to compete with restaurants but we do strive to provide an enjoyable environment with sensibly priced good pub food and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food good as usual, the most helpful and friendly staff anywhere .great real ale 😋😋😋 a must visit if your in the area .More

Thank colinbeeley
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. We aim to be a traditional pub serving good ale and good food. Thank you as well for the comment regarding our staff being friendly, we encourage open communication between our staff and all of our customers. Its always good...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this place for a birthday lunch for 6 and wished we had not booked. It is nothing like the website suggests, food is all reheated and lacked a second menu, which was promised from the website. Awful surroundings in desperate need of refurbishment and...More

Thank JamboknightSwindon
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are sorry you had what you consider to have been a bad experience during your visit. We have tried four times so far to make contact with the lady that booked the table to understand exactly what happened but our calls have not yet...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We turned up in our motorhome and carpark was pretty full. Land lady organised space for us. It was Thursday live band night which was a nice surprise. We arrived too late for food but they cooked us a huge bowl of chips which was...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are really pleased that you had a good time. We very much loook forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Met up with a group of friends in the garden on a wonderful sunny afternoon, great beer, lovely food, a wonderful location and such friendly staff.

Thank Chilternpair
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are pleased that you and your friends had an enjoyable experience at The Anglers Retreat. We very much look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Walked the lakes and having parked in car park near pub decided to have lunch, sadly did not come up to expectations, Ordered lamb shanks, nothing like the previous review, lamb shank obviously prepackaged reheated and dried out, potato not fresh but only comparison reconstituted...More

Thank Duckman23
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are sorry that your meal was not up to the standard that you expected. From what you have written it definitely is not up to the standard that we would expect to be serving either! We can only apologise, this is not how our...More

Reviewed 20 October 2017

The staff were very friendly. We were able to take our dog in which was made a fuss of and given a biscuit. Good Pub grub. Old pub but staff and food make up for it.More

Thank lynn1192016
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time and found our staff to be friendly. It sounds like you enjoyed our food as well, we strive to provide good quality pub food at sensible prices. Since your last visit...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere local still serving hot food after 3.00. We had visited before but only for drinks. Good parking and friendly atmosphere. Very homely with some decent ales. There is a large conservatory area, a sun trap in the summer no doubt....More

Thank Moz C
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your food and found our staff to be friendly. Since your review we have had a refurbishment inside the pub hopefully we have managed to achieve this without spoiling our unique charm! We...More

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Wife and I stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer as the food, service and atmosphere was excellent. A well run establishment with friendly owners and staff. Would recommend this place to anybody. Thanks David and Pauline.

Thank grahambO6768JY
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you had a good time and very much look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Regularly come here for great food, throughout summer the sunday bands are a lovely way to spend a relaxed afternoon, the garden is really well set up so even if it rains you can still sit outMore

Thank Karlanmark
TheAnglersRetreat, Owner at The Anglers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you have had enjoyable experiences listening to our bands in the garden. Summer is on its way, really! We have recently been through a refurb on the pub interior and very much look forward to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Tring Hotels
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
344 reviews
3.20 km away
Pendley Manor Hotel
1,201 reviews
3.28 km away
West Lodge Hotel
200 reviews
4.21 km away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
786 reviews
6.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Half Moon
107 reviews
1.48 km away
Grand Junction Arms
384 reviews
1.47 km away
Bluebells Tearoom
171 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pitstone Green Museum
16 reviews
2.38 km away
Natural History Museum at Tring
717 reviews
3.05 km away
Ivinghoe Beacon
110 reviews
4.92 km away
Wendover Woods
237 reviews
5.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jacnabz
18 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Pauline P | Property representative |
Hi. we do have soya milk baked beans and will make sure I have wholemeal bread for toast x
1
Vote
Nigel7019
27 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Pauline P |
Hi Nigel. our double. Twin and single are all ensuite
0
Votes
davehowe
29 April 2016|
Answer
Response from TheAnglersRetreat | Property representative |
We serve food 12-9pm Monday to Saturday and 12-7pm on Sundays
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 21
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: B 489 Lower Icknield Way | Startop's End, Tring HP23 4LN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 822250
  • E-mail
Description
A genuine Free House in an area of outstanding natural beauty. 80 Paces from the Grand Union Canal and 30 paces from Startops Reservoir. This pub has a truly unique atmosphere which has been retained during the recent refurbishment. New cellar and bar equipment are delivering an extended range of fine ales, the kitchen continues with its favourites with a focus on a wide rnge of daily homemade specials. Accommodation is available with 3 ensuite rooms.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing