We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Junction Arms

$$ - $$$, British,
Bulbourne Road | Bulbourne, Tring HP23 5QE, England
+44 1442 891400
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“fish curry” (6 reviews)
“ham” (15 reviews)
“sandwiches” (16 reviews)
Open Now
12:30 pm - 11:30 pm Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bulbourne Road | Bulbourne, Tring HP23 5QE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Well known locally as a venue of chioce for a canalside drink in the garden, good food, realistically priced. Bid screen showing the World Cup footie, but unobtrusive for yhose wanting a nice meal and glass or two. Local gin, good selection of wines and...More

Thank Sue P
mrtring, Manager at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for the kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Despite seeing the negative reviews we took a chance and visited today for lunch. I’m glad we did. Friendly welcome, delicious food (vegetarian sweet potato pie) and good atmosphere. Give it a visit, you won’t be disappointed!

Thank HappyinHertfordshire
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having you .

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Came here for Sunday lunch on a lovely sunny day. Perfect position for adults and kids to play. Lovely selection of very well kept ales! The young manager Max was a fresh face to see even though it was very busy! Will return soon!

Thank MarkyR458
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much it means a lot 😀

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been a couple times and staff have been rude, disinterested and complaining about being busy in front of customers. I decided to give the place another go when not so busy. Last nite we were having a quiet drink wen we were basically shouted...More

Thank travelgem99
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review. Drink in your place of work and don’t bother us again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here today for lunch, we had the meat ploughman’s sharing platter it came out really nice 2 slices of good quality ham a lovely salad 2 massive pieces of griddled bread which was all lovely except it said it came with scotch eggs and...More

Thank Hilary J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A return visit for us on the bank holiday Monday. The sun was shining, unusually for a bank holiday ! But the pub was BUSY, no surprise there! The food as on previous occasions was very good, particularly the days special of crispy belly pork...More

Thank Thomas R
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your kind words look forward to seeing you again😀

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were excited in coming here on a sunny day the venue is lovely, set on a canal with well spaced seating and there I am afraid it ends. The first port of call is the ordering system where you have to queue at the...More

3  Thank wineslurp67
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

My bad .

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on a bank holiday Monday for early dinner. They had run out of steak pie and the bar had run out of lemonade and Fullers Pride and the toilets were dirty with no hand wash. All the staff looked knackered. The food came quickly...More

Thank Dennis H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here for a coffee. Served with half a paper cup of luke warm coffee and paid £4.60.. There explanation was that it was a normal measure!!! Will not be returning.More

1  Thank looloo87899
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

If you do ever return I will fill the cup up myself to the top😀 but on a more serious note, Im sure if you would have mentioned the problem at the time a member of staff would of filled it up for you. The...More

Reviewed 14 May 2018

This is a lovely looking pub and we have stopped for a drink before so thought we would go with the family on Sunday for lunch. Tried to reserve a table but they were fully booked but were told we could sit outside. Menu was...More

Thank Roblinds
mrtring, Owner at Grand Junction Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for your comments 😀

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Tring Hotels
Pendley Manor Hotel
1,255 reviews
2.06 km away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
373 reviews
3.81 km away
West Lodge Hotel
205 reviews
5.29 km away
Bellows Mill
48 reviews
7.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Espresso Lounge
195 reviews
2.24 km away
Beechwood
129 reviews
2.36 km away
Lussmanns Tring
141 reviews
2.40 km away
Francesco's
344 reviews
2.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pitstone Green Museum
17 reviews
2.08 km away
Natural History Museum at Tring
766 reviews
2.68 km away
Ivinghoe Beacon
123 reviews
4.19 km away
Grebe Canal Cruises
24 reviews
2.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Graham B
25 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from grandjunctionarms | Property representative |
Yes we certainly do! We have quite a few gluten free dishes to choose from!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
12:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bulbourne Road | Bulbourne, Tring HP23 5QE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 891400
  • E-mail
Description
A traditional pub nestling alongside the tow path of the grand union canal. You can enjoy fantastic views of the water from the garden or inside the pub , plus there's a large carpark. Use the free WiFi, read the papers, enjoy a capuccino or a three course meal. Something for everyone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;